We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Mango Splash

Mango Splash apartment is on the ground floor of the house on the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mango Splash apartment is on the ground floor of the house on the beach
Your private hideaway Your quiet, cool, comfortable room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Mango Splash apartment is on the ground floor of the house on the beach
Your private hideaway
Your quiet, cool, comfortable room
The desk/dressing table
Looking towards the front door
A fully equipped kitchen with an African scene
The morning sun shining through the glass bottle wall
Clean, comfortable bathroom
The path to the beach
Looking out to the beach
Looking to the left from the front of the house
looking towards Laborie village
Spectacular sunsets.
The famous Pitons
Dritwood Cottage, Bay Treehouse and the outdoor relaxing area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Laborie, Laborie Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
sueschene
Bellingham, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hosts!”
Reviewed February 7, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

If you want CLEAN.....this qualifies! It is the smallest of 3 places Tony & Jan own & operate on their property. I would have loved a warm shower & I wish our unit opened to the beach...but, they were great helpful hosts so not having the perfect place was just fine!
We LOVED having Lincoln cook lobster for us & take us in his fishing boat to the snorkel beaches! Chef William also cooked for us and he made delicious sauces for the dishes & wore his chef jacket! Try to stay in One of THEIR other rentals if available- they just felt alittle more open and roomier. The folks in Laborie we're welcoming and The hosts are good, kind, talented and very helpful people! Great experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners!
Liked least: Solar shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2016
We are sorry you didn't tell us about wanting a warmer shower while you were with us. Normally, the water is solar heated, however at the flick of a switch on the electric water heater, we can provide our guests with hot water any time of the day, throughout their stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christi20...
Ellijay, Georgia
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed January 1, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Tony and Jan are the perfect hosts! They are there when you need them and not there when you don't. We rented their car for the day to go to the Pitons, waterfall, sugar beach, etc.-much cheaper than a car rental. Tony took us to get the driver permit after he picked us up at airport. Map/directions/brochures... "tourist info", provided in the apartment so we could plan any excursions. Linka cooked us a wonderful lobster dinner on the beach and took us out in his fishing boat to different beaches to swim and snorkel. Ate at Mama Tilly's and enjoyed her dancing to all the music playing throughout the town in the evenings. When they blow the conch shell in town (between 9-10 am), we went to where the local fishermen come in and bought fresh fish for grilling. In the mornings, at the town gathering place, we bought fresh fruit and veggies from the local women, who had picked from their gardens-get their early, as they sell out fast! Loved Laborie and the friendly people! Easy and safe walk to town. It's fun watching the town come alive at night with the locals spilling out in the streets to visit each other and listen to music.The accommodations are very clean, well maintained and quite. The beach is right outside and spent alot of time under the palm trees reading, relaxing and napping in the lounge chairs. We probably saw less than 10 other tourist in town or on the beach the entire week we were there. Tony and Jan surprised us with an invitation to Christmas dinner with their friends at their house...Jan is a wonderful cook and we had a great time! This is the PERFECT place to truly get away, unwind and relax!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather T
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Affordable Piece of 'Heaven'”
Reviewed December 12, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My husband and I stayed with Tony and Jan for 5 days - 3 in Mango Splash, 2 in Driftwood cottage; like another reviewer said, it is like staying with friends more than it is like renting a place! The location is absolutely perfect - we drove all over the island and we really could not have chosen a better spot to call our temporary 'home' on the southern half. Having the beach literally in your back yard is an amenity second to none! The furniture is comfty, room and decor clean with the perfect blend of modern and charming and they provide everything needed to make your meals. Being from Chicagoland, we love our air conditioning in the humid summer months so having that option was wonderful. Overall we had an excellent stay! We felt safe and well taken care of and wild not hesitate to return if every visiting St Lucia again. Thank you, Jan & Tony!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dream holiday in the real St Lucia”
Reviewed December 11, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

If you want a holiday that is essentially a copy of any resort holiday in the Med or indeed any other holiday mecca - with all you can eat buffet - loads of other holiday makers from the same place as you and exorbitant prices - then Mango Splash is not for you.

If you want a holiday in what is a real working fishing village, with barely another (we encountered three) holiday makes in sight - in a fabulous location - in outstanding accommodation - provided by two fantastic hosts - then Mango Splash cannot be recommended highly enough - if we could give it six stars we would.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location - our hosts - the locals - the feeling of being in real St Lucia
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guycalled...
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding Hosts!!!”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Wedding? Vow Renewal? Honeymoon? Book here. Jan & Tony have not only been our hosts. They have been our weddingplaner and we could not have been in better hands. We had the most wonderful caribbean wedding ceremony on the beach in front of their house...and you really just step out of their property and you are on the beach under palmtrees. It is not a private beach like within these hotels & resorts...but this makes it even better: instead of hotel guests watching your special moment, you have the local kids playing in the water & some fishermen nearby. Jan & Tony are so active & dedicated to the little village that everyone simply loves them and their guests. We couldn't feel more welcomed and the atmosphere was wonderful. Jan & Tony organized the whole stay & wedding. They took care of every little extra wish regarding our ceremony and even came up with their own wonderful ideas: our arch was handmade from driftwood, we could chose the color of all flowers/bouquet, our rings were carried in a conch from Laborie beach, the local steelpan band played, we set some white doves free to fly, we had a beautyful wedding cake at the Balenbouch Estate and 2nd location session with Frank the fotographer, we had a private chef preparing lobster for us in the evening. Everything was more than perfect. Perfect Location with perfect hosts for the perfect day!!! Thank you so much!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolke
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply Lovely”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My travel partner and I had the pleasure of staying at Mango Splash not once, but TWICE during our St. Lucian holiday. We booked our trip to spend the first 4 days in Laborie, then moved North to Rodney Bay for the remainder of our stay. Within the first 3 days up North we realized just how much we missed how quiet and uncomplicated things are at Mango Splash and in Laborie. Thankfully the Apt. was available so we could come "home" again. :)

Jan and Tony are WONDERFUL hosts. They were a pleasure to work with throughout the entire experience; from booking through to airport drop offs as we departed. They charge very reasonable rates for airport transport and are more than willing to provide transportation for other necessities (groceries, drivers permits, etc...). We also loved that they had a vehicle we could rent to explore the island ourselves. They provided us excellent advice from where to eat, to attractions to explore. Every recommendation was spot on!

The Apt. itself was perfect for the two of us. It was very clean and set up appropriately for two people to stay. We loved that the beach was just around the backside of the house and we could take advantage of it whenever we wanted!

Laborie is a very quiet, fishing village - which is what we loved the most about it! Despite it being quiet, you can easily walk to find whatever you need; food, light groceries and of course beer! We also appreciated that the locals were very polite and did not hassle us as we hung on the beach or walked through the village.

Cannot recommend Mango Splash enough for those looking for a quiet, lovely place to call home while visiting St. Lucia!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Jan and Tony!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birdman27...
Santa Rosa, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely little apartment on the beach”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was the last place my wife and I stayed on our honeymoon. After 11 days exploring the island, we wanted to relax before we had to fly home. This place hit the mark perfectly for that. If you are looking for a place to escape for a few days and experience some real St Lucia, I would recommend it without reservations. Tony was an incredible host, making sure we had everything we needed and also joining us on our first walk into town for dinner (at Mama Tilly's, which was great!). Located right next to the playing fields, you can always find some action. We happened to be there right as a local cricket tournament was finishing up and got to watch some 20/20. My only complaint is, as a tall person, that the bed is on the small side, but not enough to ruin anything at all. Make sure you get a chicken and bake from Zoe's (the blue house across the playing fields) for lunch. Please note that the owners live on site and have a number of very friendly dogs, so if you dont like animals this might not be the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and host
Liked least: small bed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing