We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FEELS LIKE HOME!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kronenhoff Guest House
Ranked #2 of 7 Kirkwood B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 29, 2008

Kronenhoff is one of the best guesthouses in South Africa.Their rooms are very neat, comfortable and well equipped. The staff are very friendly and makes you feel welcome and at home the moment you enter their guesthouse. Their food are very good and I rate their rump and fillet steak as he best in the country!! Thank you for always making my stay as memorable as possible. I will recommend this guesthouse to anyone, because of their excellent service and the professional way they treat their guests. Thank you "oom" Jurie and "tannie" Hendrien.God Bless..

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Wiehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 97 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2008

Situated in Kirkwood, about half an hour drive from the Addo Elephant Park. Old-fashioned stile, very comfortable rooms and infrastructure. Very fine rooms, extremely nice and helpful hosts including all staff members. Good meat and wine in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SolarisZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2008

We stayed @ the Kronenhoff for just 2 days but we wish it could have been a lot longer. Everything about the Kronenenhoff is of exceptional quality -service,food,friendly staff and management, decor of bedroom and bathroom, nothing was too much trouble. A special thanks to Jurie & Hendrien for helping to make our trip to South Africa a holiday of a lifetime.
Mike & Carol Gallagher (Chester, England)

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikgall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2008

The little town near PE named Kirkwoodwith a Guest house that can make you feel like your in your own home with great people working there and the best management in world,what better guest house then..........................KRONENHOFF!

Myself and one of my working patners stayed there for two weeks.It was the best time ever.We had breakfast and dinner there every single day and i can tell that it's the best food ever.The rooms are very neat and clean and with the most beautiful bathroom and the most comfortable bed.

All the great places like Addo elephant park and all the rest of the parks are nearby so you can go and see every single one of them in about 3days time.

Uncle Jurie and Aunt Hendrien,....the best people to make you feel like your living with your family.

I definately recomend KRONENHOFF.

ITS THE BEST PLACE EVER!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WcTravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

This is a great guest house. You can simply lounge around the pool, pub or in the restaurant. The management and personal make you feel at home even 12,000 miles from home as i was.(USA) The chefs are supurb i stayed here almost 2 complete weeks and every night we had the best dinners. The rooms are imaculate. laundry service is available and fast same day service if needed.

Uncle Jurie and Auntie Hendrien as came to know them are some of the nicest poeple in South Africa. It was very hard to say good buy after my 2 week stay.

I will definately recomend The KRONENHOFF Guest House to all my friends.

Addo Elephant park, The Cheetah Breading farm and Addo Lion & Croc farm are within driving distance and still make it back for dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank C_A_R_L_O_S_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

It was really great to relax in the luxury rooms after a long trip. The decor is superb, the service was superb and very friendly. We genuinely felt at home in the restaurant and in the pub. The food was outstanding and very reasonably priced. I wish we could stay longer - Will definitely revisit - next time for a longer period!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jan-Pierrewiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

We have stayed at Kronenhoff on several occasions and will return whenever we visit the region. This establishment offers great value for money. The rooms are spacious and very tastefully decorated. The extensive menu with gourmet local dishes provides a feast at every mealtime. All in All a great place to use as a base in the Eastern Cape.

Hein Barnard
Islamabad
Pakistan

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HeinBIslamabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwood
1.5 mi away
Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse
Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Kirkwood
123 reviews
17.3 mi away
Happy Lands B&B
Happy Lands B&B
#6 of 23 in Addo
226 reviews
4.9 mi away
Umlambo River Lodge
Umlambo River Lodge
#1 of 4 in Kirkwood
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kronenhoff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronenhoff Guest House

Address: 1 Sonop Street, Kirkwood, Sundays River Valley 6120, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Kirkwood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwood
Price Range: $92 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kronenhoff Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kronenhoff Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing