We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREENLAND INN DIGHA SUPER”
Review of Greenland Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Digha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenland Inn
Ranked #1 of 59 Digha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata, West Bengal, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREENLAND INN DIGHA SUPER”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was an excellent stay. The food quality was good, room services were prompt & cleanliness was OK. All staff were helpful. The beauty of this hotel is it's open air space connected with 1st floor. The hotel stuffs are very co-operative. Hotel food is also good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soumik_143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    36
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
37
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

i just back today , really happy with the hotel & Service , Silent Open lawn , the main memorable part is Food :) me & my partner happy ,,
one problem i face in bathroom next day they change my room ..
Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant!!!

Room Tip: noise free ,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOAIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The beauty of this hotel is it's open air space connected with 1st floor. Room is of average style but view from its small balcony is excellent. The hotel stuffs are very co-operative. Hotel food is also good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santanug_Kol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Me with 3 of my frnds have visited disha in july 2013 and staying at THE GREENLAND INN. Our experince was horrible because we never face such a disgusted hotel stufs. We have to call them for each half n hour bcoz in our room----- phone, lights are not working. Even rooms are very stuffy and we have to wait for almost half an hour in their dining space at the time of check in as the rooms are not prepared although we have reached 1hr late as per their check in time. At the date of checkout we ask them to allow us for 1/2 hours more to stay in one of the room as there is no further booking and our trains will be in the eve.. They wont allow us to stay and ask for a whole day charge to stay for one hour more. So we have paid the full day charge and stay till eve.And the most interesting thing is at the time of check out they asked us to sign on the bills but those are not that xact amount which we have paid to makemytrip at the time of booking.We are refuse to sign on the bill then they said that they were unable to give the proper bill bcoz of tax benefit issue. WOW!! Great yeah!!!
Just one thing we have found is good in THe GREENLAND INN is their food. Thats all....

Room Tip: Sugegstion: please ask all the stufs to go for a crash course on---"How to handle Customers&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntaheenOpekhha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Based on excellent reviews here we decided to spend our 35 Wedding Anniversary on 12 Aug 13 here at this hotel. We spent 2 nights and 3 days in room the AC Deluxe Room No: 205.

Greenland Inn is a cozy little hotel with nice big lawn located in New Digha next to the Digha Nursing Home and SBI Holiday Home. There is a narrow but dirty road that leads to the hotel from the main road. On the inside to get to the hotel you would need to walk around 30 feet of pebbled walkway which makes so much noise when someone is passing through that it can wake you up if you’re sleeping of having a nap. To me it was more of a nuisance than an asset.

The beach is near about a kilometre from the hotel. There is a narrow path of half a KM, covered with shops and stalls on both side, that leads to the beach. This part of the beach is overcrowded, dirty with litters everywhere and the water brownish. Considering it’s the only beach resort in the State of West Bengal not much has been done by anyone to improve it. The rich of course go to Mandarmini where the beach is clean and the hotel tariff sky high.

Overlooking our rom was the lawn which is really very well maintained and expansive. The room was adequately large with standard furniture. The AC was effective and the bathroom was clean. The LCD TV worked just fine. This is where the good part ends. Now read on….

Much has been said here about the food in this hotel. To me it was quite average and ordinary if you had the normal Bengali dishes. The Chinese preparation was quite disappointing though. The menu is exhaustive and the prices reasonable. Room service was quick though after you placed the order with the front desk there would be quite a few people asking you to repeat the order. In the end between what was ordered and what was delivered sometime differed.

As soon as we entered the room we found cockroaches swarming everywhere. The bed sheet and the pillow cases were dirty and the extra sheet that we requested for had several holes in it. The AC unit outside made a dripping sound perpetually. On a closer examination I discovered it was water dropping on our AC form the AC in the room above. Quite disturbing when you’re trying to sleep.

The cars are arranged by the hotel for local site seeing but they are really expensive. Tata Indigo AC for 4 hours cost us Rs.2000/- and that takes you to spots leading out from Old Digha including Madarmini. The Orissa border side site seeing would cost you another Rs.700/- for only a couple of tourist spots. A pick up and drop to the railway station which is close by cost us Rs.100/- each way.

This could be a very nice place to stay if the hotel management took care of the following deficiencies that were noted during our stay:
1) Cleanliness was a major issue in our room.
2) There are no hooks in the bathroom to hang your clothes.
3) The bathroom mirror is stained.
4) The ceiling of the room and bathroom desperately needs a coat of paint.
5) Cups and plates are old and chipped at the edges.
6) The flask in which tea is served is very very dirty on the outside.
7) Only a dinner spoon is served with your meal which means no knives or forks.
8) Geyser in the bathroom didn’t work.

The best part about the hotel was its staff. From the front desk person Sukhendu to the waiters, everyone had a smile on their face and was genuinely trying to make your stay comfortable under the circumstances. Thanks guys. Only you made it all worthwhile.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajmer, India
Level Contributor
233 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I selected Greenland Inn based on excellent reviews on major travel websites. On reaching Digha I did have to search around for the place as it was not very well known amongst locals. The approach road and area in-front of the main gate was clumsy and untidy-a veritable dust bin of sorts. However when the unattended gates opened, we were in for a great surprise. The excellent layout, wonderful rooms, neat and clean corridors, the landscaped garden, the homely food made to order, literally everything about the place makes you want to come back to it again. The hotel staff were equally cooperative, If one is looking for the sea view then this place will disappoint, but for those looking for peace amidst the cacophony of the teeming masses, this is the place. Travellers however need to place order for the food in advance, a reasonable variety is on offer but raw materials are procured on demand- so no quick fix solutions. However there are quite a few eateries around and at Digha there is no shortage of street food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rajesh-Vizag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel from 8th March 2013 to 11th March 2013. This was an excellent stay. The food quality was good, room services were prompt & cleanliness was OK. All staff were helpful, ever smiling & cordial. Main USP of this hotel was the garden & the entrance covered with pebbles. Only negative is the location, it is a little bit far from the main ghat. But this can easily be set off by the other positives it has. I recommend to book this hotel for a family or couple stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAJOYDEEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Digha hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Dolphin
Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 21 in Digha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santiniketan
Hotel Santiniketan
#3 of 21 in Digha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rohini International Digha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cozzet Hotel New Digha
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rajeet
Hotel Rajeet
#2 of 21 in Digha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Priyadarshi
Hotel Priyadarshi
#12 of 21 in Digha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenland Inn

Property: Greenland Inn
Address: N2 Sector, Plot No 84, Digha 723121, India
Location: India > West Bengal > East Midnapore District > Digha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Digha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Greenland Inn Digha, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing