We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Wonderfully Relaxing”
Review of Balenbouche Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laborie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balenbouche Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Laborie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at Balenbouche for 5 days after spending the first week of our vacation at Crystals about 30 minutes north near Soufriere. We actually honeymooned at Crystals and then got married at Balenbouche. A bit backwards, but it worked beautifully! We had the view, the cool night air, and the great happy hour at Crystals and the calm, relaxation of the Balenbouche Estate.
We loved, loved Balenbouche! The two ladies who were our hosts, Uta and her daughter, Verena, were exceptonal. So calm and charming and competent. They dealt with all my wedding needs (and I had as many as any bride) with such kindness. And the wedding dinner for the six of us in the wedding party was just wonderful.
I am giving Balenbouche a 5 but with the expected warning that it is not for everyone. For us, it was perfect and totally fed my spirit with its lovely grounds. If you want trails on which to meander, benches on which to relax, gorgeous water lilies to photograph, cows and horses to watch frolic (yes, they had frolicking cows!) and fascinating ruins to explore, you’ll love the estate, too. Oh- and I can’t forget the private beach – but with a warning: while the walk to the beach is nice, the beach itself has no shade so be prepared to be hot.
We stayed in the Almond cottage which was more like a glorified camping experience since the kitchen, dining and living areas are all open to the elements – sort of a large porch. The two bedrooms were enclosed and could be locked. The rock shower was very cool (with lots of hot water) but if the wind blew the curtain up, your naked self was exposed to the great outdoors. A bit disconcerting until I figured out how to hold down the curtain with rocks. There are three two-person swings on the porch which we put to good use. Pictures don’t do this cottage justice which is why most people don’t post them. It is not very attractive from the outside but once you enter, it’s very nice – again, sort of like really nice camping. We had 9 people on the porch at one time and it was not crowded; a great place for some casual entertaining.
We were married in front of some old ruins that currently house the tortoises so I tell people we were married in front of the turtle house. That makes me smile.
My favorite memory (other than my wedding ceremony, of course) was sitting on the veranda of the “big house” for breakfast each morning and hearing the local school children sing “We are the World.” That made me smile, too. There is lots to smile about at Balenbouche.

Room Tip: Pictures don't do the Almond Cottage justice. The large porch which is more like an outdoor liv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 95 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Almost invisible from the road side we stumbled on this wonderful old estate on the southwest coast of St Lucia. A beautiful old plantation house, situated in a wonderful garden which contains the remains of a waterwheel sugar cane press and adjoining boiling house and a number of pretty cottages as accommodation. Family run in a very charming way. We came unexpectedly but were treated on a very warm welcome and a delicious lunch. Not far from the international airport and perfectly unique. Nothing like the better known resorts north of Castries, but to my mind much nicer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nickontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My daughter (10), close friend and her sister, and myself took a girls yoga retreat week to stay at Balenbouche. We had a fantastic time. Uta, Verena and David as well as other staff were very helpful. Uta is an incredibly inspiring woman, sitting with us and sharing about her life on the island. Balenbouche has a beautiful rugged natural and historical quality with lots of space for exploring. Our treks around the property included going through the historic ruins of the plantation overgrown with vines and ficus trees, along the stream and to the two beaches to watch the wild surf. From our cabin we enjoyed the calls of frogs and watching the cows roam around under palm trees in the field at sunrise and sunset. There is also a pond with a yoga platform (just large enough for the 4 of us) that was available for our morning yoga. Balenbouche is a bit off the tourist path. As a result we enjoyed also taking local buses to Soufriere and other areas of interest such as the volcanic mud baths close by. I also picked up some unique and well designed tropical jewellery made by Anitajana.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is just something unreal- the visit to the estate was a part of our one day trip around the island.
The place is fantastic, the lady who runs it with her mother seems to be living her dream, the cottages are very unusual and all made from original parts of some old buildings- all recycled :)
Eco freaks will fall in love with it and regular human beings will appreciate it the way it is!
I just can't find the right words to describe it- it a must see when visiting St Lucia!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewe1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

we had a wonderful 2 night stay in Balenbouche Estate in Almond Cottage. The owners (Uta and her daughter Verena) are extremely accommodating and the breakfast on the veranda of the plantation big house is sublime, and so are their home-cooked dinners which are also served on the veranda, at separate tables. It is an intimate tropical outdoor restaurant. 2 days was not enough time to properly explore the estate and the southern part of St Lucia. It's highly reccommended if you are interested in the history and wildlife of the island. The owner's dogs accompany guests to the private beach and lead you round the estate. A romantic setting, also perfect for larger groups and families.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweetwood2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is the place to be if you want the authentique old St Lucia!
We stayed at the banya a massive cottage,1365 square feet with kitchen and a shower in the nature=).
Uta and Verena makes this place even better with there hospitality!
And don't miss out on a tour in the plantation house!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P-Freddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

There are two places you must stay in St Lucia. This is one of them and the other is Crystals. I promise you wont be dissapointed. The views and nature are amazing. Forget about the north of the island. Its no where as good as the south.
The place is great and the hosts are lovely!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laborie
4.7 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
8.1 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
963 reviews
19.5 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#2 of 12 in Castries
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Oasis Marigot
Oasis Marigot
#3 of 4 in Marigot Bay
507 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,281 reviews
8.2 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balenbouche Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balenbouche Estate

Address: Balembouche, Laborie, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Laborie Quarter > Laborie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Laborie
Price Range: $60 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balenbouche Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balenbouche Estate is a Historic Plantation Guesthouse offering several tropical vacation cottages. The 80 acre property includes an expansive park with colonial plantation house, 18th century sugar mill, yoga barn, fruit orchards, lily ponds, nature trails and two secluded beaches just a 5 minute walk away. Balenbouche is not a resort and remains a working organic farm, heritage site, and family residence with a focus on wellness, sustainability and conservation. Our eco-chic accommodations are created from historic structures and sleep between 2 and 6 people, some include kitchens. We prepare breakfast daily, and dinner 2 - 3 times a week by reservation. There is a restaurant within walking distance. Several other St Lucia restaurants as well as a supermarket are a short drive away. We are located 20 minutes from the International airport and 30 minutes from the town of Soufriere, near many of the islands best attractions. Balenbouche is a magical place, a world in itself, popular with artists, photographers, green travelers, wedding couples, honeymooners and families. Our family has owned and managed the estate for three generations. Gradually, the property was transformed into a well known St Lucia attraction, guesthouse and retreat venue. Many of our guests feel very much at home at Balenbouche Estate, and keep returning! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balenbouche Estate Hotel Laborie
Balenbouche Estate St. Lucia/Laborie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing