We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A dream apartment”
other travelers have booked this property
View from the balcony Looking towards the ocean and village
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the balcony Looking towards the ocean and village
Sunset..wonderful every night private entrance to the apartment, accessible through a private garden with stone steps and path
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
22 reviews
View from the balcony Looking towards the ocean and village
Sunset..wonderful every night
private entrance to the apartment, accessible through a private garden with stone steps and path
Looking up to the apartment via garden gate..this is a private garden
Inside the apartment 2017
Upstairs part of the house, go down the path to the apartment Which is below main house
View from apartment balcony
Balcony view..perfect for sunset watching
Steps up to parking place
Fully tiled shower room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Laborie, Laborie Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Magpiemel...
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A dream apartment”
Reviewed January 21, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

As seasoned world travellers who have stayed in hotels and apartments from 2* to 5* and have always gone on holiday with an open mind and judged places on our own experiences, we had read good reports on trip advisor about this apartment in the peaceful fishing village in Laborie in Saint Lucia, so decided to give it a try. The owner organised a taxi waiting for us at the airport for the 20 minute drive to the apartment, on our arrival we were met by the owners daughter in law who showed us around the apartment and made sure that we were happy with everything and had everything we needed. The apartment as a large fridge freezer and a 3 ring gas hob as well as a electric frying pan, there is not an oven but that was not a problem as we managed to cook great simple meals, there was plenty of pots and pans and cutlery, the bathroom had a hot shower in a large wet room, there was a great double comfortable bed with a mosquito net covering it, outside on the fantastic balcony you had comfortable lounger chairs to enjoy the spectacular views over Laborie bay, here we spent endless happy hours enjoying the spectacular views in comfort. The wonderful owners where on hand to help if required or let you have your privacy if required, there son Mark was so helpful and knowledgeable about the island and was always willing to help. The village of Laborie is a charming place with lovely friendly people set around a lovely beach with plenty of bars and eating places (The Salt Rush Café is a wonderful place to eat or have a drink on the beach). All in All this was a fantastic apartment to enjoy the real Saint Lucia, we will certainly be revisiting this brilliant apartment and enjoying Laborie again. To have these fantastic views there must be a little set back and that is the 10 minute walk back up the steep hill to the apartment but as a 70 year old I walked up every day, but anyone with walking difficulties would struggle, that is the only set back with this apartment, but Mark can help you with cheaper car hire locally where you can pay with cash and do not need a credit card. I would highly recommend that you purchase a good mosquito repellent from the local supermarket to help with the inevitable mosquitos you get in all tropical conditions. I would definitely recommend this super apartment for a visit to Saint Lucia.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 22, 2017
Thank you both so much....it was a great pleasure to have you here and I am sure we shall see each other again! Very best wishes, Annette and mirco
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkCityB...
Park City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Ocean View Apartment in Laborie, St Lucia.”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Greenheart Apartment in Laborie for
three weeks in April 2016.

Annette, the owner, was very helpful via email and concerned about
us enjoying our stay on St. Lucia. Evelyne, her local
property manager, was equally helpful in person. Annette's
son Mark, who lives nearby, was also very helpful. We also
had a very nice boat outing with Mark to Soufriere which included
snorkling and a great Lionfish lunch.

The apartment has a veranda with a great view. We spent
many hours on the veranda watching the activities on the bay
and in town as well as the wonderful sunsets. We especially
enjoyed the beautiful birds who made themselves at home.

We enjoyed staying at Greenheart so much that we are returning
for four weeks in 2017.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the veranda.
Liked least: The mosquitoes.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2016
Thank,you for your good review and look forward to seeing you next year. Best wishes,,annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne O
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely budget home stay”
Reviewed December 22, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Greenheart apartment overlooks Laborie bay. It is up a hill from the centre of the village and there is parking via another road if you rent a car. We walked up the hill- it is pretty steep but manageable. There is good public transport to Vieux Fort which is the closest town with bigger shops and the transport goes form the bottom of the hill and is very cheap. All public transport is by mini buses in St Lucia and waits at the start until it is full.

Laborie village is a delight as there are so few tourists. There is no hassle form anyone as it is a working village- fishing is the main work and it is fabulous fresh fish on sale- the best I have ever tasted. The fishermen announce the arrival of fish by sounding a conch which can be heard everywhere. There are a few small shops and a nice bakery and a lovely Catholic church.

The studio/flat is beautifully decorated with African fabric and a lovely fourposter bed. The caretaker is Evelynne, who is a real gem and so helpful. It has pretty much all you would need to self cater. Excellent fridge and freezer and a three rings gas hob on the counter and microwave. No hot water in taps but hot shower in a wet room.

The view from the balcony is gorgeous and we sat there everyday listening for the conch and seeing the turquoise sea. Laborie was our favourite place in St Lucia and that is saying something !

A small bonus is that it is pretty close to the international airport so if you need a taxi it is not too expensive. Airport is close to Vieux Fort.

I would only add that insect repellent is essential as there are sandflies outside which bite all through the day not just the evening, but with repellent there is no problem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of the village
Liked least: sandflies
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget G
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A true taste of the Caribbean - laid back paradise.”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Greenheart apartment in mid August 2015 for our first child free summer holiday in 20years. I had never been to the Caribbean before; he had been to Barbados once. St Lucia was a punt. It paid off. We loved every minute of our stay here in this wonderful, relaxed fishing village where the locals were friendly and the vibe laid back and non threatening. The apartment was light and airy, the view over the bay was spectacular and it had everything we needed.
The village itself has a number of basic bars to choose from so as long as you are not trying to order Singapore Slings everywhere you will be spoilt for choice. There are also many eateries though do be aware that menus are rare; so relax, forget fussy and go with what they have on offer. This is likely to be what has been caught by the fishermen that morning and will be delicious.
We had some brilliant advice from the apartment owner who put us on to a local taxi driver who really made the holiday. Ian could not do enough for us and took us around the island, enthusiastically showing off his country and countrymen and all for a fantastic price and with an enormous smile. A larger than life character in every way we laughed the entire time. I cannot recommend his services enough.
All in all this a is a place for couples who want to feel the real rhythm of St Lucian life. If your standards are exacting and you verge on the prissy, give it a go anyway but leave the high heels at home.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boggsey
staffordshire england
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful views of a beautiful part of the Island”
Reviewed May 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a fabulous 14 night stay at this great apartment in Laborie in the South of the Island. This area is so off the tourist trail it is a world away from the brochures of St. Lucia and that is what makes it so special. My hubbie and I arrived to the Island to the heat at 31 degrees, the steel band playing at the airport and a giant of a man, Ian Estaphane ready to take us in his taxi to the Greenheart apartment. I recommend Ian, he was on time, greeted with a couple of cold Piton's and a quick shopping trip to the Super J, and then we were greeted by Evelyne and shown the apartment. First impressions were good and the views from our private balcony were simply stunning. We relaxed into a three day chillax, getting to know the local surroundings, Mama Tilly's and the Bamboo Bar restaurant were a big hit. We also visited the craft shop and beach bar at the far end of the Rudy John Beach as well as the local Petit bay which is directly over the headland from the apartment along a rubble track and across a grassy field. This was a beautiful bay and very private, but not much sand!
We settled into the apartment well as it has everything you need (but note, there is no oven but there is a great electric fry pan and we became dab hands at fried home made pizza!!!). We enjoyed sharing our showers with a variety of tree frogs and had a pair of St. Lucian finches nesting in the corner of the room which was fab. There was not much for the birds to approach our balcony by way of feeders and we both felt as bird lovers that some nectar feeders to attract the hummingbirds and a large feeder to attract the bananaquits would have added considerable enjoyment to the balcony experience, but overall the bird life in the trees within the garden is great. We had three regular visitors to our balcony by way of small lizards and for us, this made the stay so much more than just a holiday, it was a real experience (see my review on trip advisor of Tobago, as this is a similar holiday experience which we wanted to create), but we are aware that holiday makers rather than visitors may have found some of these things a little offputting. The only thing off putting is the climb up the steep hill to the apartment. You do have to be sound on your feet to rent this apartment to get up the hill, or have a car!. We rented a jeep for 7 days and I have left a contact card in the apartment for Islander cars, Marcus Antoine was excellent value for a Terrios and I would only recommend hiring a 4 X4.
This is a safe part of the island, but be aware that public footpaths do go directly around the property. The Lucians are lovely, friendly people, but as the gate was broken to the entrance to the property, we did have locals popping in for some soursop leaves and fruits from Annette's many trees - they did ask permission though. This is a lovely apartment in the best village on the Island, with enough eateries in the village to keep you going. (Top tip, we did get quite a few mozzies so take a good repellant as Chikagunga is present in St. Lucia and take ear plugs as there are a few too many dogs across the bay which echo around to get a restful nights sleep on some occasions). Previous comments in relation to music in the bay are true, you get very quiet nights Monday to Thursday, but the weekend gets started from Thursday night onwards and in typical style, lasts four days. Try and catch the children at the school practicing the steel drums, but you can hear then from the balcony on Tuesday and Thursday evenings. Our favourite places to visit were Balanbouche estate, Sugar Beach for snorkelling, and Pigeon point for lunch and James de Bois. Finally, if you cannot manage a hike up a Piton, which we couldn't due to the heat, take in the gentle hill walk up Tet Paul which is right next to the Fond Deux estate entrance. The views are stunning. Enjoy this special place.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamac193...
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place to laze and look”
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing location in a village full of Caribbean life. The wonderful verandah overlooking Laborie Bay is well protected from wind and sun which makes it an ideal place to enjoy bay watching with binos.

Open plan apartment is well designed and thoughtfully equipped and the bed is very comfortable. The apartment has been recently built with greenheart, a very durable wood from Guyana, making it a rather unusual property which blends easily into its surroundings.

The walk down to supermarket (limited stocks)/village/beach etc. is steep in places but was manageable (even coming back!) by us (82 + 70).

Humming birds on bougainvillea, cheeky bullfinches on the verandah, mangos and bananas ripening in the grounds.

We relied on Ian's taxi service and didn't bother with car hire. Ian picked us up from the airport and took us out for a couple of sight seeing trips and provided an interesting commentary on island life.

A most enjoyable 6-day stay. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The view and the design of the property
Liked least: Without a car, local food shopping was limited but our taxi from airport stopped at good supermarket en route.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian F
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything we wanted it to be”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Annette’s lovely apartment Greenheart for nine days in March.

We can warmly recommend her place for a couple that wants to relax, enjoy the silence of the Laborie village and appreciates an amazing sunset view!

Even though we never came to meet our host her being in the UK during our stay we always felt very welcome. All the instructions were written with care – from the right beginning of our holiday we felt like we were in good hands!

St. Lucia is a beautiful, very unique island with its own ways and Annette knows this very well. So do follow her directions from for example popping in to the supermarket (and to use the cash machine there!) on the way from the airport.

It’s also worth booking the taxi drive from the airport in before hand to make sure you pay the right amount.

Another thing about the taxis is that even though they are not expensive compared to London prices, where we are based, they are not easily booked with a short notice. Tourists seem to use taxis more for day trips and experiences than just popping out for dinner. (The taxi drivers we met seem to always have interesting stories to tell about the island as well as cold Piton beers in a cooler – so you do get a real tourist guide when booking a day trip from Laborie to for example Anse Chastenet resort’s beach for snorkelling!)

For more casual and adventurous way to get around is the local bus, you can spot numerous minivans speeding around the island. For hopping on, just raise your hand and pay the driver approx. $2 (East Caribbean Dollars).

Greenheart appartment is lovely, very tidy, clean and cosy.

Big thank you to the amazing Evelyne who takes care of everything! She was a big help for us every day and a wonderful person. She is also a great cook who will prepare a dinner for you when requested. During our holiday we had some amazing sea food but none of them as good as Evelyne’s.

Laborie is a friendly, quiet village with beautiful beaches and a few great places to socialize (Mama Tilly’s restaurant! Pop in and book a table for the following night – she will prepare a feast! Do also try the delicious locally made ice cream.)

We really enjoyed our time in St. Lucia and hope to come back one day!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing