We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place in mist and woods !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mukteshwar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak Chalet
Ranked #3 of 23 Mukteshwar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gurgaon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place in mist and woods !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Oak Chalet is delightful and unspoilt , hidden deep in the woods. You find your self in a reverie surrounded by birdsong and an occasional tinkling cowbell.
The view from the rooms and the garden is breathtaking;,the orchards ,the houses in the valley below ,spires of smoke rising from chimneys can hold you in thrall for a long time.Tried to read a book in the garden but the view was too distracting.
Manoj and Sonia are such wonderful hosts, nothing was too much trouble....our teenage boys requested Manoj for some books,which he very kindly tracked down.Treks ,Stories ,bonfires,night walks in the forest, rappelling down sheer cliff faces,jumping into crystal clear pools,picnics in the woods.....so much care went into organising each day. Their personal attention to all details made all the difference.
The staff Hemraj,Bipin,Bahadur and Vijay Bhaiya were really amazing,churning out wonderful home cooked meals,playing endless games of cricket with the boys.
It will be remembered by all of us , as the boys say, as an epic holiday !!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    22
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
37
14
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Faridabad, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We are just back from an unforgettable family holiday in Oak Chalet in Mukteshwar.

It's part of a dense orchard, which would seem like a dense jungle to urban rats. The rooms are big with windows that open into the hills. But the best thing is: no TV, Wi Fi or Computers. Instead there is a nice library with an interesting collection of books. But the best part is the old fashioned service. There is a kitchen that creates wonderful homemade meals & tea/ coffee/ snacks/ juices are available on demand. The owner, Mr. Manoj Mehra, was away on a trek, so we missed meeting him (next time surely) but his wife, Sonia was there to oversee everything, including being patient with us when we got a bit uptight about the lack of electricity for long hours. But if you really ask me it's a blessing in disguise...nothing like sitting & having dinner by candlelight.

All in all...if you are tired with your urban existence...and would like to experience some days of fresh mountain air, putting your feet up, amidst old fashioned unobtrusive hospitality...look no further...take my word for it & call Oak Chalet now.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank vineetvishnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

That's what it feels like at Oak Chalet, as you sit on the window ledge and drink in the moonlight. Apart from the soft rustle of the leaves as the wind swooshes past, chirping crickets, a couple of frogs crooning away, and birds that burst into song at unexpected times, there's little else to give you company. And that's all you will need, too.

Sitting pretty amidst thick foliage, it takes a 15 minute mini-trek through the forest to reach the property from the main road. The first thing that hits you upon reaching Oak Chalet is the magical vista that it offers. And you never get tired of it, either!

Our superb host Sonia, Hemu, Bipin (and anyone else behind the scenes) made our stay as comfortable as possible - we were treated like a part of the family! The food's excellent, even the harshest critic would smile meekly as he gorged on the likes of Barbequed Chicken, Malai Panneer, fluffly Phulkas, and hot Gulab Jamuns. Post such a spread, all you would want to do is to trudge back unwillingly to your room, and rest.

And what a room it is. The main attraction of the rooms - large French windows that gave a gaspingly beautiful view of the splendid world outside. We spent the bulk of our non-trekking and non-eating time sitting by that ledge, staring out into nothingness. As we were lucky enough to be there in time for the Full moon, we discovered a new hobby - stalk the moon. We followed it from its rise to its disappearance above our room. The rooms have a minimalist theme - a double bed (extra beds if you need 'em), a cupboard, a couple of lamps, a coffee table, and an attached bathroom with hot running water at all times!

Not only are Sonia and co. forthcoming about what to see/do, but, Bipin/Hemu accompanied us to any trek we went (on the longer treks, they build a campfire to cook food out in the open!). As they belong to the Kumaon region, they had a wealth of knowledge that they were only too happy to share. Apart from trekking, there are also a variety of games and books at the property - we spent a good time getting beaten by the local talent at Carrom. We missed meeting Manoj by a few hours, and that's an added incentive for us to go back there soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itchyfeetshutterhug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

its been very rejuvenating experience.........one must have...we stayed here for 2 nights & its beautiful place where you feel like home.......rooms are spacious..clean & comfortable...food is the most appealing aspect for this place...thanks to our cook hemu....this is my first tripadvisor review so i wont say so many things....but anybody who wants to just wants to being in nature & pampering self then this the place you must go.......sonia the owner of this property is the excellent in all her efforts ......thanks sonia & manoj...i really wanna see you again sometime very soon......

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abhiagra81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

My wife having traveled to Mukteshwar last year with her girlfriends was keen that we do a trip together to Mukteshwar. I checked on Tripadvisor and going by the ratings it had received, decided to go ahead with this property. I saw the pictures and immediately fell in love with this place. I called up their number & spoke to Manoj (Owner). He was very prompt and patient with my queries. I knew at that very instance that I am going to Oak Chalet for my holidays.

However I did have a few apprehensions,
1) The rooms didn't have a TV
2) There is no WIFI (Normal 2G data of your phones work effortlessly & the network reception was excellent throughout)
3) The website didn't carry any image of the washrooms
4) One of the reasons to go ahead with this booking was after talking to Manoj who was so patient and soft spoken. However closer to date of arrival we learnt that he was leading a group of American students for a trek to Pindari Glacier. (This is also on my wishlist)
5) Last but not the least, the rooms have no FAN.

Because of the above apprehensions, although we had 6 days in hand, we booked only for 3 days as we wanted to ensure that our holiday wasn't wasted.

All my silly doubts were laid to rest one after the other as we started from our home for Oak Chalet, Mukteshwar. We flew from Mumbai to Delhi. Delhi was scorching at 43 degrees C. From Delhi the best option is yo take a train from Anand Vihar in Ghaziabad to Kathgodam (Preferably First Class or other AC categories). However unfortunately my waiting list didn't come thru. I rang up Manoj's cell and it was answered by Sonia (Manoj's spouse). She not only arranged a AC Innova from Delhi to Oak Chalet at a very economical value but also kept calling us every couple of hours to ensure we were comfortable.

The vehicle drops you at Kilmora shop from where you have to walk a bit to reach Oak Chalet. The guys at Oak Chalet carried our luggage while Sonia who had come to receive us at Kilmora shop instantly made us comfortable with her warmth and humor.

Once you reach Mukteshwar, you realise the temperature has changed drastically. Even at 12 in the noon the weather is so pleasant. I never missed not having a fan in the room at any time during our stay. Not having a TV in the room was a blessing in disguise. It gave us opportunity to have more fun planning small treks in the evening, playing board games, cards or reading from quite a collection of books in the Dining area. The washrooms are big and spacious and they have hot water running since the water otherwise is very cold.

If you are into photography like I am, you can capture so many species of beautiful birds or panoramic vistas just sitting by the large windows of your room. It was a welcome change to wake up to melodious chirping of the birds and open your eyes to magnificent views from the room. ( I am already missing it as I am writing this review)

The concept of a common dining area is excellent and is a wonderful way to meet new people and exchange thoughts as well as travel experiences. Since Oak Chalet has only 4 rooms and couple of tents, one doesn't have to worry about it getting too crowded. If you are not particularly in a mood to make new friends, you can always have your meal separately at one of the many spots with beautiful views in the property.

Hemu, Baban & Pramod (Kitchen & Support staff) were more than eager to fulfill all our wishes be it culinary or otherwise. We had bonfire and barbecue twice during our stay. The rooms are beautiful, clean, spacious and quiet. You have to see the stone walls beautifully complimented with wooden roof as well as wooden floors with a fantastic combination of large glass windows in person to truly understand the beauty of Oak Chalet. All this was more than enough for us to extend our stay for 6 days at the Oak Chalet.

Sonia was not only a host, she was a friend to us. She went above and beyond to make our holiday week run as smoothly and as stress free as she could. She went out of her way to make us feel welcome and at home. We were so at ease and spoilt by the hospitality of Sonia and her team. Sonia was the perfect host; knowledgeable, friendly and approachable and has the knack of being there when you need her but leaves you to enjoy yourselves.

We are still racking our brains wondering how on earth we can truly thank you for everything you did for us. Just know we are so grateful for everything and we absolutely cannot wait to come back to Oak Chalet in December this year.

Room Tip: Rooms on both the levels offer excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GN1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

The perfect retreat

The lovely Oak Chalet is a cosy four-room hillside cabin tucked among the Kumaon hills of Mukteshwar. Overlooking a vast valley, and flanked by the local horticultural institute's lush reserve, the chalet is the perfect getaway for hill-bound travellers.

Located literally off the beaten track, Oak Chalet is a 10 minute walk from the closest motorable road, affording just the sense of peace and seclusion we were longing for.

The rooms were capacious and comfortable, exuding an old-world charm with their wooden beams and sloping roofs. Fragrant hill breeze wafted in through the windows that lined one side of the room, and each morning we awoke to a picture-postcard view of sunlight bathing the emerald valley below. Large double-beds and a roomy cupboard furnished them. The adjoining bathrooms were huge and had running hot water.

The food -- light, home-cooked and delicious -- was another major plus. Plates of steaming pakoras and a hearty bonfire awaited us on our first evening. And a barbecue on the second one. The staff supplied enough cups of coffee and Indian chai to slake an army.

The outstanding hospitality of proprietor Sonia Mehra and her wonderful staff Hemu, Bipin, and Pramod, was another highlight of the trip. Up at the crack of dawn to guide us along the trails that snaked across the hills, tracing constellations across Mukteshwar's clear night sky, revealing titbits about the local culture, they were warm, attentive and delightful hosts.

I came down with a sore throat on the second day of our visit, and craving some relief, requested the kitchen staff to make me warm honey-ginger-lemon tea. They patiently provided glass after glass as the day wore on, and by that night, my throat felt clean as a whistle.

Two idyllic days flew by quickly, and before we knew it, it was time to go home. Nevertheless, as our cab was pulled away I vowed to come back for more, and next time for at least a week, as two days are hardly enough to soak in the serenity of this stunning retreat.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank shruti2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were a group of five from Delhi looking for some mountain charm. And what a great place to find it. The Oak Chalet is perched on the edge of a mountain with a beautiful view of the valley. There is no noise, no traffic, and absolutely nothing to disturb you. To make it even better, the rooms are tastefully done, very clean and not dingy at all. Sunlight streams through the big windows in each room. Even the washrooms are BIG, clean and you will never run out of shelf space!

But the best part about this place are the people who run it. While we didnt get a chance to meet Manoj, Soniya and everyone else at the place made our stay warm and wonderful. The food is great, there is enough adrak chai to keep your spirits high, and a well-stocked library to make sure you never run out of things to read. There are a number of trails nearby and all of them are always willing to take out the time and show you around.

I'd recommend this place to anyone looking to get away for a few days, alone, with friends or with family. Thank you to everyone there for a great weekend. I'm sure we'll be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 66PragyaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mukteshwar
3.7 mi away
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
#1 of 1 in Dhanachuli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
7.1 mi away
Soulitude in the Himalayas
1.9 mi away
Mountain Trail Resort
Mountain Trail Resort
#4 of 23 in Mukteshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mukteshwar Himalayan Resort
Mukteshwar Himalayan Resort
#6 of 23 in Mukteshwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.9 mi away
Frozen Woods - Pura Stays
Frozen Woods - Pura Stays
#3 of 25 in Mukteshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
6.4 mi away
Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Chalet

Property: Oak Chalet
Address: Gahana Orchard | Sargakhet, Mukteshwar 263132, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Mukteshwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mukteshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PLEASE NOTE PRICES QUOTED INCLUDE ALL MEALS, SNACKS,BONFIRE, BARBECUE AND ACTIVITIES. Oak Chalet is open all year round, each season brings its own beauty to these natural surroundings. Oak Chalet is a fine example of the blend of traditional and modern craft. It was built by local artisans in the fast disappearing arts of traditional Kumaoni masonry and carpentry. Oak Chalet's double bedrooms are spacious and comfortable, each with its own private bathroom and entrance. Oak Chalet also offers three double luxury jungle tents for the more adventurous. Each bedroom has vast bay windows which overlook the Gahana Valley and its terraced fields and orchards. In the local language, "Gahana" means "Jewel". From the comfort of your own room, you can experience sunrise and the clear night sky over the ridges and ravines. Panoramic views of the Himalayan peaks of Trishul, Nanda Devi and Panchachuli, considered by many to be the best in Uttaranchal, are only minutes away.Oak Chalet has a large dining and sitting room where you can take your meals and share your experiences with fellow travelers. You may, however, prefer Oak Chalet's outdoor barbecue and camp fire. Oak Chalet's library has reading material ranging from local and natural history to Indian literature and philosophy. There is also a selection of games including a carrom board. The peaceful surroundings at Oak Chalet make it a perfect setting for yoga and meditation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing