We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ffort Raichak
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anaya(Raichak)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveler rating
95
154
56
23
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
154
56
23
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsffort raichakffort suitesswimming poolganga kutirthe rivernice propertygreat weekendbreakfast spreadvisit this placefood is excellentboat ridemodern amenitiesawesome placelarge areahustle bustlescenic beautystar property
Filter
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 345 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Huge property but very poorly maintained. Not even a C of cleanliness. We booked a very pricey deluxe apartment in Ffort suits and came here with big expectations. When we reached the accommodation we were in shock to be welcomed by the dirty dishes lying right outside the door, room full of mosquitoes, none of the window / french window blinds rolled up. Furniture were extremely dirty. Very poorly maintained toilets and stinky towels. We spent half a day figuring out the best in worst rooms. Prices were sky rocketing for food and drinks. We mostly liked it outside the accommodation than inside. We felt trapped in a dirty well and thus cut down our stay from four nights to two nights and returned back to the city. Per their policy there is no refund for early check out. Overall very bad experience. Would never return to this facility again. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank review0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We booked 2 rooms from 17 Dec 2012 to 19 Dec2012 and were quite excited at the external beauty of the property. This excitement was short lived as the rooms/toilets are in need of immediate repair. Running hot water is virtually non existent and when you complain to the staff, they advise you to keep the hot water tap running for a while, but even after 10 minutes there was none. When we complained again were told that the property is a big property and the shortage of hot water is to be expected- Sorry, when we are paying Rs 9000 a night, the least you could expect is some running hot water in the middle of winter.
The first night we discovered that the Toilet had a leak and every time the flush was used there was water all over the floor. Reception sent someone to fix it but the problem persisted throughout our stay. The second room we were given had the Toilet Bowl resting on a brick and camouflaged with some plastic bags.(photographs attached). If that was not bad enough workers on the roof drove us out of the room with this unbearable noise from a jack hammer that was being use the entire day. This is not what we expected for the price we paid. What we expected was a quiet relaxed holiday with clean rooms.
The food was good and the service in the restaurant was good. The Spa treatments were also good, but a bit pricey.
On the whole I would definitely be giving this place a miss only because nothing seems to work including the safe in the room and the electronic credit card payment machines at reception, as well as the door in the room that kept jamming.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The property is very good but service is very poor. Rooms are not maintained properly. There are loose wallpapers, broken light fittings etc.

The food is good at the restaurant.
The spa is very well maintained and the service provided is good.

The cruise service is very good. Only you have to pay extra for small activities (games) which can be included in the price they are taking,

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PPSahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Don't get mixed up, Ffort On the Ganges Villas, The Ffort Raichak and Ffort Raddison Resort Raichak are different properties.
Read On

The concept of Ffort On the Ganges Villas,is that it is run by Ffort Raichak, but is not maintained by them. Reason being, the villas are private property that is leased to the Ffrot for RCI affiliated accommodation and stay.


Eat:
Food here is not the best. The Breads are cold (probably because of the cold weather), and so is every thing else. Leaves you with a congealed palate.
Room Service too is restricted to Snacks, so you have to get to the buffet / A La Carte options at the restaurant near reception.

Sleep:
The only reason I could sleep, is because of SHEER exhaustion. Not the most comfortable beds, and then there are the Giant Mosquitoes.

Room and FacilitiesRoom:
The Rooms are LArge, well, it is a Villa. So you get a Living Room, A Dining Room, A Kitchen A Bed Room and a Bath Room. A the last one will un do all the others.
The place is badly maintained, and stained. And I even had one of the senior staff try to tell me that it was part of the rustic decor!
I changed my room twice and finally after a nights stay, I moved to the near by Ganga Kutir.

The bathrooms are APPALLING. Dirty, and VERY badly kept (if at all)

Since it is a Villa place, you have to walk to you rooms, which, if you are in the property near the reception is walkable, but god help you if you are outside (which could also mean, outside the main gate). SUV's are then the only salvation, because it gets too much to walk.

The property is nice, with an Amphi theatre and a clock tower, land scaled walk ways and gardens. But you have to get indoor at some time, and that is when you need to leave your shoes on.

The rooms is equipped with Air Con, Micro Wave, Kettle, and other essentials. Please remember to carry your toiletries. Those don't come with the room.And those that do - don't use them.
Please carry mosquito repellant. They provide you with Vapor mats, but with the slow service, the mosquitoes have enough time to strike.


Getting there:
It a 2-3 hour drive from the Kolkatta Airport.

What you can Expect :
(+)
The Landscape.
The people are well intentioned and try to help. But then only so much is possible.
(-)
All the above.
You might want to explore the near by Ffort suites, but if those are sold out, particularly during wedding season, then…
Your luggage packed and kept outside your room, if they have another checkin and you are not there to check out.

Recommended:
No. Not unless you are in a mood for adventure and not holiday.

Room Tip: Please check your room before you settle in. They show you something else and give you something else. And be prepared to hop around till night in the quest of a good room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rayne_Mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A little more than an hour's drive from the southern part of Kolkata or, about two and a half hours' drive from the N S C Bose International Airport will take you to this wonderful countryside by the river Ganges. The look of the hotel is that of an old fort with all expected modern amenities available inside. The 'Raj' flavour and rustic riverside expanse add to the unique positioning of the property. The hotel is surrounded by the river on one side and a selective and exclusive neighborhood of villas and cottages on the other. Be it an week-end trip or a business conference or simply enjoying a long vacation, the Ffort Radisson Resort would offer a good experience to cherish.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AsisBandyopadhyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews