We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop over in Cradock”
Review of Albert House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albert House B&B
Ranked #6 of 13 Cradock B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 16, 2011

I had to spend a night in Cradock as I was there for 2 days on business. Albert House is a beautiful old victorian house, with one of the best gardens I have ever seen. Large premises with Wi-Fi and a lovely pool. Owners were very friendly, and breakfast was ok. I would stay there again. Just try to get a room with decent Wi-Fi (if you need), as some rooms have no signal. Regards, Kev

Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 31 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at Albert House. On arrival we were shown to our room by the gardener and no more contact was made with the owners until we decided to ask them for some advice. Breakfast was ok, but quite basic. We felt that the hotel catered better for commercial travellers that did not need to have the holiday friendleness that we find all over South Africa....but for the money I guess perhaps we were asking a lot. Room ok, bathroom a bit scruffy. We were not shown the pool so never found it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobbejann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Having seen the pictures on the websites of the beautiful old Victorian house we were looking forward to our stop-over in Cradock however on arrival we were taken through the garden of the property to a neighbouring house. The property was a far cry from the pictures on the website, no hint of Victorian about it, more sixties architecture it seemed. Not sure if there is actually accommodation in the Victorian house, did not see anything. Breakfast was served there, and the owners live there, that seemed to be all.
Although the proprietor knew we were traveling with a toddler they did not tell us our accommodation would be right next to an open pool or that their dogs had free roam of the area.
The room decor was fine however there was certainly no DSTV as advertised on the website and outside the property. The main lights did not work and the carpet was filthy. Very little hot water for our shower.
The owners seemed pleasant but we left feeling very disappointed with our stay. In fairness there was a tennis tournament in town that weekend and I am not sure that this had an impact on our accommodation but bottom line is we certainly did not get the accommodation that was promised our their advertising material.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StFrancisLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

We had a great time in this guesthouse. The people, the room, the garden and the breakfast was fantastic. It was perfect to relax some days!

Thanks a lot for the very warm hospitality to the whole familiy!
Hope we can visit you again!

Dietmar & Dunja

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank menzingerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
Thank bulle93939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded December 8, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jörn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schnells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cradock hotels
7.7 mi away
Mountain View Country Guest House
0.3 mi away
Annie's Guest House
Annie's Guest House
#8 of 13 in Cradock
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cathy's Guesthouse
Cathy's Guesthouse
#10 of 13 in Cradock
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Die Tuishuise
Die Tuishuise
#1 of 13 in Cradock
171 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chives Cottage
Chives Cottage
#7 of 10 in Cradock
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert House B&B

Address: 40 Dundas Street, Cradock 5880, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Cradock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cradock
Price Range: $59 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albert House B&B is an Early-Victorian manor house (ca 1843) set in a large shaded garden. We offer three-star accommodation with private garden entrances and safe off-street parking. The en-suite rooms are equipped with satellite TV, tea and coffee trays, bar fridges, fans (summer), electric blankets and heaters (winter), towels and toiletries. Dinner served by prior arrangement.Overnight Rooms also available at economical rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Albert House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing