We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel--just what the doctor ordered!”
Review of Hotel Boulis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Boulis
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Kamares
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2010

I booked this hotel in advance, not knowing exactly what to expect given the ambiguous photos listed on this website which do NOT really flatter it. The gaudy, big blue sign from the road doesn't look very promising until you get up close and realize it's only there for people to see it when they come in from the port.

And believe me, after 5 hours on a ferry, you'll appreciate it much more.

Anyway, a hotel should always be about more than looks. And Hotel Boulis is a very quaint, quiet little piece of heaven on an island that caters to people looking to relax. The TV in our room was puny, but with the free wi-fi and our laptop, we didn't really need it. You should also ask in advance for a room with the courtyard balconies--the ones on the outside of the hotel don't exactly have the greatest views on earth. Comfortable beds, too. We got a double and a single, though we didn't need the latter.

Their breakfast "buffet" is decent if simple--just remember that in Greece, breakfast really isn't that much of a big deal, so be prepared to wait until lunchtime for better options.

Lynn at the front desk was a big help in every way and was very accommodating. The cleaning staff also did a great job, and were very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweatcold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 147 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2010

I was traveling solo and this was my first time on Sifnos. I could not have made a better choice:

The hotel is very nice, beautiful backyard and lobby, clean rooms, free wifi from my room, just a two minute walk from the port (and bus stop, car/bike rental, etc.) so it is quiet at night, and you almost have the beach in the backyard, and it's the quiet part of the beach. Really perfectly located.

The staff was very nice and always helpful and accomodating. I arrived after midnight and the owner was there to welcome me to my room. Lyn, his wife, speaks perfect English since she is from Australia, so there is no language barrier.

When I'll go back to Sifnos, I'm not staying anywhere else. Perfect location and staff, and you will live Sifnos.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trip_Ether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Boulis in August, 2009. Prime tourist season, but we got a good deal on the room, Sifnos wasn't as crowded as we expected, and we enjoyed our visit.
The staff was all very friendly and helpful, the room was clean, the hotel was right on the beach in a quiet area, and everything in Kamares was only a 5 minute walk away. The grounds of the hotel were very pretty, especially the garden courtyard.
Although I really enjoyed the Boulis, I have to say that Kamares is so small, and there are no bad locations. It is very easy to walk around, or take the local bus to other areas of Sifnos. We had planned on checking out the entire island, but only spent one day venturing out of Kamares as it was such a relaxing area with beautiful water.
Our favorite restaurant by far was Camaron's. It had fantastic food, and an even more fantastic owner. I highly recommend it.
We enjoyed our stay, and would recommend the island of Sifnos, and staying at the Boulis.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

It's all true! A lovely greek hotel on the beach, a short stroll to town centre and port. Lynne, gorgeous daughters and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast on the vine covered terrace (oh yes, that yoghurt), sundowners on our verandah overlooking the sea and mountrains. Only !00 metres to a safe and clean beach, local bus stop and car rental shop. Great position for all sightseeing and trekking. Four days of bliss. Rooms are comfortable, very clean and of course the shower is greek style but it's fun (you just have to laugh the first time you drop it) and it doesn't take long to get the hang of the hand held shower. Guests we met have been repeatedly over many years to this hotel and we can see why!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glensy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

A previous reviewer wanted to know how this hotel rated No 1 on Sifnos.

That depends on what you want from a hotel on a small greek island.

The hotel is direclty on the beach at Kamares - a small resort with a handful of cafes and tavernas/restaurants - within 2 minutes walk of the bus stop and supermarkets.

Yes there probably are more luxurious hotels on the island. Yes the rooms are slightly dated and the shower could be larger.

But the service is first rate (and this was our first visit - we have not been visiting for decades) - the hotel extremely clean - the breakfast was traditionally greek.

we amended our booking at very short notice and Lyn was very generous in not charging us for the full original booking.

If you want 5 star luxury then look elsewhere - if however you want a traditional and friendly greek experience then you will not be disappointed.

If we return to Sifnos we will not stay anywhere else

Gary

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garymich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

How this hotel rates #1 in Sifnos? I am 100% certain there has to be better hotels. The location is decent, as you are about 100 metres from the beach. There are 8 rooms with a beach view (10 is you count the ones on the side) Our room was on the side, so we had a 2 metre panorama of the sea. The friendly service was non-existant for the first 4 days of our 8 day stay, after that Lyn did recongize us. Perhaps you have to be a regular guest for a decade or two, but sadly this was our first time there. On our final day, she did offer us a lift to the port as one of our rolling bags had broken and we were going to take a taxi. The room was dark, the bathroom darker. If might have been possible to turn around in the shower without catching a curtain, but neither my wife or I managed it. The rooms were cleaned daily and the linens changed......however the little bit of sand by the door stayed for our entire stay. People rave about the breakfast........why? You have little or no choice. There was a sliced cheese, some pressed sliced ham, yogurt with honey and granola, some assorted whole fruits, boxed juices and white bread. Varied?...no Generous?....no
I have no explanation how this hotel reached this rating........none

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank walleyeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Finally made it to this hotel that Mum and Dad have been coming to for 17 years! the occasion being Mum's 80th Birthday.
Had lovely double room with balcony overlooking the garden, beach and sea. Room was very clean and had fridge, air con and tv.
Free wi-fi in reception and terrace area... great for our iphones!
Rooms cleaned every day. Our daughter and son had a room each which were equally as nice.
The hotel staff were all very friendly.
Nice buffet breakfast provided which could be eaten in dining room or terrace area.
Great location just few yards from beach. Main bit of small port town can be reached by walking along beach or five minutes down road. Lots of nice reasonably priced bars and restaurants there.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malc56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamares
0.2 mi away
ALK Hotel
ALK Hotel
#6 of 14 in Kamares
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delfini Hotel Sifnos
Delfini Hotel Sifnos
#1 of 14 in Kamares
335 reviews
2.6 mi away
Petali Village Hotel
Petali Village Hotel
#1 of 7 in Apollonia
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Margado Accommodations
Margado Accommodations
#4 of 14 in Kamares
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cape Napos
Cape Napos
#1 of 3 in Faros
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Morfeas Pension
Morfeas Pension
#2 of 14 in Kamares
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boulis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boulis

Address: | PO Box 726, Kamares 840 03, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Sifnos > Kamares
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Kamares
Price Range: $53 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Boulis 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Boulis is directly on the sand in the middle of Kamares beach, with the rare advantage of being in a quiet, rural area away from the main road, yet only a few minutes walk to bus stops, shops, ceramic workshops, etc. The rooms at the Boulis hotel are clean and comfortable, each containing: private bathroom and balcony or veranda, refrigerator, air-conditioning, ceiling fan, TV and direct dial telephone. Our bistro-style "Kafenés" is a quiet corner in the hotel garden courtyard offering distinctive mezedes and delicious full meals, home-cooked using local products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Boulis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulis Hotel Sifnos
Hotel Boulis Sifnos, Greece - Kamares

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing