We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique as Absinthe is”
Review of Absinthe

Absinthe
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Kamares
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $29
Cuisines: Greek, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Romantic environment with a great view and protected from undesirable weather.
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unique as Absinthe is”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

It is a combo of Greek, Eastern and chef's brilliant mind that produces unique tastes that are truly unforgettable.
Love it every time as food remains every time the best you can eat.
Great view of the harbor of Kamares without the noise. Worth trying: the curry chicken, the eastern rice, the shrimps, the feta saganaki and many more ... As I got hungry remembering them all.
Prices are ok for the level of the restaurant. Service impeccable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank avazacopoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    104
    30
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Levenmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in the Greek Islands?”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

After a couple of weeks island hopping I was getting a bit tired of the same old Greek taverna menus offering the same old dishes. Absinthe really hit the spot when I wanted something a little different. Top quality cooking; friendly and efficient service; and a relaxing and comfortable ambience. The hot and spicy goat with basmati rice was phenomenal and their fava was the best I have eaten in Greece. Plus a drinks menu offering around 20 different types of absinthe. Don't miss the absinthe preparation ritual.

I went two nights in a row and was not disappointed at any time. As good a restaurant as any where I have eaten in 35 years of travelling around Greece.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GibbysGhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Every client is important”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I was waiting for a ferry boat to Piraeus and I chose this restaurant to have the last and the best meal during my trip. And I was not dissapointed! I had a shark fillet with grilled vegetables and it tasted absolutely fantastic! Waiter was extremely kind and I really reccomend this fabulous restaurant to everybody! And this view to the bay... Fantastic!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Piotr100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absinthe, best restaurant in Sifnos”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I stumbled across this restaurant when my ferry was running late. What a find! Fabulous food, superb view and excellent service. You must go there if in Sifnos!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sunset and service exceptional.”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Writing this review very late as visited last year but felt the need to write a review. Setting lovely at sunset. Perfect. Service I remember was excellent and I had the goat curry with rice and a bowl of chips on the side. One I have never had goat and two this was the best curry I've ever had I reckon? It came with slices of soft juicy mango in the side. We have booked to return to sifnos this September so I will be there at sunset again and hope the goat curry is on the menu!

Helpful?
2 Thank DawnRob_9Haven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George P, Διευθυντής at Absinthe, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear DawnRob 1,

Thank You for Your kind words of Absinthe and for the attention and the positive note Your review will endow upon this beautiful island and on all the other great dining establishments here.

We look forward to serving You both again soon and although some new dishes have been added and some subtracted from this year's menu, the goat curry is one of our signature dishes and in constant demand so..it stays put!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Absinthe also viewed

Platis Gialos, Sifnos
 
Apollonia, Sifnos
Platis Gialos, Sifnos
 
Apollonia, Sifnos
Kamares, Sifnos
 

Been to Absinthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing