We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Friendly small village location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Kells hamnavoe
Guests at St Ninians isle & sand tombola
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Scalloway, Mainland, Shetland Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Friendly small village location”
Reviewed October 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Kells is a lovely home and David made us very welcome. Unfortunately the weather was not very kind to us, but we still enjoyed our stay.
I would recommend the apartment for two to four adults as adequate, but it would be a bit cramped if there were more - especially as there is no room for a dining table - but eating out locally in Scalloway is ideal. David was very helpful in advising on amenities in the local area and the walking is wonderful (weather permitting).
All in all, we had a lovely stay and would certainly consider booking there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2017
Thankyou Dennis sorry about our weather and glad you still enjoyed your stay and thankyou for comment on dining table we intend to alter some aspects of kitchen to gain more room for dining table and chairs to add to the present breakfast bar thanks for being great guests. And hope you come again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imran K
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful and homely cottage”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

stayed at this beautiful cottage on our family holiday in Shetland. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and cozy. Very peaceful and close to the main town and all amenities. perfect base to stay and visit all parts of Shetland.welcome pack was very thoughtful and useful. it was just myself ,wife and 2 kids and all enjoyed the place. Had all the facilities needed and very happy with the place,would definitely book again if I visit the shetlands.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2017
Although I was away at the time of Imran & family's visit I was assured by my daughter they were a pleasure to host. a slight problem with wifi although quickly resolved he was very understanding. I am sorry I missed them.and hope to see them again should they return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs Una M
1 review
“Perfect for our needs.”
Reviewed July 29, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The apartment is in a lovely quiet village, just right, so you don't have to drive to far to get to some of the main holiday attractions. It is compact & bijou with all the neccessary amenities, would highly recommend it to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2017
Thankyou Una great that you enjoyed our apartment and hamnavoe and we hope you return. all the best David & Sylvia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2017
Thankyou Andrea you and your husband were so nice & we are very pleased you enjoyed burra Isle and our flat, the sun is shining as I write this.Sylvia and I look forward to seeing you both again in the future thankyou.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lovestogo...
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exremely comfortable, well-equipped accommodation”
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this peaceful location. The accommodation is comfortable and well-laid out with everything we could possibly need, including a most-welcome box of breakfast foods. Hamnavoe Village is delightful and has a shop and post office; you can also buy a good choice of food at a larger shop 4 miles away in Scalloway. The accommodation is conveniently located for exploring all parts of the Shetland Mainland.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2017
Thankyou Alan really pleased you enjoyed our flat and your stay in hamnavoe sorry we didnt meet you both but do hope you return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Ronnies
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely and peaceful holiday, Davie the host was extremly helpful with places to visit etc.”
Reviewed May 6, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The rooms were amazing, with a lovely starter pack of food when we arrived. The flat would easily sleep 6. (with a sofa bed in the living room) The bathroom is huge with plenty of hot water, there is a washing machine for cleaning those clothes when you have been out walking.

The host Davie was friendly and so helpful with ideas on what to visit etc. He is an ex fisherman so knows a lot about the wildlife, which is plentiful. He advised us to visit a restaurant in Lerwick where the seals lay on the rocks. Amazing eating lunch watching them. You can drive and drive and hardly see any cars amazing place.

I would recommend for families, people interested in birds and wildlife AND people who want to go on a fishing holiday.
We will be visiting again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2017
Thankyou Ann,Glad you enjoyed your trip and look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing