We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tajpur Nature Camp... Nightmare.. beware..!!!!”
Review of Tajpur Nature Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Digha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tajpur Nature Camp
Ranked #8 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Digha
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Overall the look and feel of the camp is very average, and nothing to be happy about. Don't fall for the highly modified pics of the hotel.. its a trap in disguise. the hotel name "Nature camp" stands tall to the meaning in true sense.. you could feel the nature with all its species inside the room itself... like a wild life safari in the room... you end up sharing your room with cockroaches, leaches, frogs.. and snakes (if u get lucky). It boasts of 5 star service facitlity from the management, they believe in self service kind of arrangements where you dare not ask them another clean bed sheet. There was a typical incidence where there were around 25 cockraches having a gala time in room 7,8 so much so that their privacy was not hampered by us. i would say its an experince of life time where you are so close to nature that u are suffocated. Food is another thing where bhetki tastes like bhola bhetki ( and again you dare not say it).. Mr bapi ( the cook) is a man with an air.. you need to be careful of him .. :P .. nways tajpur itself is a lovely place.. if not the nature camp ;)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank deb b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 63 of 63 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

1. average hotel
2. best location in Tajpur. Beach is nearest to this hotel. And the beach is the only place to visit in this place.
3. rooms are big enough, bathrooms big too.
4. cleanliness could be better, but who cares in sucxh a place!
5. now comes the food. tricky matter. i read the reviews of other fellow travellers and found that some rated it bad to vary bad. frankly, i found it ok. not great, but ok, or may be better than ok. i was not overpriced. may be i bargained hard before checking in; may be the fish prices were down the weekend that i visited (fish prices fluctuate very sharply as all knows). anyway, i got parshe, pomfret and bhetki on the 3 lunches that i took here. and got crabs and chicken for the dinners.
6. overall, nice experience. as this hotel was nearest to the beach, i selected it. however, i did not make any advance bookings and bargained after arriving. got good enough deal on tarrif and food as well. happy.
7. friendly and helpfull staff. but unprofessional. anyway, total experience was good.

Room Tip: the front rooms are better as u can easily call the guys for ur service. those staying at the back c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsubho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

- though it advertises as being the closest to the beach, it is still 200 mts away from it.
- the rooms are extremely shabby, damp. the lights don't work properly. do not know when was the bed sheets washed last. dont be surprised to find a rat or frog in your room or your bathroom
- you could have a community lunch at their dining hall with dogs, cats and if you are lucky snakes too.
- the food is exorbitantly priced for its quantity / quality. a lunch meal of bagda chingri would mean a single piece of chingri, the size of your thumb.
- overall a thoroughly bad experience. we shifted to mandarmani on our second day of the trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MDRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

was kinda disappointing with the service and the cleanness of the rooms, the manager didn't even show up....and got only 10% of what was committed to us, though to be honest the hotel is only needed to sleep..... because the beach and the service at thous small shacks(there are small shacks on the beach that offer you almost every thing, hammocks to relax, great food, fresh fish, they show you the fish before cooking it if you want... and you get chilled beers ) is so freaking awesome that you wouldn't leave the beach to go spend time in the camp... i didn't want to as it not too safe at night after 11pm, i kinda was dragged by my friends back to the room.. other wise would have loved to spend the whole night at the beach...
so in short the resort was very average, but by price reasonable..
but Tajpur rocks , would call it the Goa of Bengal... hammocks , good fresh food, friendly people and chilled beers , and on the top of that the open Bay of Bengal in front of you,,, what more can you ask for :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 2by911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Great place to visit, but try to go in a group of 4 people atleast or else you may get bored, food is excellent, though we opted for the per day per room package which included room along with bed tea, breakfast, lunch, evening snacks and dinner.
The beach is 2 mins walk from the camp, but always carry light as the place is too secluded, avoid strolling in the beach at night.

There is no electricity but there is always a pleasant breeze flowing. They run generator from 6 PM to 6 AM. There are tents as well as rooms available. Tents are a bit stuffy as the jute walls smell a lot.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Soumyajit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Not for a luxury traveller but for the adventurer. Stay in tents, do rock climbing on an artificial wall, do zorbing, enjoy para sailing, rafting & kayaking in sea water, nature walk, play beach volleyball or cricket or football. That too only 200 kms from kolkata.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Anurag S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Digha
5.6 mi away
Hotel Dolphin
Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 22 in Digha
246 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Rohini International Digha
7.0 mi away
Hotel Santiniketan
Hotel Santiniketan
#3 of 22 in Digha
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Bombay Beach Resort
Bombay Beach Resort
#4 of 9 in Mandarmoni
158 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Mandarmoni
7.4 mi away
Cozzet Hotel New Digha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tajpur Nature Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tajpur Nature Camp

Address: Tajpur, Purba Medinipuri, Digha, India
Location: India > West Bengal > East Midnapore District > Digha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Digha
Price Range: $52 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Tajpur Nature Camp Hotel Digha
Tajpur Nature Camp Digha, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing