We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We've been back and will come again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morfeas Pension

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morfeas Pension
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Kamares
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We've been back and will come again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed at the Morpheas Pension last year and Sifnos is the only island we chose to visit again this year. Morpheas was the easiest part of that decision. (We have also visited Paros, Milos, Naxos, Santorini, Rhodes, Mikonos, Folegandros, and Serifos.)
Kostas and his family and staff are incredibly friendly and accommodating. The room we get (#9) is small, but has a balcony that overlooks the sea and affords a beautiful view of the mountains.
Our room had AC, a TV (which we never used) a small fridge, and a kettle with cups, saucers, plates and bowls. In other words, you can easily make yourself a continental breakfast in the morning, and keep a cold beer in the fridge before you head into town for dinner.
The beach is right across the road, about 60 m through a bamboo grove.
The port town of Kamares is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel - you have the convenience of the stores and restaurants without the noise.
Make sure you try "Da Claudio" and "The Cameron", which are side by side on the road into the port. Absolutely first rate food, and wonderful owners/staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Atog52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
98
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

"NORDICBARE" is back with more comments about this wonderful and magestic island and its accomodations.
Morfeas,not a very old pension on this island,in terms of establishment but one great offer to the sometimes"biting"rates of some pensions and hotels here.
Well located on the main street to Agia Marina,a stone's cast from Kamares, with a lovely garden loaded with colorful flowers and overlooking a maze of a bamboo bush curtain blocking the view to the bay if you are unfortunate to be lotted a room on the ground floor.The very clean and comfortable rooms(leaving the beds out,which I think the matrasses are a bit on the hard side),are a bargain indeed!
The owner,Kostas Kambourakis,and his personel,very friendly and accomodating to our every minor need.

Room Tip: Come early..avoid August.Say a friend sent you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bare-with-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, US
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

Read good reviews about Morfeas on here decided to book it. The Price we were quoted was amazing for what we got. Our Room had a balcony that overlooked Morfeas's amazing well kept garden, and a back window that opened up to the mountains. There is also a fridge, small tv and internet access (which we could only get from the balcony).

The Pension is about 100 yards from the port beach. Which was a decent beach. And about a 2 minute walk to the port town of Kamares.

George (I assume the owner) is an extremely nice man. Picks you up from the port and makes sure you are happy.

I would recommend this Pension a hundred times over. Great Value.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RyanRudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire,UK
Level Contributor
195 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

Simple, immaculately clean rooms with small en-suites and, as no catering is offered, they include a fridge and a kettle plus cutlery and cups. Go and buy your own supplies in the grocery stores of Kamares about 350m away and you have all you need to survive and enjoy a nice holiday. The beach is about 100m away through a bamboo grove in front of the hotel. The position of the hotel itself, on a slightly scruffy road, isn't perhaps the best, but the overall advantages of the place are huge. Its a snip! The owners are nice and clearly keen on gardening, although with the dry soil they struggle. However, around the building are nice roses and many pots containing legion varieties of basil, which wafts up as you brush past on your way to your room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pete-fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

This was my second stay at the Morfeas Pension on Sifnos. Kostas and his family, including his father, are wonderful hosts. I stayed elsewhere in Sifnos on my first trip. There was nothing wrong with the first place, however the difference is that Kostas makes you feel like family. He will welcome you at the ferry when you arrive, and will go out of his way to assist in any way that he can. In my case he arranged a car rental for me at a very good rate. He also allowed me to stay in my room after check-out time because my ferry didn't leave until the afternoon. In short, I won't be looking for any other place to stay when I go back to Sifnos. I spent 5 days at the Morfeas in a lovely, immaculate room that had two private balconies - one overlooking the lovely port and the ships coming and going - including the beautiful sunsets every night. The other view was the hills of sifnos and the lovely sunrise! How much better does it get? When I checked out, Kostas presented me with a lovely farewell gift. I am looking forward to my next visit to Greece - which will definitely include Sifnos and the Morfeas Pension!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gina_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankee in the South
Level Contributor
213 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

We've traveled for many years all over Greece and the islands but we've fallen in love with Sifnos. Morpheas was a woderful place to stay for a week's first visit. Easy to walk to and from the ferry dock. Spotlessly clean with covered terraces for relaxation and drying swim and snorkel gear. Typical small Greek bathroom where everything gets wet when you shower and very firm beds but, hey, it's Greece and it's fun. We rented a motorscooter just up the road from Morpheas. Favorite beach was Apokofto right next to the beautiful Chryssopigi. Eat lunch ar the restaurant at the end of Apokofto beach nearest to Chryssopigi - wonderful Greek food with fabulous views.
We hiked up to Agios Andreas to see the ruins and spectacular views - you can also drive up most of the way by taking a newly paved road. Get a good map - TOPO is the beat.
Best gyro - tiny place with 3 tables out front in Kamares. Go up the street (all steps) heading up the hill from the main street just before Claudio's Restaurant. There's a sign for "Gyros and Souvlakia" at the bottom of the steps. Sorry I don't know the name.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank divezuzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

We chose Morpheas after reading the previous reviews and we were lucky enough to find a room. We couldn't have made a better choice. We have stayed in all types of hotels all over Europe but, honestly, can't remember one with higher standards of cleanliness than Morpheas. We felt like home, able to touch anything fearless! Everyday our room was cleaned so thoroughly like when we had arrived. Apart from that, the room was definitely beautiful, not luxurious but stylish. We had two balconies, the small one shown at the photo of trip advisor and a bigger one where we sat at nights, enjoying the breeze coming from north. There was an a/c but didn't need to operate it.
Generally speaking, Kostas (who picked us up from the harbour) is a very friendly person willing to fulfill any client request, and Morpheas a very good choice for accommodation in Sifnos. There is not a breathtaking view or a pool or such things, but if you are satisfied with a very very very clean and stylish room for 65 euros per night in August, just don't make second thoughts.
Kamares (where Morpheas is situated) is the harbour of the island, 10 mins from Apollonia and half an hour from even the most distant village, In Kamares you can find every kind of shop, restaurant or bar, but of course Apollonia or Artemonas offer better options.
We definitely suggest restaurant Chryso in Artemonas- you have to walk a bit but the local pie Kalasouna and their revithokeftedes are a life's taste for the lovers of good food.
Moreover, avoid restaurant Mamma Mia in the path from Apollonia to Ano Petali. We paid 11,5 euros for their Mamma Mia salad, which was exactly like the chef's salad in Goody's fast food restaurants. Not to write about the rudeness of the owner...
In Apollonia, bar Argo has great cocktails, but have in mind they are for 10 euros each.
Last but not least, if you can avoid the 60 euros per person take the daily cruise from Platy Gialos to the western beaches of the island. We were 8 people in the sailing boat and had a really great time. From the beaches that are accessible by car, Glyfo in Faros was probably the best in the island.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arinez02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamares
0.4 mi away
Delfini Hotel Sifnos
Delfini Hotel Sifnos
#1 of 14 in Kamares
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sifnaika Konakia Traditional Settlements
0.1 mi away
ALK Hotel
ALK Hotel
#6 of 14 in Kamares
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Niriedes Hotel
Niriedes Hotel
#1 of 8 in Platis Yialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#1 of 3 in Artemonas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
4.9 mi away
Verina Suites
Verina Suites
#2 of 8 in Platis Yialos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morfeas Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morfeas Pension

Property: Morfeas Pension
Address: Kamares 84003, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Sifnos > Kamares
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kamares
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kamares
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kamares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Morfeas Pension 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morfeas is located in Kamares Bay, 30 meters from the sea. Our premises are constituted by 8 double bedrooms and 2 completely equipped apartments that can accommodate up to 4 persons. In addition, kitchen is included in the apartments. In the benefits it is included: Internet access, parking space, cot for babies and washing-machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Morfeas Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morfeas Hotel Sifnos
Morfeas Pension Sifnos, Greece - Kamares

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing