We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal approach, hospitality, outstanding service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnolia Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 7 Kirkwood B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The aim for our trip was to rest, and that we did in a safari tent in full shadow the whole day with temperatures round 35'.
The tent has 2 single beds, with good mattresses and enough space left to bear our luggage
We experienced that their heart was in the work at the guesthouse i.e. by the way they showed hospitality and care when I had severe back problems.
After five days we felt relaxed again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 38 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

Magnolia is the perfect place to stay when visiting Addo Nationalpark. The two hosts are extremely welcoming. The room is furnished in a stylish African way.
We enjoyed chatting with the owners and they gave us great tips and helped us planning our route . Breakfast was delightful with delicious muesli, fresh fruits joghurt and great coffee!
Thanks again for your help and your war welcome!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The ambiance, quality and the people - in contact and in touch with the tourism industry in the Eastern Cape, and further. Local knowledge blended with worldliness - a wonderful base to get to know the area and it's attractions first hand. The location is away from the hustle, yet close to Port Elizabeth to enjoy all that the city has to offer.

A plus factor is the experience and contact with the big five resorts, who, where and what. A great place to launch from!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were at Magnolia for two nights. The rooms are big, clean and had everything we needed. It was the first stop we had, that had a good heating, what you need during winter time in South Afrika.
The owner took very good care of us, we had a breakfast at bed! She was also verry helpfull when oure car had to be fixed, or when we where looking for something to do.
A very nice place to stay during a vistit at Kirkwood!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were looking for somewhere to spend the night before visiting Addo Elephant Park - and found far more than we were expecting in Magnolia's warm welcome, beautiful gardens, comfortable safari dome tents and the communal kitchen and bathroom. What impressed us further, was their attitude towards children; not just lipservice, but half price for kids under twelve and the kind of freedom that gave them licence to romp all over the garden, climb trees etc and get rid of all that pent up energy after hours in the car. Thanks too for the useful advice and tips for Addo. We will definitely recommend Magnolia to our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

For the second time already this year we visited Magnolia Guesthouse, owned and managed by the Dutch couple Yvonne and Aad van Tol. The first time we chose this place because it is conveniently situated near Addo Elephant Park. The small guesthouse is nice and charming, but the warm hospitality of our hosts exceeded our expectations. They took us out for an elephant ride in the Zuurberge and showed us an organic citrusfarm where they were just picking the fruits. Cherry on the cake was the visit to Daniell Cheetah Breeding Project, just outside Kirkwood.
Yvonne and Aad did everything to make us feel at home, no question remained unanswered, their care was just great and made us come back for a second time. It is easy to see that their heart is here in this wonderful part of the Eastern Cape and the love for their guesthouse shines on their service. The guesthouse has two rooms, sharing a bathroom. If you want you can also choose a safaritent and use the braai area. The price is right for all the service that they provide. We'll be back to this little hideaway that gives us the feeling of being home, far away from home...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjolein W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

an absolute relaxing place, if you are worked up, want to relax , this will be a perfect place for you..... i visited this place recently and all i can say is wow, specious yard, braai area, pitty we did not braai, my boyfriend was lazy but we enjoyed every minute of our stay, perfect service, from when we arrived we felt like we were home..... thank you sooooo much

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindelwa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kirkwood hotels
4.9 mi away
Umlambo B&B and River Camp
0.1 mi away
Kronenhoff Guest House
Kronenhoff Guest House
#2 of 7 in Kirkwood
96 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse
Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Kirkwood
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Guesthouse

Address: 29 Mimosa Street, Kirkwood, Sundays River Valley 6120, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Kirkwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwood
Price Range: $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing