We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise on earth”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax and unwind on the large, cool patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Relax and unwind on the large, cool patio
Large room with air conditioning
large cupboard with a safe for your valuables
The view from the queen size bed
Bright bathroom with walk in shower
large bathroom with lots of driftwood surprises!
Fully equipped kitchen with gas hob and mini oven
Looking towards the beach
Lie on your own sunbed in the tranquil garden
View from the verandah
Laborie Beach
Spectacular sunsets
Another sunset
The beach in front of the house
Laborie Beach, just a few steps from the cottage
Mama Tilly. Strong rum punch and great food!
Looking towards Laborie village
Looking out to sea early in the morning
Laborie village...a hidden gem!
The famous Pitons!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Laborie, Laborie Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Azzouna
Les Gets, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise on earth”
Reviewed March 27, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous stay at Driftwood last week. Driftwood is located just behind the beautiful beach in Laborie Bay, a charming Caribbean village on the west side of the island of Saint Lucia. The accommodation is superb - lovely bathroom, relaxing verandah, comfortable bed and a well equipped kitchen for those who really want to cook. However, the local restaurants, although simple, are excellent - Wilson's "Salt Rush" on the beach as well as Mama Tilly's highly recommended and great value for money. Tony and Jan are consummate hosts and full of local knowledge - they gave us great recommendations on things to do and were always on hand when needed. Just love the place and will be back soon !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
460Lesley...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A trip to paradise”
Reviewed March 26, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

A brief trip but well worth it. Laborie on the south end of the island is full of Carrabian character and only a 15 minute drive from the airport.
Driftwood was the perfect place to stay for a relaxing break, overlooking the lush garden towards the white sandy beach and turquoise blue sea.
The accommodation is bright, spacious and beautifully decorated with attention to detail, and the bed is very comfortable. There is air conditioning if required.
The separate kitchen provides ample equipment for cooking if desired, but we ate out most evenings to enjoy the local ambiance; Mama Tilly's a favorite.
Breakfast on the shaded veranda while watching the feeding humming birds - Perfect.
We loved an evening stroll along the beach to Wilson's bar to watch the sunset.
Jan and Tony, the owners couldn't be more helpful. They are full of local knowledge and seem to know all the local people.
Can't wait to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen...
Rochester, ny
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A piece of paradise!”
Reviewed March 13, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

If you want to know what life is really like on St. Lucia, this stay in Laborie is an excellent start. Hosts Tony and Jan are welcoming and full of information they are happy to share with you. The accommodation is immaculate, and the front porch/veranda offers a view of the sea. Multitudes of hummingbirds swarm to the feeders, and local roosters and chickens help you greet the day. There is always a fresh breeze, and fans and AC available if needed. The private beach is perfect, shaded by huge palms and dotted with sea glass rather than shells. Because it's a protected bay, the water is lovely warm. Tony and Jan are involved with local dog rescues, so their beloved pets and wannabes are a moving feast of canine variety, as well as a dependable security system! Your hosts can make many arrangements for extraordinary activities to suit your taste: travel around the island, sunset or snorkel cruises, private lobster dinners and an evening meal at a lovely estate reminiscent of colonial living (Balenbouche). They can help arrange weddings, vow renewals and other bespoke celebrations-----or you can just unplug, lie back and enjoy this piece of paradise.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieandY...
2 reviews
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed October 19, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Other reviewers are right - it's no 5 star resort. It's better. Tony, Jan, and Lincon have created a very special place and helped make it one of the best vacations we've ever had. The village of Laborie made us feel welcome and we can't wait to come back. Next time we'll stay longer. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anniefcha...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful. Perfect getaway”
Reviewed July 23, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Driftwood for a week and loved it. The beach nearby is one of the most beautiful on the island, relaxed and friendly and you can walk along the beach into Laborie village to pick up supplies. Jan and Tony were such great hosts, they gave us loads of tips for places to go on the island. A real highlight was the mineral waterfall and a pretty tough walk up Gros Piton. Hard work, but the tropical forest at the top and a swim at the beach at the bottom was well worth the hike. We loved eating at Mama Tilly's and Mama Rose's in Laborie. Try the dish of the day at Mama Roses's. Such a great holiday. Highly, highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemmachar...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely place, lovely people”
Reviewed July 22, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time staying in driftwood. We couldn't have asked for a nicer st lucian village to stay in, everyone is so friendly, you can experience the real st lucian life. Driftwood is right on the beach and so picturesque.
We enjoyed a morning tea on the veranda and getting pastries from the bakery in the village before exploring the island in the day.

Tony and Jan are perfect hosts, so helpful and knowledgeable.

Would love to visit again one day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_and...
Llanymynech, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Paradise personified!”
Reviewed May 9, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Well, we've finally had to accept that we have returned home, and it's not a bad dream!

We stayed in Driftwood for most of our month in Laborie (had a few days in Bay Treehouse, which we're reviewing separately), and truly could not have wished to have been anywhere else.

All the good points mentioned by other people are echoed by us, and we would add that during our four weeks here we only left Laborie on two days ~ our view was simply "why would anybody wish to stay anywhere else?"

Tony and Jan were the most amazing hosts, and were extremely kind and helpful over our need to cancel last year's holiday the week before we were due to fly out. We had some fabulous times with them, having so much in common (motorcycles being just one interest).

Absolutely nothing was too much trouble (hopefully) ~ a suggestion that a shelf in the bathroom would be useful resulted in a unit being made by Tony that afternoon, and in situ the following day! The driftwood fittings in the bathroom and around the cottage itself were lovely (we fell in love with the loo-roll holder!), and everything was of a first-class standard.

We just loved chilling out on the verandah when we weren't in the sun on the beach, and were adopted by a delightful couple of children from next door.

Wandering into the village for supplies was easy, and we always walked back along the beach. Without exception, everybody said hello with a smile, and we had some impromptu chats with some of the lads (and our first taste of Bounty rum), and a lesson in how to prepare coconuts from some of the elders. We watched the local inter-schools sports day, and an inter-village cricket match on the recreation ground: the locals freely chatting with us on both occasions.

We could go on and on, but will just say that you will not regret your decision to stay here, and are happy to answer any questions you may have.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too difficult to pick one thing!
Liked least: A noisy dog in a neighbouring property.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing