We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfull!!!!”

Daniell Cheetah Project
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Kirkwood
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Daniell Cheetah breeding farm offers you the unique opportunity to experience cheetahs from several age groups up close while they are relaxing, playing or being fed.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderfull!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Me and a friend visited the farm on 26 Jan 2014. Our guide was "Maxi" and wow!!!!!!!! An unforgettable experience, thank you Maxi for being a great tour guide, I can not believe that anything negative can be said about this farm, the service from when we walked in to enquire untill the end when we sadly had to leave was brilliant!!!!!!!!!! Thank you again Maxi for the tour you and off course all the kids that you guys take so good care off made it such a fantastic day, one that we will fondly think off!!!!!!!! You will see us again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louzelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    52
    15
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Encounter up Close”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

If you like big pussy cats, you will love this encounter. For a modest admittance fee, you are escorted and told about the large cats, being able to go in some of the cages to get close up pictures and stroke some of them. Ever hear a cheetah purr, you will! They are so happy and contented. What a very worthwhile cause and a lot of dedication by the staff. Allow about 1 - 2 hours.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Val C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food for thought”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Poor animals! Locked up in terrible heat without a enough shade . Must have been nearly 40 degrees. Maybe the experiece is fantastic and exiting for the tourist never having seen the cheetahs in their natural habitat. A few more trees or even shadenets over the cages will certainly help if they have to stay in cages. But the protection and breeding of those lovely animals are however appreciated!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Chrisv4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great experience that never made me think I was in a "Zoo"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

I have been to a few animal rehab places before and some do make you think that they are just glorified Zoo's. The Daniell Cheetah Project never made me feel this way, which was fantastic. Firstly the meager cost of the tour, which lasted well over an hour, let you know that they weren't in it just to make money, but were really in it for the conservation. On the tour you will see up close Cheetah, Civit, Caracal, Leopard and Lion and hear very interesting facts about each species and how they ended up at the Centre. The bonus came at the end when we were able to touch an adult Cheetah(they don't let children do this as the Cheetah see them as prey). Well well worth it. A really great cause to support.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Duncan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow......actually touching a cheetah.....wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

A once in a lifetime experience, and a must do. To actually touch a full grown cheetah was amazing. This was just the cherry on the cake considering how important the cause was. The importance of the organization should not be forgotten, and for the price of the entrance, the experience was so memorable. The guide was also very passionate and informed, and this added very positively to the tour. I have read some of the negative reviews on trip advisor, and can't understand at all. It's a good cause, very affordable, on the way to Addo elephant park, and the thrill of a lifetime to be up close with a cheetah. Highly recommended......NOT to be missed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daniell Cheetah Project also viewed

Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 
Greater Addo, Eastern Cape
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 

Been to Daniell Cheetah Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing