We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Experience”
Review of Hotel Seagull

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Seagull
Ranked #18 of 62 Digha B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I had a really mixed experience about the hotel, the most dissappointing and harassing moment was during check-in when they told the Famous Online travel portal through which I had booked the hotel hadn't payed them yet and thus I wouldn't be allowed. I was shocked because I have booked many hotels across India through the same portal but never faced such issue before. I had to call the helpdesk of the online booking portal and the hotel's Kolkata office several times and only then after 1 hour I was allowed when the issue was settled between them! However the cottage was good and sea facing view was beautiful. They were also kind enough to allow us to stay for few more hours as our return train was later. You have many reasonable restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahirjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 93 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

My family and I went to digha on march 2013.We usually stay there in hotel sea hawk ,but this time unfortunately we failed to get rooms there suitable to our need.So i began searching on tripadvisor whether there was any other hotel similar to the hotel . Luckily we found this hotel suitable to our needs. Trip advisor had helped me a lot in choosing the best room.
We were happy with our selection of the hotel, but on reaching there ,we were really disappointed as the entrance and the path to the entrance were equally ghastly.We then began to think of our room but the room was really very neat and clean contrary to the exterior building. It contained a fridge and an okay A.C.The most beautiful was the view from the personal balcony,though a part of it was obstructed by a portion of hotel sea hawk.About the location it is only little far from the market and it is really near to the sea.
This hotel is okay but the value is too much . There are economy rooms also but they are as ghastly as the exterior building.Secondly, they do not have a dining hall. They will provide you food in your room but it will be smelly the whole night.The service was not so good but i have seen worse services.Therefore it was a good stay except these difficulties.

Room Tip: The newly made cottages and rooms are good but the price tag is really high!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_Ghosh_Dastidar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The path that led to this hotel and the exterior was enough to get a firm NO from my wife and her friends. It was indeed a tricky situation for me, since the four hour drive from Kolkata and the hectic hotel hunting had already drained us of all energy. Me and my friends had taken a look at the rooms that the hotel was offering us on the 3rd floor. The rooms were quite good in fact, in sharp contrast to its exterior and surroundings.

Our wives finally agreed after they had a look of the rooms much to our relief. There was indeed no way they could have disagreed, The room was quite large, clean, carpeted, with a large and clean toilet. To crown it all, it had a lovely balcony directly overlooking the sea. Food that was served here was also very good and the staff friendly. The hotel is very close to the beach and you can see the sea dashing against the shore without leaving your bed.

Do try and bargain the room rates, we managed to lower it by a good 800 Indian Rupees.

Room Tip: Choose room numbers 303 or 304 for a clear open view from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandan144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed in the room no 314 of the hotel. The walls are damp. blanket was torn with no cover.bed sheet not very clean.
AC makes noise very much. tv remote was not working.whole night loud music at the lawn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Suman Kr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have stayed there 24 – 26th may, 2013. The position is good this has no doubt. But the location is little far from the main market area. It will be hard to stay if you have any old person with you.
You can get proper sea view from the sea facing room but room finishing is not good as they have charged. Most of deluxe / sea facing bed room has window ac that is very noisy & unable to cool the room instantly. Hotel has no restaurant , if you place the order from room they will get it from other nearby restaurant which is bad & equally tasteless. They are not capable to run ac with generator but in this price range of hotel this is obvious to run. Beware! There are maximum hot & humid , also power failure occur heavily.

Room Tip: You should choose a sea view facing room. Non a.c is most avoidable in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank somdasg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The newly built cottages are well equiped. The cottage rooms are
all sea facing and well maintained. Seagull is very near to the sea..
Sitting at Balcony we enjoyed the excellent view of the sea, sunrise
and sunset.. Rooms are modern and big enough, well decorated
with LCD TV, Freeze, AC, Fan, Geyser etc. etc.
We received very good and friendly service from all.

D. & R. Sengupta, Kolkata

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Sonai951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hotel and rooms are really nice , specially sea facing rooms, but clean rooms are very costly in compare to other hotels, cost @ 2800/- per day, (pls fixed discount before hand), i got cheated with the rate! no one change the bed sheet for 2 days, cleaning is there in the room, hotel entrace is very shabby.

Room Tip: double bed room with Rs 1800/- per day (discount to 1650/-) are not clean & good, fittings are b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwarnenduChakraborty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Digha hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dolphin
Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 22 in Digha
249 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rohini International Digha
1.4 mi away
Hotel Santiniketan
Hotel Santiniketan
#5 of 22 in Digha
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cozzet Hotel New Digha
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ranjana
Hotel Ranjana
#10 of 148 in Digha
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Park Residency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seagull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seagull

Address: Barrister Colony, Old Digha, Purba Madinipur, Digha, India
Location: India > West Bengal > East Midnapore District > Digha
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Digha
Price Range: $12 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seagull 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Seagull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Seagull Digha, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing