We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again and again”
Review of Sitla Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mukteshwar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sitla Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Delhi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Again and again”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

After almost 16 visits to Sitla estate and innumerable memories finally compelled to write about Sitla. This was promoted by our stay in vikrams new wing of rooms. Being pretty resistant to change we had never really considered staying in the new wing because we felt that the charm of the old wing with its vintage rustic feel could not be recreated. Happily Vikram has proved us wrong by actually creating the whole charm while taking the luxury to a new level. Better spaces and amenities with the quintessential Sitla feel and Vikrams personal touch endears endlessly. The food at Sitla estate definitely deserves a mention with extremely delicious and brilliant food served with a really personal touch. Episodes of overeating and failed promises to not repeat it the next nights lie witness to the brilliance of the whole dining experience. The sitla experience almost always begins with arriving in typical delhi-esque frenzy and slowly melting into nothingness to do. just amazing, Scrabble, some slowly Amarone and doing nothing mostly forms the day, an occasional walk help with brilliant short jungle walks. Highly recommended and looking forward to 16 more.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank SumeetNathDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    19
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
64
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Recuperate in the best way possible with excellent meals, a view of distant mountains, and closer of hills, all while you yourself sit lazily under plum laden branches, drinking excellent coffee, reading and chatting with other guests. The hugely enjoyable meals are consumed guilt free, because you know you're going for that long, hill walk. Charming property with an equally charming owner. It's best to go with friends or family though because it can be a little lonely for a single. Plus the tales of leopards told by the villagers make you look fearfully behind you as you march through the forest. Best not done alone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalpanaa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Sitla Estate is one of the best kept secrets of Uttarkhand. This charming 150 year old property is run as a boutique resort. My husband and I stayed in one of the new rooms but all the rooms of the estate have got some breathtaking views of the mountains and are very tastefully designed.
Watching the sunrise from our bed was our morning treat. The welcome and hospitality was warm as the owner Vikram Mair played the perfect host. All our meals were delicious, ingredients freshly picked from the estates garden. Lunch is usually served on the terrace under the plum trees.
Chicken Dosa for breakfast was very interesting.The staff here were very courteous and friendly.

I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for some fresh air ,relaxation and great food. I am looking forward to my next visit!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Atreyee304551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I almost don't want to write this review because I want to keep the Sitla Estate a hidden gem, but, I would be doing a disservice to all nature lovers and people seeking the perfect getaway from the ordinary.
We spent 4 nights here in March and were awed by the views, clean mountain air, meandering walks through the forest and the divine gourmet cuisine russeled up by the staff. Our host Vikram Maira, and his team are courteous, affable and always ready to lend a helping hand. This is my 5th trip back and I will continue to make the journey to Sitla estate at any given moment.

Room Tip: Room number 12. Get it if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magellan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I really enjoyed staying in this lovely place. The experience is more akin to being a house guest of the utterly charming owner. The views from the terrace are stunning and the food was extremely good. All the rooms have wood-burning stoves which were lit during dinner, but it would have been nicer if they had been lit earlier in the evening. A hot water bottle in the bed would also have been very welcome.

Room Tip: Rooms in the original house are characterful, less adventurous souls will prefer the recently built...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizaMAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Sitla is quite a drive from anywhere... but, once you get there it is all worth it! The distant views of the Himalayas are quite breathtaking. The old lodge is charming and the host really attentive and keen to please, with wonderful food. The new bedrooms he has built below the lodge are well equipped, if a little on the cold side! We found ourselves collecting firewood to light in the wood burning stoves! They were lit while we had dinner, but it would be a good idea to have them lit earlier in the evening. However that is a very small minus. The breakfasts were particularly good. We took two lovely long walks with wonderful views and much enjoyed the country life we witnessed. Go! Its wonderful.

Room Tip: Definitely have one of the new rooms. The rooms in the old lodge are old....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Sitla Estate is ideal for doing nothing. If you so choose. Or do a lot if you so choose.

To do nothing, explore their library and sit with a book (by the fire, if it's winter). Or sit in the lawns and gaze at the mountains. And practice eating slowly. They serve excellent lunches and dinners. If you have Vikram himself at the Estate, he is sure to thrill you with his culinary skills.

To do a lot, go for many walks. We tried a walk up to Muktheswar Temple. And a walk down the valley to meet some streams and villagers! There are some good local handicrafts and cloth shops close by too for shopping.

The cottages are well maintained and will keep you cozy as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajesh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mukteshwar
6.7 mi away
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
#1 of 1 in Dhanachuli
142 reviews
7.1 mi away
Soulitude in the Himalayas
3.4 mi away
Mountain Trail Resort
Mountain Trail Resort
#4 of 25 in Mukteshwar
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows
4.5 mi away
The Swiss Village Resort
The Swiss Village Resort
#19 of 31 in Mukteshwar
3 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mukteshwar Himalayan Resort
Mukteshwar Himalayan Resort
#7 of 25 in Mukteshwar
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sitla Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sitla Estate

Property: Sitla Estate
Address: Vikram malra, Mukteshwar 263138, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Mukteshwar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Mukteshwar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing