We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel”
Review of Hotel Surselva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Surselva
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Obersaxen
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Great family hotel”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had a wonderful week at the hotel Surselva. Chris and his team offer a 6 star service and the food and wine choice were amazing. Its also very good for children who can have fun and make use of a great play room. The hotel is on the piste and so you can ski down to the chair lift.

We normally like to ski different resorts each year but because the service was so good and the food was amazing, we will go back next year. The region is super quiet and so you can ski all day and hardly see anyone.

Chris and his wife really make it a home from home. 10 out of 10 for everything!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bibi v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

More or less by chance we came to this hotel and were welcomed very friendly by Chris, the owner. He offered us a two room appartment for the price of a double room, as we did not want to cook ourself, and it was the last room available. We stayed for 3 nights for skiing. We could strap the ski at the backdoor and ride down directly to the chairlift. Very comfortable!
The hotel has an excellent restaurant too, with mostly local raised beef, lamb, trout and vegetables. Once a week Chris barbecues at the fireplace - and he really knows how to do it well. Surprisingly, in the first moment,there are some Greek dishes on the menu. But Chris and his wife is of Greek ancastry (but born in Switzerland).
Chris, his wife and the whole staff is really very frinedly and helpfull.
All in all an excellent choice.
Besides: Obersaxen is a nice place for skiing, we NEVER hat to wait at the lift. Not even between Xmas and New-Year.

Andreas + Veronika

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_W_991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I traveled through Switzerland for 3 weeks. Hotel Surselva was far and away the best value we found. When we arrived (without a reservation), the owner greeted us with a drink while he served his guests in the dining room. He set us up with the most spacious room of our trip - a welcome sight for Americans after 3 weeks in Europe - at a very affordable rate. The next morning, he went out of his way to help plan and make sure we would enjoy our day ~~ and start it off right with a good breakfast. They even cooked us eggs American-style (Sunny Side up!).

At this hotel, expect: A BEAUTIFUL location with stunning views. Extremly gracious hosts Chris and Kristina. Excellent food. And a very Swiss experience.... nothing bad to say. We can not wait to return to Switzerland, and will MOST DEFINATELY stay at Hotel Surselva again... tops in our book!

Stay at this hotel. Eat the food. Enjoy the views. And RELAX - you're surrounded by the most wonderfull landscape!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I was astonished that in a remote Swiss village I met those high standards in hospitality, service, food and quality of rooms
the oweners made everything possible to satisfy our needs
One word "Congratulations"

Dr S. Taraviras

Room Tip: Any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spyridon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Surselva for one night in July. We received a warm welcome upon our arrival. Chris and Kristina were excellent hosts. Chris generously described to us everything on the dinner menu and engaged us in enjoyable conversation. The food was fantastic! Kristina is a great cook! The bedroom and the dining room were spacious and comfortable with awesome views. The hotel also seems very accommodating to large families. There is a playroom for the kids. Hopefully we can someday return to this area for some winter skiing. In that case, we will definitely stay at Hotel Surselva. We had a wonderful experience. Highly recommended!
Jon & Ami - Austin, TX

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSurselva, Inhaber at Hotel Surselva, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you very much about your review!
I hope you had a fantastic continue of your trip.
Finally, I translate the whole menu, so we will have in future more time for enjoyable conversation :-)
Kristina an I wish you all the best!
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Truly magical views from a lovely hotel with terrific personal care. The owners are involved in everything and the personal touch shows. Wonderful reception ,a great dinner served in a dining room with a great view and a bedroom that is clean and comfortable. We spent a night on our way to Italy from Zurich airport and both the drive there as well as the day spent walking in the alps were great family fun.. Relaxing and unbelievably beautiful views. Recommended for all seasons!

Room Tip: When traveling with kids,ask for the family rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dutchmen0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

It is a little off the beaten path, but if your travels take you to this part of Switzerland, Hotel Surselva is an awesome small hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff goes above and beyond to help guest and provide a guesthouse atmosphere. I even meet some of the hotel owners while having drinks in the restaurant right after my arrival. The breakfast is fresh, local and first-rate. We were offered local cheeses, home-made marmalade, and warm freshly baked bread. There were five people in my group and we all loved our stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lowest level (you enter on the top level) have access to a veranda and views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrvlrX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obersaxen
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
1,023 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#16 of 68 in Lucerne
457 reviews
0.5 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#8 of 68 in Lucerne
884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Surselva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surselva

Property: Hotel Surselva
Address: Principala, Via 54 | Reusssteg 11, Obersaxen 6003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Obersaxen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Obersaxen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Surselva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the scenic Surcuolm area, Hotel Surselva offers free Wi-Fi, free parking and many outdoor activities. All rooms are spacious and simply furnished.All rooms include satellite TV and some have a terrace. Guests can enjoy panoramic views of the mountains from every room.Many of the outdoor activities provided by Hotel Surselva include hiking, canoeing in the summer and skiing during the winter. The hotel’s tour desk offers advice on excursions. During summer the Surselva-Card is included in the price comprising of many discounts.Surselva Hotel’s restaurant serves local and homemade Mediterranean cuisine. The hotel also provides barbecue facilities where meat and fish specialities are offered.Zurich Airport is 166 km away from Hotel Surselva. The staff at reception speak English, French, German, Italian, Greek and Russian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Surselva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing