We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 7 Kirkwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Our best stay in South Africa! Nice little green paradise with beautifully designed rooms, great pool and amazing staff! Diederik (the owner) went out of his way to help us organise our trip and arrange bookings. Dion (the cook) baked us a truly amazing breakfast and dinner, with fresh bread and muffins, and homemade jam! Spot on!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maier_liv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 113 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

After a long drive through northern SA, we arrived at Lemon3Lodge by surprise, and what a treat it was. The owner noticed our tired faces, and a beer quickly landed by our side as we took a dip in the crystal clear pool (in a beautiful green garden) - a real treat if you've ever travelled in South Africa! Dinner followed, a generous full course freshly made dinner with fresh bread, and freshly baked desert! The rooms have recently been renovated, and attention to detail is key, with freshly baked biscuits and a cafetiere ready for use. In the morning, we met the chef, a Cape Town legend who used to run the bakeries for all hotels in the Cape - let me tell you, breakfast was as fresh as it gets, and well balanced (who has never dreamed of fresh muffins in the AM). We left relaxed, and ready for a new day. But this adress will remain in our adress book for sure!

Room Tip: Each room (the owner gave us a tour) has its own design and charm - very relaxing so any will do. Oh...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExplorationBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here only one night on our trip through South Africa, but it was a very good night. Proper beds in a spacious room (we had room 5, one of the bigger ones).

Very helpful owner who not only gave us recommendations for sightseeing in the area but also recommended how to drive from there to our next two locations (!) and what to do there. The advice turned out great so that was excellent service.

I rated the location as average since it's a little far from Addo national park and Kirkwood itself isn't very touristy, but it was worth the drive.

Breakfast was nice with freshly baked bread and more choice than I would expect from a guesthouse.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ijansch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Surrounded by orchards, quietly situated, we found this trendy lodge. Complete with pool, spacious rooms and very good beds. A great breakfast and a host who makes you a nice dinner, when on sundays the restaurants are closed.
Host and owner Diederik feeds you with heaps of usefull tips, arranges daytrips, makes reservations and is a very socially engaged man. As co-founder of the Nkosi foundation he supports activities in the local townships and can talk about this in an inspiring way. A very good Lodge that -if desired- can also give depth to your stay and makes you understand SA better.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Irene d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at Lemon3 Lodge for only one night. The owner is most hospitable and told us to make ourselves at home in their lounge area. He was going out for the evening but left us to do our own thing. The bedroom was adequate--a bit sparse but hey you are only there one night. No TV in the room but there is one in the lounge area (unfortunately we couldn't figure out how to change channels but that's OK).. We were told only one restaurant was open on a Sat night so we went to the local supermarket and bought some cooked chicken and salad and wine and took it back to Lemon3. Worked well. The breakfast was very good and we even got a proper expresso coffee which we were greatful for.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Ver nice rooms, great staff and cute little restaurant. The tourist info recommended us to this easy to find hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed at the Lemon3Lodge for three nights between Christmas and New Year this year and had a wonderful stay. We had made reservations with Diederik a couple of months in advance because it was the busy season and had asked Diederik what were some of the sights in the area that we would want to see. He recommended Addo Elephant Park, the Schotia Game Reserve and the Daniel Cheetah Breeding Project, all of which we would recommend. He also offered to make reservations for us at Schotia and the Cheetah Breeding Project, which we took him up on, and we would highly recommend having reservations at these popular places especially if you are visiting during the high season. Diederik and his partner also support two projects at the local townships and gave us a “tour” of the local township and the food pantry and foster children projects that they are supporting. On one of the nights we shared a delicious dinner cooked by Diederik with a fun couple from Italy. The Lemon3Lodge and Diederik’s hospitality was a highlight of our visit to South Africa.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwood
18.4 mi away
Homestead B&B
Homestead B&B
#11 of 21 in Addo
112 reviews
1.6 mi away
Umlambo B&B and River Camp
18.5 mi away
Addo African Home
Addo African Home
#4 of 11 in Addo
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
340 reviews
16.6 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
17.4 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse

Address: R336 Main Road | Addo Elephant National Park, Kirkwood, Sundays River Valley 6120, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Kirkwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwood
Price Range: $51 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and trendy 4 star guesthouse near Addo Elephant National Park. Air conditioned double rooms with en-suite bathroom, Coffee- and tea facility, comfortable chairs, writing desk, TV and free WiFi. Swimming pool, sundeck, shade, garden and a 4 ha lemon orchard. Lounge with DSTV- international, dvd, music, book, information and a honesty bar. Safe off street parking. Wireless internet available all over the venue. Breakfast with yoghurts, muesli, cornflakes, fruits, fruit salade, cheeses, cold meats, tomato, cucumber, marmalade, Dutch sweets and a selection for fresh bread and toast. Meet & greet the locals during our Nkosi FOundation township tour where we visit our cooking project. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing