We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Manoir in lovely grounds”
Review of Manoir du Captot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manoir du Captot
Ranked #2 of 3 Canteleu B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as a change from central hotels. It is a beautiful house, modernised but still retaining immense charm. It shows its age here and there, but that's part of its charm too. The location is delightfully quiet, but also its drawback. It's necessary to take taxis in and out of Rouen, at about 20 euros each way, and it's hard to find. Using the house number is useless, and taxis coming out of Rouen to take you back in seemed to get lost regularly. It's best to ask Madame to book them for you, which she's very pleased to do, and she tells them how to find her.

Madame is delightful, and I would hesitate to call someone so proper by her first name, and she much appreciates guests speaking French. Her English is, in fact, very good, but she doesn't like to let on, and why should she?

We had a delightful stay, enjoyed the lack of TV in our room and also in everyone else's. Very calm and restful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HFielding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 55 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

Have just returned from a weekend at this magnificent property. A lovely host, superb breakfast and a lovely room. The only thing that prevented 5 stars was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the bedroom, although the host was happy to provide tea/coffee on request. I would have preferred it to be available in the room though as we sometimes rise early and want to make a cup of tea, possibly at a time when it wouldn't be courteous to ask our host.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bracknellcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

When we first arrived at Manoir du Captot, we had spent a long time trying to find it, having had to negotiate serious roadworks. We spotted the entrance to the drive by chance and drove up the slightly neglected drive. We were very impressed at our first view of the house and rang the bell hanging outside the door to gain attention. We were shown in by Michelle who was very welcoming but were distracted by the heads and feet of deer and wild boar which decorated the walls and the occasional peeling paint. We were shown to our room which was the autumn one at the top. Here we began to relax... it was clean and tidy with all facilities required. There was no tv but we didn't care as the weather was lovely and we sat outside after our evening meal in the beautiful city of Rouen and had a drink and nibbles, chatting and reading. The views were lovely and it was so quiet. A fantastic centre for visiting the Seine valley.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonah9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

A very pleasant manor house to stay when you are near Rouen. The lady who owns it is very friendly, thoudh sometimes a bit run of her feet as it is a big house and she is all on her own. So don't expect your room te be perfect again by noon - but eventually it will get done. Also very helpful re any queries! We had the Automne room and it was very comfortable.
Only disadvantage: Canteleu really offers only one pizzeria (which is good and at walking distance) and it is a bit of a hassle to get into Rouen so really there are no good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

What a lovely find this was - right on the outskirts of Rouen but still close by.

If, like us, you've driven through Rouen on your way to & from other destinations in France and thought it was a bit of an industrial zone then think again. It's a lovely city with plenty of interesting history and great places to eat.

Arriving at Manor Captot, Michelle greeted us and showed us to our room. As many Brits do, when you land somewhere after a long drive you always fancy a cuppa so we asked if this would be possible and Michelle obliged without fuss. Our room was the pink room - spacious, nice pedestal bath and a very comfortable queen bed. The view over the rear of the house from this room is lovely - a tree-lined field and you have 3 sets of double opening windows from which to gaze outside.

There's a key to lock your door (sounds obvious but we've been places without!) and plenty of wardrobe space. I have no idea if the other guests were either not moving or wearing cotton wool on their feet but with the wooden floors in the rooms I had expected more noise - it was remarkably quiet.

Breakfast is the usual affair of fresh bread, cheese, tea & coffee along with homemade preserves & jams and perhaps the nicest croissants I've had. It's served in the lovely dining room around a large table so you'll be chatting to other guests - Michelle nips in and out with provisions and is the ever-helpful host. Her English is more than good enough but when a very nice Aussie couple had a problem with their hire car I translated. The point of this story isn't to elude to my barely-above-average French, rather to say that due to these exceptional circumstances Michelle not only phoned Europcar on their behalf, she also drove them into Rouen to sort the car out and even took them to and fro the city centre in the evening so they could have a meal. Coupled with the running of Manor Captot during a busy period - this was such a lovely gesture on her part.

Michelle - you're a wonderful host with a charming house, thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Decided to spend a few nights away from Paris in the beautiful town of Rouen. We were not sure whether we should stay in the town or just outside. Captot is perfect - about 5 minute drive from the town in a beautiful forrest area and the host Michelle was wonderful. She helped us decide how to explore the area and her breakfast was more than ample and the quality excellent. We had a delightful two nights in the Rose room and would go back again!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We made a last minute booking to stay over New Year's eve and were lucky to get the beautiful Pink room. The house is decorated with antiques and in a hunting theme. We were very happy with the room and had a great breakfast featuring an assortment of jams home-made by the hostess.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicFromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manoir du Captot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir du Captot

Address: 42 route de Sahurs, 76380 Canteleu, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Canteleu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Canteleu
Price Range: $135 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eighteenth century manor house, extensive grounds, Roumare national forest park nearby and all just 10 minutes from Rouen. What could be more perfect?Three rooms with private bathroom:1/ The pink room with draperies Toile de Jouy and a double bed 180cms/200cms2/The room Artémis with draperies Toile de Jouy and a bed 160cms/190cms3/The room Automne with twin-beds 90cms/190cms x2 or 180 cms/190cms + 1 single bed.Parking space is reserved inside the property, WIFI access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manoir du Captot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Du Captot France/Canteleu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing