We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful dining experience - gourmet food and fabulous service at great prices.”
Review of Absinthe

Absinthe
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Kamares
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $29
Cuisines: Greek, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Romantic environment with a great view and protected from undesirable weather.
Schweinfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful dining experience - gourmet food and fabulous service at great prices.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The food was excellent. Traditional Greek and Sifnos culinary food as well as diverse Mediterranean selections were available. The multilingual staff was friendly, enthusiastic and helpful in assisting patrons with menu choices and gladly answered any questions.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TJHof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    100
    28
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Greek restaurant with a french touch”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My golden rule for eating out in Greece is to follow the French; Absinthe is the restaurant of choice and it is easy to see why! Imaginatively presented dishes using fresh, local ingredients and a fantastic location, overlooking the bay. From the menu, choices included lamb cooked in a clay pot with mountain herbs and honey, and pork with wild sage and prunes.

This is certainly one of the best restaurants in Sifnos, if not the Cyclades, but very reasonably priced.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Godiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“SIMPLY DELIZIOSO!!!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Having a husband who is a great, professional chef, I’m not easily satisfied with restaurants.
We tried couple of other restaurants on the island, they where ok, but Absinthe was the best.
Not only food was great but it was the best meal I had in a long time when on vacation.
My favor was chicken with mango, chili peppers and coconut cream, love it...SIMPLY DELIZIOSO!!
My daughter had pork with fresh pineapple and rice with mushroom, chestnuts and pine nuts.
No any other restaurant on the Sifnos come even close with quality of the food and the taste, specially the taste.
Service was great, professional and friendly at the same time. Fantastic view from the terrace.
Thank you for making our meal so tasty and our dinner experience so memorable.
Maria

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SummerItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top food (and top wines) in Sifnos”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We went to Absinthe based on the good reviews we saw on the website and were not disappointed!!
Giorgios, the manager, loves his wines and so do we, he made us taste Greek wines which were very, but very close to the Best of Bordeaux mixed with the Best of Burgundies : heaven!!
The food, even if a bit more expensive than more traditional restaurant, is worth the extra money : you always get what you paid for and Absinthe offers the best value for money on the Island (in our opinion), so we made it our catina.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancoisB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sifnos finally has a unique restaurant.”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I've traveled round the world and have tasted really good food.My recent visit to the beautiful island of Kophangan was a real treat as far as Thai cuisine goes.Also loved the great dishes in Australia a few years ago. Absinthe restaurant in Kamares,Sifnos offers really subtle taste in every dish I had(and I tasted many different dishes).The service is impeccable,the wines outstanding and the desserts simply irresistible.
I highly recomend Absinthe restaurant,Kamares,Sifnos to those who apreciate really good restaurants with a fantastic view,great food and service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MichalisOrphanidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Absinthe also viewed

Apollonia, Sifnos
 
Platis Yialos, Sifnos
Apollonia, Sifnos
 

Been to Absinthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing