We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special , you can avoid”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Seagull

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Digha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Seagull
Ranked #11 of 58 Digha B&B and Inns
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing special , you can avoid”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have stayed there 24 – 26th may, 2013. The position is good this has no doubt. But the location is little far from the main market area. It will be hard to stay if you have any old person with you.
You can get proper sea view from the sea facing room but room finishing is not good as they have charged. Most of deluxe / sea facing bed room has window ac that is very noisy & unable to cool the room instantly. Hotel has no restaurant , if you place the order from room they will get it from other nearby restaurant which is bad & equally tasteless. They are not capable to run ac with generator but in this price range of hotel this is obvious to run. Beware! There are maximum hot & humid , also power failure occur heavily.

Room Tip: You should choose a sea view facing room. Non a.c is most avoidable in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank somdasg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    26
    26
    15
    9
See reviews for
60
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The newly built cottages are well equiped. The cottage rooms are
all sea facing and well maintained. Seagull is very near to the sea..
Sitting at Balcony we enjoyed the excellent view of the sea, sunrise
and sunset.. Rooms are modern and big enough, well decorated
with LCD TV, Freeze, AC, Fan, Geyser etc. etc.
We received very good and friendly service from all.

D. & R. Sengupta, Kolkata

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sonai951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hotel and rooms are really nice , specially sea facing rooms, but clean rooms are very costly in compare to other hotels, cost @ 2800/- per day, (pls fixed discount before hand), i got cheated with the rate! no one change the bed sheet for 2 days, cleaning is there in the room, hotel entrace is very shabby.

Room Tip: double bed room with Rs 1800/- per day (discount to 1650/-) are not clean & good, fittings are b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwarnenduChakraborty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My second visit to this hotel clears all my doubts about this hotel..Fantastic view of sea, sunrise/sunset, excellent service, good food, spacious rooms with all possible amenities..what else u can ask for in a place called digha where service and cleanliness are very hard to found in hotels..really in luv wth this hotel and it's ambiance..recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to have a peaceful stay in Digha..A big thumbs up to this one!!

Room Tip: choose newly built cottages..they are fabulous and have great sea-view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arpan_guddu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Digha is one of my favorite place to visit again and again. Last time when I visited Digha I stayed in Hoel Seagull and I selected this hotel due to its lucrative location. I had been booked in newly built cottage which is really awesome! Sitting at verandah I kept my eyes open for a long span and got an immense pleasure. The hotel has got a very good lawn which is also an added advantage. The room was clean and hygienic and quiet OK with split AC, LCD TV etc. The room service is good enough. I really enjoyed my stay.....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank net2subir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I checked in on 25.8.12 at 11.20 am. room no 709 is also called maharani . Room is located on top floor which is under construction. Carpet placed on floor of the room was not mosaic or marble. conditions of the wall (photograph given below) was worst. Under the bed -papers, cigarrate buds etc were found lying. I t seems room was not cleaned for several days.Maintenance of the room was extremely poor. Televison was not LCD it was as old model television. toilet was not cleaned before allotment of the room, only when informed it was cleaned . shower of the toilet.was not functioning properly. considering the above Charge of Rs 2800 per day seems exorbitant. Carpet was found torned on certain places. people should avoid this room or hotel?

Room Tip: Select room no 301. Last time I stayed in this room in Nov 2011. Sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank 846OTHER846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Digha hotels

Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed last week of May, 2012 with family for 3 nights. There are some good and bad experiences:
Good:
1. Location is very good. Very near to sea.
2. Most of the rooms are sea facing and has balcony.
3. AC is good. TV has lot of channels.
4. Has parking place with a small children park.

Bad Experience:
1. Rooms are very small . Walls are very dirty. Never cleaned floor. Stains everywhere, can't see through mirror. Don't feel to touch any thing in the room.
2. No restaurant. You can get food from outside via room service, but according to their timing, not at your timing.
3. In three days, they never changed bed sheets, pillow covers etc. after telling them couple of times. Cleaned the room just once.
4. Paid Rs. 4250/per day, but with these kind of facilities, it should be 1500/day max.
5. Most third class lobby I have ever seen.
6. Unfriendly and unprofessional people in the reception.

Overall, not a good experience in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hirock297586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Digha hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dolphin
Hotel Dolphin
#1 of 21 in Digha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Santiniketan
Hotel Santiniketan
#4 of 21 in Digha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rohini International Digha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cozzet Hotel New Digha
1.8 mi away
Hotel Rajeet
Hotel Rajeet
#2 of 21 in Digha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cosy Inn
Hotel Cosy Inn
#26 of 58 in Digha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seagull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seagull

Property: Hotel Seagull
Address: Barrister Colony, Old Digha, Purba Madinipur, Digha, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Digha
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Digha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Hotel Seagull Digha, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing