We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place, lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sifnaika Konakia Traditional Settlements
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Kamares
Certificate of Excellence
Oswestry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place, lovely location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

A very peaceful & relaxing place to stay. The location is within walking distance of the beach, town & ferry. The rooms are very clean & comfortable with excellent views. Everybody very friendly & helpful. Facilities are excellent with terraces for sunbathing or sitting in the shade. Would definitely visit here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clive_chalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
83
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

I love these rooms. Great views, isolated from the huge apolonia traffic. Good room service. The only think i did not like is that we were forced to leave our rooms at around 10:30 in the morning at the day of the departure although on the arrival day we had to check in at about 14:00 in the afternoon.
This is poor hotel management.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brainlaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2007

My partner and I stayed at the Sifnaika Konakia Studios in Kamares, Sifnos, for four days in June 2007 and really enjoyed out stay. The studio we were given had a sea view, a nice balcony and most importantly an efficient and quiet air conditioning unit, which was very welcoming when it was so hot at lunch time (35C!).

The studios are just a five-minute walk to the beach and restaurants, and even though they are located on the main road in the town, this is a quiet island, so do not worry about noise. There is a bus stop just outside the studios in case you want to get the bus to Apollonia, the main village in the island.

Apollonia is on a hill top, and has some very good restaurants, but we preferred staying in Kamares where the choice of restaurants is also very good and where you can enjoy the sunset while having a cocktail or dinner. We recommend the Old Captain Bar, where Kelly (an American who has been in the island for 8 years) and her husband are very welcoming and make great cocktails. For restaurants, try Boulis, in the main square in the village, or Argyris, across the bay, for a good view of the village and for fantastic traditional Greek food.

Maria, the owner of Sifnaika Konakia, is extremely friendly and helpful. She picked us up from the port and took us back and was always on hand to give advice on what to do on the island.

Sifnos is a great place to relax, with a nice beach in Kamares that is particularly suitable for families with children as the water is shallow and calm. Most tourists come from the US, France, Greece and Sweden, with a few Brits, Germans and Italians. As the island does not have an airport and you can only get there by ferry from Piraeus / Athens, or other islands, it has avoided package holidays and bad taste. Do not expect wild night-life, but a nice place to relax, soak in the sun and just enjoy a nice relaxing time.

  • Liked — Nice, clean, good location and friendly owner
  • Disliked — Could do with some shade in balcony, but not a big deal.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jplondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2006

My husband and I had such a great time in Sifnos, and especially at this wonderful hotel! It is family-run, and consists of small bungalow-style rooms, terraced down the side of a hill, each with its own balcony, and most with a view of the sea. Also there is a patio area in the centre of the place, so all the rooms radiate off that.

We were so pleasantly surprised by the accommodations...we travelled to a few islands in Greece on our last trip, and often the photos posted on the hotel websites were much nicer looking than the actual room (e.g. photo had nice curtains, flowers in the room, etc). In Sifnaika Konakia, it was the reverse...the photo doesn't begin to describe the actual detail of the room. Every aspect of it done so tastefully and it is incredibly clean. Our room had a mini-kitchen in it as well. And the price per room at this accommodation (and Sifnos in general) was less than all the rooms we stayed in at other more touristy islands (e.g. Santorini, Mykonos), where for the same price we were in a closet-sized room with no decor, and sometimes sketchy cleanliness!

  • Liked — B&B atmosphere, view, hotel owners/managers
  • Tips/Secrets — Rent a car if you can, buses are not frequent and don't go to all the nicest beaches.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marga88ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamares
0.2 mi away
ALK Hotel
ALK Hotel
#6 of 14 in Kamares
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delfini Hotel Sifnos
Delfini Hotel Sifnos
#1 of 14 in Kamares
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
2.5 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#1 of 3 in Artemonas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Morfeas Pension
Morfeas Pension
#2 of 14 in Kamares
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
4.9 mi away
Niriedes Hotel
Niriedes Hotel
#1 of 8 in Platis Yialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Margado Accommodations
Margado Accommodations
#5 of 14 in Kamares
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sifnaika Konakia Traditional Settlements? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sifnaika Konakia Traditional Settlements

Property: Sifnaika Konakia Traditional Settlements
Address: Kamares 84003, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Sifnos > Kamares
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamares
#5 Family Hotel in Kamares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sifnaika Konakia Traditional Settlements 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Sifnaika Konakia Traditional Settlements reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sifnaika Konakia Traditional Settlements Sifnos, Greece - Kamares

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing