We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very mixed feelings”
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Central
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Obersaxen
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel has a few buildings in Obersaxen. We stayed at House Meierhof, which is adjacent to the main building. The room was very small, cold and pretty dark. Two short beds were OK, other furniture shows serious wear. The room was clean, with towels changed daily, internet connection pretty good (but one has to ask for the password at the reception). No amenities - bring your own soap! Although overall it felt like a 2* hotel where every dime is saved, we were there for skiing and only needed a place to sleep. Keep in mind that those 150-200m to the lift are up pretty steep road, which wasn't a nice surprise.
Restaurant is out of place in this hotel - high prices and small portions, staff constantly cruising the room pretending to not watch you... It wasn't comfortable and we only ate there because we booked HP, which we won't do again. Despite booking HP, you are expected to pay for overpriced drinks, which alone could easily come to a price of full meal.
We've been to several family hotels in the mountains and this one is probably where we felt least welcome.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergey8800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 36 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2010

We were supposed to stay in Illanz, but after driving up to Obersaxen we decided to change our plans. The hotel Central happened to have rooms available until the weekend, which is when we were planning to leave anyways and they offered us a great rate. So we switched and we were SO happy that we did! The county of Obersaxen is lovely. Meierhof and the surrounding villages are quiet and peaceful. We were told that in the winter, this area is packed with skiers, but this time of year it is slow and quiet, which was perfect for us. The room was spacious (for Europe) and clean. The wireless internet connection worked great in the room. We had a nice balcony that looked out towards the mountains. The gentleman who ran the hotel spoke English and was very helpful. The only downside might have been the clock tower that chimed every hour, but it never seemed to bother us! The hotel has a restaurant that was very elegant, but we did not eat dinner there because it was extremely expensive. We were the only guests of the hotel on the first night and so the only ones for breakfast in the morning. The breakfast was the traditional meats, cheeses, breads, cereal and yogurt, orange juice and coffee. It was very good and the dining room where it was served had big glass windows with a beautiful view of the mountains. Each morning there were more guests that stayed and that weekend there was a big bike race and more people coming as we left for our next destination. This was probably our favorite place to stay and visit during our 3 week trip to Switzerland!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelindaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wir sind immer nur zum Essen dort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ursula s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank kunden2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer können nicht Masse wie in einem Palace haben, aber gut da man ja nur nächtigt!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W1715HRinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Familienzimmer sind in Richtung der Kirche / Hauptstrasse gelegen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nadix732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: unbedingt Zimmer nach Westseite verlangen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Urs A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obersaxen
2.3 mi away
Hotel Vincenz
Hotel Vincenz
#3 of 3 in Breil/Brigels
9 reviews
43.1 mi away
Hotel Surselva
Hotel Surselva
#1 of 2 in Obersaxen
65 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apparthotel Panorama
Apparthotel Panorama
#1 of 1 in Obersaxen
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: Obersaxen 7134, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Obersaxen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Obersaxen
Price Range: $171 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing