We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect couple of days”
Review of The Rose House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fouriesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rose House
Ranked #2 of 10 Fouriesburg B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
“A perfect couple of days”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was our second time at the Rose House. It is a beautiful setting and a peaceful and restful place to be. Our hosts, John and Trish, are warm and kind and made us feel as though we were in a place as familiar as home. You will not need to go anywhere else to eat, you will find it hard to find a meal that measures up to the ones you will find here. We will come again, to Visit the Rose House as much as to see the beautiful town of Clarence and the dusty Drakensberg peaks of the eastern Freestate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
20
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We visited The Rose House for a weekend and had an incredible stay. Our hosts John and Trishie were most welcoming. They treated us like special guests. We stayed in one of the cottages and found it spacious and extremely comfortable. The views of the vineyards to the Malutis in the distance are breathtaking. The bathroom in the cottage was large with two sinks, a bathtub and a separate shower that was incredible! There is a fireplace in the cottage and also a space heater if it gets too chilly in the winter months. The menu at the Rose Hip Restaurant was exceptional and all done with fresh produce from their garden. John was eager to share his knowledge of growing grapes and making wine and even gave us a chance to taste some of the wines he has started to make. The wines were impressive. John and Trishie also showed us their worm farm that is making compost for some of the farms in the area. While staying at The Rose House we visited the Golden Gate National Park and the town of Clarens. What a wonderful weekend stay. We hope to return again if we get back to South Africa. Thank you again to John and Trishie.

Room Tip: The cottages are large and great for a couple. There are also self catering family rooms better for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank novakad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This must be the Eastern Free State's best kept secret ! The Rose House and its accompanying Rose Hip Restaurant, is a haven for the tired and the stressed, whether they be needing a little time out and looking after, or a complete change from their usual routine. At only 1 km off the main road between Clarens and Fouriesburg, it is within easy reach of both Johannesburg and Durban. Hosts John and Trish will nurture you with fresh produce from the garden to complement their delicious meals, settle you down in the comfortable and well appointed guest cottages, or the family style self catering old barns,while regaling you with tales of Rose eating Bokkies and the miracle they have worked saving the original farmhouse and surrounds from ruin. Wander through John's grape bearing vineyards( yes this is the Free State), and visit their compost making Worm Farm. You can select a variety of Trish's jams, pickles, chutneys, dressings and other delights to take home, or gaze at the Malutis in the distance while farm tractors wind their way along their foothills, from the comfort of the spacious and homely verandah of the main house, or the deck of your own cottage. Find a spot to read or paint on the surrounding lawn, while birds chatter amongst themselves in the neighboring trees. Take the short drive into Clarens and explore its shops and galleries. In the Winter months you could be lucky with a snow fall, while you snuggle up in your cottage beside the fire. Trish and John have more suggestions for the more adventurous amongst you. There is something for everyone in the area, it only takes one visit to have you returning for more, and The Rose House is the place from where you can do it all!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieF989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We agreed this weekend that we wouldn't stay anywhere else the next time we head to Clarens. Just out of the hustle and bustle of town, the Rose House offers stunning views, comfortable, clean accommodation, and delicious food. The hosts are warm, the main house impressively restored, the gardens beautiful - I'd recommend it to anyone looking for good value for money and a home away from home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Our incredible hosts, Trishie and John, took the best care of us whilst staying at The Rose House. Every meal served by Trise is sublime and she uses vegetables and herbs grown on the farm so you are always assured the freshest most seasonal fare. The Rose Hip restaurant serves light meals but also sells an array of Trishes secret dressings, preserves and jams - a rare treat! The B&B accommodation has gorgeous views of the surrounding farms as well as the Maulti mountains. This is a truly special spot, in a beautiful setting with fabulous hosts. As always, thank you for a magical weekend!

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

If you want to visit Clarens, this is the place to stay. Very comfortable and aesthetically pleasing accommodation. The food is out of this world. Trish, the hostess, has got to be cordon bleu or gourmet trained - delicious, tasty and always a surprise.The views across the valley to the sandstone hills and beyond to the towering Maluti mountains is mesmerising and invokes an immediate sense of peace. We visited numerous establishments in Clarens to hold an art workshop and although there are many nice places, three of us agreed that The Rose House was head and shoulders above the rest. It is about 28kms out of Clarens along one of the most scenic routes in South Africa.

Room Tip: All good. Have stayed in all of them. Some have a self-catering facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at The Rose House. The cottage is quite new and beautifully decorated with a sitting area and a deck from which you overlook the vineyard and the surrounding mountains. It is very peaceful. Instead of going in to Clarens for dinner, we chose to have dinner at the Rose Hip which is also run by John and Trish. The meal was fantastic and included fresh grown, organic foods. Breakfast was wonderful. If you are in the area of Clarens, this is a great relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windymountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fouriesburg
0.0 mi away
Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Fouriesburg Country Inn
Fouriesburg Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fouriesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandstone Chameleon Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wyndford Holiday Farm
Wyndford Holiday Farm
#4 of 11 in Fouriesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Knock Out View Clarens
Knock Out View Clarens
#6 of 38 in Clarens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pumula Guest Farm
Pumula Guest Farm
#3 of 11 in Fouriesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose House

Property: The Rose House
Address: Road S325, Fouriesburg 9725, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Fouriesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fouriesburg
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing