We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, welcoming and Monica is a gem.”

Claudio's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 23 Restaurants in Kamares
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious, welcoming and Monica is a gem.”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We ate here two out of our three nights in Sifnos and wish we would have eaten here all three. Besides the food being outstanding, it is Monica that makes it special. On our first night there about a minute after she served my wine, I knocked it over and it went everywhere, within seconds she was there with another glass, a clean tablecloth and a very reassuring message to me, "nothing to worry about- enjoy". I felt like a klutz to say the least.

We followed her suggestion for the appetizer which was like a flat bread calazone with two different fillings. The pizza was one of the best we have ever had anywhere. After the meal we were served a special little liquor with some fresh fruit.

On the day we were leaving the island we walked past the restaurant and Monica walked out to the street and gave us both a big hug. She has to be one of the kindness most genuine people I have ever met while traveling. Thank you Monica for making us feel special.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank twebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    87
    29
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Monika is magic !”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Ate here just for a change and had a great meal -the pasta with farfale, mushrooms and speck was more than enough. Monika (from Trieste) is excellent at front-of-house. We returned a couple of nights later for a post dinner coffee and ended up staying two hours!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gnomerod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food good value”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have been going to this restaurant every year for the last 12 years. Food is great and there are always great specials. The service is fantasic with Monica making you feel like you are a special guest.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jonmar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Almost like Family”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We ate here twice while staying in Kamares. What a wonderful, friendly, welcoming atmosphere with delicious pasta, pizza and salads. We felt like we were long lost relatives returning for a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Toadhollowtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very basic - medium quality - high prices”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is a very medium quality italian food restaurant with very average salads and medium quality pizzas. I think it is rather expensive for what it offers. In general it was ok but really nothing to remember after eating there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Indiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claudio's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Kamares, Sifnos
 

Been to Claudio's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing