We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, restaurant need interior decorator and staff training”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kronenhoff Guest House
Ranked #2 of 7 Kirkwood B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for one night and enjoyed the spacious room and bathroom. For the room we will come back. The service of the staff and quality of the food was very average. Staff did not respond on remarks. This happened in the evening and at breakfast. We could not have a cappucino in the morning because "we do not serve that in the morning". We walked along the cappucino machine and a sign stating that coffee should be strong!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Streetmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 96 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Kronenhoff Guest House was a lovely place to stay. We arrived after touring the Eastern Cape and spending a day exploring Addo Elephant National Park. After several days on the road we appreciated the luxurious accommodations and the polite staff. We stayed in rooms 3 and 4 and could not have been happier. I would agree with some of the other reviewers that this was by far the highest quality hotel/B&B we stayed at during our month in South Africa. The enormous beds and spa like bathrooms were a pleasant feature that gave us the opportunity to unwind.

We ventured over to the restaurant for dinner and found ourselves engaged in a conversation with Jurie (the owner) over drinks at the bar. During our conversation the room went dark as the power in Kirkwood went out. Luckily, several seconds later the power returned as the property has a generator. Our meals were delicious, priced well, and the service was great. We noticed that the restaurant had a good mix of hotel guests and local area residents.

The morning of our departure we met Hendrien (Jurie's wife and co-owner), and had a very pleasant conversation before enjoying breakfast in the restaurant.

We would recommend this establishment to anyone traveling to Addo Elephant National Park. It was one of the highlights of our South African vacation. We would also recommend visiting the nearby Daniell Cheetah Project, which gives you the opportunity to observe cheetahs, servals, leopards, lions, and meerkats.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakeinSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

The owners take customer service seriously. Last year in July (2012) I ate here and it was a nightmare; however, the staff was better trained and very attentive and the food was much improved also. My experience this year was 100% better and I am completely satisfied if not thrilled with this place as of July (2013).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RacquelMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. They had no accommodation for me, but was willing to recommend and book alternative accommodation. Not often that you see that! Had their tramezzini for lunch which was very good and fresh. Perfect setting and atmosphere. Definitely recommended.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank _Corne_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights last month and absolutely loved the place. Very friendly and welcoming staff, beautiful spacious and spotless room, great food and lovely facilities. The whole experience was first class and I would certainly stay there again. The owner recommended a visit to Daniel Cheetah Reserve and it was a fabulous experience - how often do you get your hand licked by a purring fully grown cheetah!
Highly recommended and an absolute gem of a place.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delboy7019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Beautiful rooms, luxurious bathrooms, welcoming staff and fantastic food - everything we could have asked for on our first visit to the area. The area surrounding Kronenhoff is packed with amazing wildlife and while we were here we went to Daniels Cheetah Reserve and Amakala game Reserve, both recommended by Heindrien (owner). Would 100% return to stay here again, thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donovan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Welcome by staff always friendly.
Stylish well equipped rooms with attention to detail.
Excellent food in the Restaurant with great service.
Cozy fireplace in the Restaurant for cold winter nights.
Close To Addo Elephant Park and Port Elizabeth.
Have been there a few times and can recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnookumsCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwood
14.5 mi away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
369 reviews
16.9 mi away
Homestead B&B
Homestead B&B
#11 of 22 in Addo
129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse
Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Kirkwood
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Happy Lands B&B
Happy Lands B&B
#5 of 22 in Addo
216 reviews
17.7 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
337 reviews
4.9 mi away
Umlambo B&B and River Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kronenhoff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronenhoff Guest House

Address: 1 Sonop Street, Kirkwood, Sundays River Valley 6120, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Kirkwood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwood
Price Range: $82 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kronenhoff Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kronenhoff Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing