We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Beach Location to Relax”
Review of Hotel Boulis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Boulis
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Kamares
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Beach Location to Relax”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

This hotel can't be beaten on location, it's practically IN the sand dunes, wonderful sunset from the balcony (rooms at the front). Delightful leafy courtyard restaurant within the hotel serving home cooked Sifnos food, really friendly and helpful staff plus fully functioning internet. Certainly ticked all my boxes :-)

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarecita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    36
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
40
41
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

After having done Ios and Santorini my cousin and I had planned to relax and stay at Hotel Boulis for four nights but had to extend it due to myself becoming ill. On arrival into the port we were excited to see the hotel's sign from the boat which made it quick and easy to find being a five minute walk to and from the port. In the morning we were even more surprised and happy to see that the beach was literally down the garden path and out the gate, 100m to the crystal clear blue water's edge which was viewable from the hotel restaurant's courtyard. The hotel's restaurant, Kafenes, was a definite highlight! Home cooked by a father, daughter and friend team, and reliable and friendly wait staff, the Sifnos Greek food was fantastic with a thorough variety to choose from including local Sifnos cheeses, ingredients that were home grown and even dessert. It was also great to see locals, Greek tourists and other tourists all coming together at the restaurant, clearly a testament to the great cooking!
The hotel itself was nice and roomy, an optional standard buffet breakfast was provided. The bedroom a good size with airconditioning that worked and a ceiling fan, tv and fridge and ensuite as well as a balcony where we could sit out on plus always clean. The staff on reception were friendly and knowledgeable, able to recommend activities to do and when I got sick they pointed me in the way of the free doctor on the island and regularly checked to see how I was going and if I needed anything. Greeted every morning with a smile and with free transport to the port on the way out overall it was a relaxing and easy experience, I would highly recommend this great family owned hotel and restaurant!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I arrived to Sifnos from Milos with my 10 year old son, friend and her 2 kids. I was expecting a simple hotel yes, but " a Greeck style" one. No way I could immagine something so sad!! dark, with heavy brown furniture, small rooms, very low and sad lights, no sea view, a tiny balcony.....
Despite the kindness of the people at the reception, we decided to move out the following day and went to the tourist office at the port to find another solution.
I can't judge food, cleaning, etc. The hotel is indeed just on the beach, but for me being in Greece means sun and sea, blue skyline and wind. Not a place where you need to put air condition on 24 x 7!

We happily moved out, to a better and less expnesive place ....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leira67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed four nights at Boulis. It is a simple, no frills hotel in a perfect location.
Let's begin with problems. The hotel looks old and tired and needs some renovation. Our room was simply furnished and looked a bit gloomy; the furniture was pretty old and used; air conditioning was very noisy.

On the other hand, Boulis is perfectly located and its restaurant is exceptional (for lunches and dinners, not for breakfasts!). The hotel is just few meters (literally!) from the great Kamares beach; 3 minute walk to the charming port, full of nice taverns and cafes. Finally the hotel restaurant is simply fantastic: traditional food with a little bit of modern touch + great, honest service. Good choice for lunch or dinner (breakfasts are rather simple and below average.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room: 1) on the 1st floor (more privacy) and 2) with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piotr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed at boulis hotel and we think that is perfectly located, few meters from the lovely beach of Kamares, which is the best in Sifnos.
It is also very close to the port (it takes less than 5 minutes to get the ferry!).
But most importantly, the service is unique thanks to the owners, a fantastic family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
293 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Hotel Boulis is in a perfect location for Kamares and having the beach on their doorstep is a definite plus but what really won me over was the hospitality of Lyn and her daughters. They were constantly on hand to answer questions, give advice and recommendations etc. I checked out at 11a.m. but as my ferry was not leaving until 9:30pm that night I was able to leave my bags at Reception, use the beach in the afternoon and was given a lovely beach towel courtesy of Hotel Boulis. Then, that evening, I was given another fresh towel and access to the staff shower so that I could freshen up before my ferry to Athens. Where could you get better hostpitality than that?

Their little garden cafe is lovely too and was so nice to have breakfast/lunch outside (though the breakfast is pretty plain and no fruit was served which was a disappointment but it is optional at an additional €5).

The rooms are purely functional but they tick the important boxes; crisp white sheets and towels, fan and AC, very comfortable bed, large bathroom for Greece and the shower actually has a shower curtain which turned out to be an island novelty! Ooh, and the bus to Artemonas, Kastro etc. goes from 2 minutes away so the hotel really is in a perfect location.

On a balanced note the hotel is not very asthetically pleasing but it is in a perfect location and I would not hesitate to stay here again if I was in Kamares.

My overall view of Sifnos is to definitely visit Kasto and spend a night there. It is so beautiful. Apollonia is cute too so I would recommend time in all 3 unless you just want beach time.

Enjoy Hotel Boulis. :-)

Room Tip: If available ask for one with a balcony view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaitDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This is a family owned hotel with great service. The cooking is done by Adonis the owner and his friend. Traditional greek recipes and wine from their vineyards. Excellent, they even cooked the fatted goat for us. The rooms are nice with balconies. Try to get an end room for a bit more privacy. Our balcony was over the courtyard that is covered by grape vines.
These folks went over and beyond becuase of the strike we stayed a few days extra. Lynn the owner helped us as we had a family emergency and cell service was messed up. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to rest on the beach and eat great food.

Room Tip: Just email and ask for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nervoustourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamares
2.6 mi away
ALK Hotel
ALK Hotel
#6 of 14 in Kamares
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
3.0 mi away
Delfini Hotel Sifnos
Delfini Hotel Sifnos
#1 of 14 in Kamares
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sifnaika Konakia Traditional Settlements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Morfeas Pension
Morfeas Pension
#2 of 14 in Kamares
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.1 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#1 of 3 in Artemonas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
2.8 mi away
Margado Accommodations
Margado Accommodations
#4 of 14 in Kamares
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boulis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boulis

Property: Hotel Boulis
Address: | PO Box 726, Kamares 840 03, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Sifnos > Kamares
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Kamares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Boulis 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Boulis is directly on the sand in the middle of Kamares beach, with the rare advantage of being in a quiet, rural area away from the main road, yet only a few minutes walk to bus stops, shops, ceramic workshops, etc. The rooms at the Boulis hotel are clean and comfortable, each containing: private bathroom and balcony or veranda, refrigerator, air-conditioning, ceiling fan, TV and direct dial telephone. Our bistro-style "Kafenés" is a quiet corner in the hotel garden courtyard offering distinctive mezedes and delicious full meals, home-cooked using local products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Boulis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulis Hotel Sifnos
Hotel Boulis Sifnos, Greece - Kamares

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing