We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love at first sight”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mukteshwar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mystic Mukteshwar Lodge
Ranked #1 of 24 Mukteshwar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Mystic lodge was not just an accommodation, it was an experience. If it was not for my job, i would have never left. The lady who owns the place, is amazingly sweet and courteous. We ended up talking to her all the time. The staff makes you feel pampered. They literally gave us a private bonfire right outside our room. Also tea and coffee are on the house. Me and my girlfriend overstuffed ourselves every time we ate. The food was wonderful. TIP: please try the chilli pickle, its sweet and hot.

The lodge is literally a mystical place. Its tucked in a peaceful corner amidst the hills. the sky was clear and filled with stars, also a powercut at night revealed the edge of milky way. The decor and windchimes really take you away from the hustle of city life. If you like dogs, you are in for a real treat. The guard dogs are huge and fuzzy. i could pet them all day. Simply Beautiful Dogs.

Generally speaking, we find a place to go and then look for accommodation. But this is an exception, I think you could visit mukteshwar just to be at this amazing place.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal. if you go in a group than the last room is good as its very close to a hangout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RohanVerma88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 255 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

A small and very pretty boutique hotel, run by Mrs Sharma and her son Vivek, Mystic Mukteshwar provides the comforts and feel of being at home, or an aunt's house. We stayed there many times when our own house was being built close by, and the memories are lasting. Mrs Sharma is a natural genius at growing beautiful plants, and one is amazed by the variety and profusion of flowering and non-flowering - in fact, even fruiting - plants in her pots and planters. And I haven't yet said a word about the food, which is sumptuous and worth staying extra days for. A must if you are visiting the area. Vivek is a storehouse of local information, be it on trekking routes, sights, or the best places to spot a leopard!

Room Tip: The rooms are in a straight line, nothing to differentiate really, but if you want a bit more privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AditMubayi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Picture a Victorian writer describing a quaint, sleepy village in medieval England in one of his novels, the one where people go to reflect, recover and rejuvenate. Stone houses with sloped tin roofs, trees clinging to the precipitous mountain face, billowing smoke, the odd ruminant, an almost forlorn church, small talk at the town square, clouds moving languidly over the valley below as if there’s no other place they’d rather be. Now imagine this in the Himalayan foothills instead of an English county. That’s Mukteshwar.

Mystic Mukteshwar Lodge is a B&B run by a charming lady from Delhi who upped and left for Mukteshwar one fine day 10 years ago and labored to set up this lovely place which comprises of 6 bedrooms, 1 dining, a sit out area, 3 dogs, plenty of plants and a general air of oneness with nature. Whilst there is abundant greenery around with amazing views of lofty Himalayan peaks, what sustains this place is Manju aunty’s love, affection and zest. From the moment you check in, to the moment you wave goodbye, she will keep you enthralled with stories of many lives – her own and of those who have provided anecdotes which can sustain endless coffee fuelled conversations. There isn’t a whole lot to do in Mukteshwar - which one assumes is precisely the kind of holiday that you are looking for given you are reading this page – but this lodge will provide the sort of warm comfort that will keep you engaged even on the dreariest of winter evenings. The rooms are fairly simple, but the rest they will provide will rival the most luxurious of settings you would have stayed in.

A description of this place will not be complete without a mention of the food. Home-like is what’s been repeatedly used to describe it in many of the reviews below and its my lip smacking pleasure to confirm that they are all spot on. Each meal seemed carefully prepared to ensure the guests enjoyed the one thing that most commonly tethers one to home even when thousands of miles away – food. We over ate on almost every occasion which is a testimony to the quality that emanated from the kitchen. You can order tea/coffee as many times as you like, its all on the house, and the staff will ensure they make it to your liking. While we’re on staff, they will literally run to your room every time you press the calling bell and will do their utmost to make your stay a pleasure – definitely one of the best support cast I have come across.

I understand there are treks and trails around which unfortunately we couldn’t go on, although we took a few walks around including the 5 km walk to Mukteshwar which took us through the lovely IVRI forest. Nainital is also about 45 kms (1.5 hour journey by car) and the staff will help arrange a local cab which you can hire for a day tour to Nainital.

It was by accident that we stayed at the Mystic Lodge. We had initially thought of staying at the Mountain Trail (which turns out is next door) but upon reading the owner’s aggressive, almost violent replies to every negative review on Tripadvisor, we decided to look for other options and what a happy accident it turned out to be that we chanced upon this place. We will definitely return and I hope most if not all of those reading this review also get to experience Manju aunty’s hospitality at least once.

Room Tip: Pretty much all six are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bastaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

On reaching MM, the rooms were small but cosy and clean and we thought was this the right choice. But soon, all those doubts disappeared the moment we got to experience first hand the service. Actually, it was more like being 'guests' at someone's home. The staff at the individual level is so attuned to service delivery (and full credit to Manju aunty and Vivek for fostering this culture), that after a point of time, all the fastidious demands (we were travelling with a baby) seemed normal.

The dinner turned our positive feeling about the stay into one that was overwhelming. Now, its a huge politically incorrect statement to make - but actually one of the vegetable was as good if not better than cooked by both mom & wife.

As if the above are not enough, conversations with Manju aunty (and other guests) and her genuine warmth just added to the overall experience. She updated us about the weather, since we had a baby and weather was still unpredictable.

We also liked the the extensively bloomed garden and porch outside each room, where sit outs breakfast while facing the valley and watching the birds peck on bits right in front, while the in- house pets (Tibetan mastiffs) roam around :)

Other mentionables are the well stocked gift shop, the regular beverages (on the house; my fav was the Kawa tea).

I will visit the place again, confident of enjoying the stay and also to meet the wonderful people who run the place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mj_musafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The best part about this place is the food, its so delicious and fresh and feels just like homemade food. The small staff of 4 go out of their place to indulge your every taste. Add to that the owners homemade stash of jams and pickles. The rooms themselves are small but cosy and clean. All in all its a great option to stay in Mukteshwar for a quick weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agupta02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

As they say, "there are somethings money can't buy...for everything else there is...." suits Mystic Mukteshwar Lodge perfectly....besides enchanting beauty of Mukteshwar, spectacular views of nanda devi range, & great weather....what sets apart this place is the amazing hospitality and warmth that Manju Aunty & Vivek Ji extends. not for a moment you feel you are away from home. ever so generous in their disposition, so polite & informative in their conversation...always !!

The food is amazing, the staff is very attentive, rooms are very clean & service is highly efficient.

The decor, flora & fauna of Mystic Mukteshwar is also something to talk about, each & every plant has been taken care of my Manju Aunty so well, beautiful arrangements, plenty of flowers gives a very rustic & homely feel to this place.

I went there with my parents, who were very well taken care of, & loved the place. cant wait to visit again.

A must stay if you are planning to visit Mukteshwar : )

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hepdesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Manju Sharma and Vivek run this boutique hotel to perfection. Surrounded by the most exquisite flower collection it is a green resort with the most amazing views of snow clad mountains. The food is like home food with fresh organic ingredients locally procured. You will never feel away from home since this resort is geared to make you feel 'at home ' with personalized service meeting every small demand with graceful finesse.
We would love to come again and again time permitting. Recommend to anyone for a great homely experience.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Himalayas and all have exotic flowers around
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nammin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mukteshwar hotels
11.7 mi away
Casa Dream - The Resort
Casa Dream - The Resort
#4 of 8 in Mukteshwar
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Robinsson Palace
Hotel Robinsson Palace
#8 of 8 in Mukteshwar
7 reviews
9.9 mi away
Mukteshwar Himalayan Resort
Mukteshwar Himalayan Resort
#8 of 24 in Mukteshwar
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Mountain Trail Resort
Mountain Trail Resort
#6 of 24 in Mukteshwar
265 reviews
10.2 mi away
Frozen Woods - Pura Stays
Frozen Woods - Pura Stays
#5 of 32 in Mukteshwar
127 reviews
6.1 mi away
Trinetra Orchards
Trinetra Orchards
#6 of 32 in Mukteshwar
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Mukteshwar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Mukteshwar Lodge

Address: Village Sarga Khet, Mukteshwar, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Mukteshwar
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Mukteshwar
Price Range: $89 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing