We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hide away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnolia Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 7 Kirkwood B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We have enjoyed our stay at Magnolia guesthouse very very much!
great beds to sleep in a wonderful swimmingpool and the wonderful outdoorkitchen is my favorite!!! actually the Mr and Ms they surtainly made me feel at home.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c0rien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 38 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

Thank you for letting us enjoy your hospitality! We stayed in the B&B room, very comfortable with all we could ask for, including a fridge, coffee and tea, and some fresh oranges which looked like they came straight from the orchards. Yvonne is a most hospitable host, who knows everything there is to see and do in the area. Spent a nice afternoon on the quaint golf course, went hiking in the Zuurberg Mountains, spent a day at the Addo Elephant Park and wished we could have stayed longer.
Thank you once again - I'm sure we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamSmithinCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We spent 2 night at Magnolia and it was very good! We were in the guesthouse. It has 2 rooms, 2 single beds in the first room and a queensized bed in the other one with an onsuite comfortable bathroom. The room also has a diningtable, fridge, microwave and coffee and tea fascilities.

Outside is a outside kitchen with everything you need and a cosy picknick area to eat.

It is a great place to stay if you want to explore the greater Addo area like the elephant park or for example the cheetha breedingfarm.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHoekstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay there, the people are very friendly and when I go back to South I am definitely sleep here again.The restaurants were closed, but I could eat with them for a very reasonable price. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

From the moment we arrived we were treated warmly and friendly and our requirements promptly attended to. The hostess was very knowledgeable on the area and assisted us greatly in our itinary inclusive of a free drop off.
We stayed in the tented self catering accommodation which was basic but comfortable set in a pleasant garden. The ablution was functional and clean and a kitchenette provided for our self catering needs with nice picnic like setup under some large trees.
Kirkwood is a very small town but the local Spar provided in all our requirements and an absolutely stunning restaurant is 2km away.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancoisPta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Fantastic double, en-suite, main room with super-comfy queen-sized bed! Second room (interleading) with twin beds. Main room fully equipped with fridge, coffee facilities and table to eat at - complete with fresh fruit from the garden! Provision of kitchenette and BBQ area for self-catering. Garden to relax in. Safari-style tents also available - looked really comfortable and neat.
Great, quiet location. Only about 40 minutes' drive from Addo Park. Several good restaurants close by if cooking is not on the agenda!
Yvonne is a great hostess and goes out of her way to ensure you have a relaxing time, making sure that you have everything you need and answering all your questions.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kirkwood hotels
0.1 mi away
Umlambo B&B and River Camp
1.6 mi away
Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse
Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Kirkwood
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kronenhoff Guest House
Kronenhoff Guest House
#2 of 7 in Kirkwood
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Guesthouse

Address: 29 Mimosa Street, Kirkwood, Sundays River Valley 6120, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Kirkwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwood
Price Range: $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing