We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
115
13
7
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
115
13
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages the main house st lucia open air grounds are beautiful magical place her daughter mosquito net old trees old house sugar cane yoga barn multiple beaches tet paul trail very special place love this place local restaurants
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 139 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2020

You must see this!
This is the most idyllic place ever!!!
We chose it for our honeymoon.
Uta was utterly wonderful/knowledgeable and cooked the most divine meals, so beautifully presented too.
We chose to come here for the REAL St Lucia. Uta is amazing and rescues people/animals without any thought for herself.
She works tirelessly and has done for years.
The place is an honour to her.
We we're even gracious enough to be taken to the ancient Arawak site with cave etchings & ancient washing stones, where we swam through the rivers & swang from the vines once Uta had made the way through the jungle for us with her machte!
We can't wait to go back, be with Uta, Mac the horse ,Chai Chai and the other dogs/cats.
Namste
x

Room tip: Loved Frangapini & the outdoor shower!
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChloeH985
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 13, 2020 via mobile

Uta and Marina made our stay lovely. Our two teen daughters loved the family’s dogs and the short hike to the beach—which we had all to ourselves. We requested dinner and breakfast, and enjoyed both. We met another couple out on the porch and enjoyed hearing about their trip to the island. Our girls love nature and enjoyed that the rooms are quite open (some without windows). This is not for the uptight American tourist who can’t handle the sights, sounds and critters that come w being in the rainforest. We had hummingbirds and little lizards on our porch and heard owls perched outside our open window at night. It was truly an authentic St. Lucia experience.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 6, 2020 via mobile

My husband and I decided to visit the estate as one of our activities on our honeymoon. We went around lunchtime and seemed like we were the only people there not staying on the grounds. We got map and some information at the main house and spent a few hours exploring! It was so much fun seeing the old sugar mill and nature. We found a beach where we had all to ourselves which I don’t recommend going into the water if you find it! Highly recommend spending a couple hours here! I wouldn’t mind spending a few days here either:)

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank alliejustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 25, 2020

We went here for breakfast, which was amazing (sitting on the terrace of an old plantation house with fresh and local ingredients), and then did a self-guided tour of the property including a massive and cool old sugar mill, and two lovely beaches.

It looked like a wonderful place to stay for a few days.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmny69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 18, 2020

This is not Rodney Bay. There are no crowded beaches or hoards of tourists spewing off cruise liners. The accommodation is not sleek and luxurious. However Balenbouche is perfect in every way if you want to get off the beaten track. Our cottage was a delight. Imagine the Inspector’s shack in Death in Paradise. Natural air conditioning, quirky bedroom opening onto verandah, shower built from local stones and pebbles. Verena and Ute are perfect hosts and the old plantation house is beautiful and like stepping back into another age. Breakfast and dinner on the verandah are thoughtfully presented and very tasty. Edward, the security/handyman, loves to talk about St Lucia and all it has to offer and provided us with coconut, almonds and starfruit straight from the trees as he walked with us to the adjoining beaches. I just wish we’d stayed longer.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank BeverleyF113
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews