We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience ”
Review of Absinthe

Absinthe
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Kamares
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $28
Cuisines: Greek, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Romantic environment with a great view and protected from undesirable weather. Closed for the season. We will re-open May 1st. Winter is coming.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have been to Absinthe for dinner. The food is amazing and differs from the standard greek food you can find everywhere. We tried two main dishes (a kind of tuna tataki and a salad). The tuna was a speciality of the day and it was simply stunning with its well balanced flavors. We concluded the meal with a nice chocolate mousse that was super-good.
Furthermore, the Absinthe has a notable selection of greek wines.

A Sifnos must to go

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank pitres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 649 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2019 via mobile

I have just eaten the best pasta I have ever had at Absinthe. I am extremely fussy with pasta but tried the farfale with crab tail and ouzo and it was heavenly. Beautifully al dente, so delicate yet full of flavour and perfectly balanced.
The restaurant itself is lovely with great views and great staff.
Do yourself a favour and try the house specialty farfalle. I savoured every mouthful and would be coming back tomorrow to order the same thing if I wasn’t leaving tomorrow.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank miococo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2019

Ate here as our 'special treat' dinner on holiday and it didn't disappoint. The food is delicious, portions sizes are generous (especially for starters and salads so don't over order) and the service excellent. My husband ordered the goat curry - it was delicious. I had seared tuna - tender and well flavoured and our son had the seafood risotto which was delicious too. We had a lovely Rose with dinner (second down on the menu) - one of the best I've ever tasted. All in all a great night.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank debrakidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2019

What a fantastic restaurant this is. My wife, daughter and I visited this restaurant to celebrate my wife's 40th and Daughter's 10th birthdays and our 15th wedding anniversary. We are so pleased we did as George and his team bent over backwards to provide us with the best service from the moment we arrived with complementary proseco to start and complimentary deserts to end our meal.
Our daughter has a lactose intolerance and the staff made sure that all of her food would not have any lactose- George came to explain that the pesto in her meal has Parmesan cheese in but then reassured us telling us that Parmesan doesn't have lactose in.
The food was beautifully presented and was in good portion sizes. The staff were very happy to make recommendations and knew their menu very well. To cap it all off watching the sunset from the restaurant was such a treat.
We would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone and we will return.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stormtamer, Διευθυντής at Absinthe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you Jonathan for your kind words it was a pleasure having you at our establishment. But let clarify one thing for potential readers, Parmesan that has been aged for over 36 months is supposed to have minimal lactose and it doesn’t affect people who are lactose intolerant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

The restaurant is on a balcony with views over the beach. There is a fair amount of main dishes and some starters and desserts on the menu. We tried 6 different main dishes (farfalle pasta, tagliolini pasta, lamb, curry chicken, lamb burger, seafood risotto) and 2 starters (feta with honey and sesame, meatballs) and we all agreed that the quality was average, the portions medium to normal and the taste rather plain and indifferent. All of this while taking into consideration that the prices are higher than those of most restaurants on the island. At the end, they offered us some local Greek wine. Overall, we were not thrilled with our meal, but it wasn’t awful either. We probably won’t return anytime soon.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank elkay-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Absinthe also viewed

Platis Gialos, Sifnos
 
Apollonia, Sifnos
Apollonia, Sifnos
 

Been to Absinthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing