We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More hotel than guest house?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kronenhoff Guest House
Ranked #2 of 7 Kirkwood B&B and Inns
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“More hotel than guest house?”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This is a decent place to stay if you want to visit the Addo Elephant Park which is about 30 minutes drive away. The rooms are very comfortable and are in two blocks facing onto a lawned area, a short walk from the main manor house. We paid a small premium for the honeymoon room which was huge and very well equipped. The facilities are more akin to a hotel than a guest house in that you don't feel like you are sharing the owner's home and there is a proper bar and restaurant area serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food is pretty average but quite acceptable.

Room Tip: The honeymoon room is very large and pleasant and well worth the small premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pengaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    24
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
50
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hessen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2011

The Guest House Kronenhoff is a beautiful place near the Addo National Parc:
We stayed there for two nights and were absolutely happy with the room and service.
We arrived at a sunday when the restaurant was closed but we got a plate with food in the room which was amazing. We enjoyed the restaurant the next day and it was great too.
The Bobotie was nice as well the lamb curry.

The room was clean and had nice bathroom.

A place to which we would come back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domdom83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brummen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We had choosen the Kronenhoff Guest House in Kirkwood as it has the ideal location to explore the Addo Elephant National Park. This guest house itself is a charming Cape-Dutch style Manor. We had a comfortable, spacious room. It was only a pity that we could not use wifi in our room! The meals were not a real treat; to our taste too fat. The owners and the staff, however, were very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ineke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durban
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I can only agree with all the previous reviews concerning the actual rooms etc. but what was most amazing was that we arrived with 20 overseas guests at 10pm on a week night and were met with a warm welcome and the kitchen had been kept open especially for us. Great hospitality and definitely worth the visit. Hendrien, you and your team should not just get a great review, you should each get a medal. Thanks again, we will be back!

Room Tip: Suits and double rooms are both very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelbugDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Jurie and Hendrien have created a lovely guest house at kirkwood. The buildings are in the old dutch style and the rooms were "colonial" and extremely well presented. The food was excellent; we were in a large group of families and all tastes were easily accommodated. The staff were very welcoming, helpful, polite and obliging with an excellent level of service. We thought this place was by far the highest standard in our two week stay in South Africa; a shame in some ways that it was the first place we stayed at, as everywhere else afterwards struggled to meet the high standards we had come to expect! In particular, Hendrien was a superb hostess; friendly, helpful and informative. I particularly was impressed by her impeccable handling of a self made crisis when we inadvertently left our passports behind in the Hotel safe. She arranged for their onwards transport by secure courier to coincide with our stay at another hotel along the coast, and insisted that we were not to blame and that she would meet the costs! Extraordinary when you compare and contrast this with the sort of level of service one might have received in other establishments.
In summary, those who are familiar with Alistair Sawday's publications on travel, will be pleased to know there is another venue to add to the list of "Special places to stay". Thanks Jurie and Hendrien

Room Tip: rooms 1 and 2 at front of hotel are in the old part and are very spacious and well appointed. In fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We spent our first three nights on a South Africa tour here - and what a great way to kick off a holiday. The ambience is calm, the rooms are beautiful and comfortable, the food is wonderful and the staff are kind and helpful. The pool is freezing in the winter!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at Kronenhoff for one night during our honeymoon. We chose to stay there based on its close proximity to Addo National Elephant park (an easy 35 minute drive). Our suite was very spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed a wonderful, relaxed dinner at their restaurant on their beautiful patio. We utilized the on-site fitness facility (Kronenhoff was the only guesthouse that offered this feature during our stay in South Africa). It was a very pleasant, peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peekintomypassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwood
0.2 mi away
Umlambo B&B and River Camp
1.5 mi away
Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse
Lemon3Lodge Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Kirkwood
111 reviews
15.0 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
306 reviews
16.9 mi away
Homestead B&B
Homestead B&B
#11 of 21 in Addo
111 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kronenhoff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronenhoff Guest House

Property: Kronenhoff Guest House
Address: 1 Sonop Street, Kirkwood, Sundays River Valley 6120, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Kirkwood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kronenhoff Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kronenhoff Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing