We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! Quirky, but very good!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sitla Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mukteshwar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sitla Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wow! Quirky, but very good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I really enjoyed staying in this lovely place. The experience is more akin to being a house guest of the utterly charming owner. The views from the terrace are stunning and the food was extremely good. All the rooms have wood-burning stoves which were lit during dinner, but it would have been nicer if they had been lit earlier in the evening. A hot water bottle in the bed would also have been very welcome.

Room Tip: Rooms in the original house are characterful, less adventurous souls will prefer the recently built...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizaMAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    19
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
61
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Sitla is quite a drive from anywhere... but, once you get there it is all worth it! The distant views of the Himalayas are quite breathtaking. The old lodge is charming and the host really attentive and keen to please, with wonderful food. The new bedrooms he has built below the lodge are well equipped, if a little on the cold side! We found ourselves collecting firewood to light in the wood burning stoves! They were lit while we had dinner, but it would be a good idea to have them lit earlier in the evening. However that is a very small minus. The breakfasts were particularly good. We took two lovely long walks with wonderful views and much enjoyed the country life we witnessed. Go! Its wonderful.

Room Tip: Definitely have one of the new rooms. The rooms in the old lodge are old....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Sitla Estate is ideal for doing nothing. If you so choose. Or do a lot if you so choose.

To do nothing, explore their library and sit with a book (by the fire, if it's winter). Or sit in the lawns and gaze at the mountains. And practice eating slowly. They serve excellent lunches and dinners. If you have Vikram himself at the Estate, he is sure to thrill you with his culinary skills.

To do a lot, go for many walks. We tried a walk up to Muktheswar Temple. And a walk down the valley to meet some streams and villagers! There are some good local handicrafts and cloth shops close by too for shopping.

The cottages are well maintained and will keep you cozy as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajesh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stumbled across Sitla Estate looking for “off beat places in Kumaon.

This was in Year 2005, ever since we have been making at least a couple of trips a year and don’t seem to think of going to any other place in the Kumaon Hills. It is like a second home for us.
From the Rustic rooms, when we went the first time .. to the new rooms would give any 5Star property a run for it’s money with still leaving that rustic feel !!
This is a place for me to unwind.. Read books, Birding watching, board games, Yoga, meditation and the best (what I like) soak in the sun with fresh mountain air … IT IS HEAVENLY.
The Entire mountain range in front of you … Nanda Devi, Panchachuli, Trishul to name a few… The massive mountains are a delight to watch .. A picture postcard awaits you..
The famous Jungle walk or the walk to Mukhteswar for people who would like to rough it out a bit.
Strangely enough, this place is Kids friendly with loads of games, unlimited food and 2 lovely dogs to play with !!
Possibility of running into a Leopard, Deer , Fox is quite high and the sounds coming out of the Jungle leaves you mesmerized.
Set amidst an Apple Orchard, with Plum, Pears, Orange trees .. This place is for all seasons, even during the monsoons.. it has it’s own beauty.
Least but not the last … THE HOST… Vikram, is a very charming and a delightful person .. doesn’t end here , an excellent cook . Being a foodie, look forward to the meals.. Breakfast is great, Lunch is generally Vegetarian… with Khow Suey, Oven made Pizzas to die for .. Dinner is Non Veg which is amazing ..cannot be explained in words and one has to experience.
Vikram, also organizes Ladhak safaris, Various interesting treks and are managed the way as the estate … Comforting with clockwork precision
Evenings spent with Friends (made many friends .. for life ) from all walks of life.. who you may have met for the first time and a Single Malt ….. Life cannot be better !!
Thanks .. Vikram to make us a part of Sitla … A MUST GO

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VikramDhillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Many articulate lovers of nature have failed to describe precisely the allure of Sitla Estate in words. For those fortunate to have been repeat visitors, the estate is an old friend and the world is divided broadly into Sitla people and non Sitla people.
I who have experienced its charms often, know that the desire to visit can come suddenly, like a calling, into a world old fashioned and young , unhurried and courteous , one of forgotten peace and plenty and that the spell lasts weeks after your return.
Now, at 50, perhaps more conscious of the hereafter than before , I feel the need to share what was once Kumaon’s best kept secret with other travelers in the hope of earning some karmic points.
At 7000 feet the lodge is set in 40 acres of rolling orchards that run into dense forests of pine, oak, rhododendron and deodhar interspersed with streams and waterfalls, on different visits I have seen sambhar, barking deer, pine marten , fox, wild boar and leopard . Do ask the host Vikram to accompany you on a jungle walk. His knowledge of nature and wildlife is a treat. ( Don’t forget that this is Jim Corbett country )
Try the new rooms, they are gorgeous and you will get the feeling of being part of the forest . A steam kettle with tea and coffee options is available in the room. The décor is tasteful, at one with the surroundings, There are large windows and in some cases a terrace to sit in. The showers are great and on a clear day the timeless Nanda Devi massif looms imposingly in company with other leviathans like Trishul and Panchchauli. Sit and watch them with some tea and a book and let the world go about its business without you for a while.
The host is a first rate cook and therefore the food is excellent and sometimes when he is really in the mood even exceptional, lunch is usually vegetarian and dinner non vegetarian. Dinners could be Indian western or oriental and either served course- wise or as a buffet. The staff is well trained, unfailingly polite and accommodating.
What else ?
Try the walking trails which are stunning and unspoilt , the long and short walks to Mukhteswar are a must. Take short drives towards Mukhteswar again or Hartola and slightly longer ones to Almora , Ranikhet, Jageshwar and Nainital.
Bring out the drinks at twilight (an old malt won’t be out of place and never lets you down ) sit with other guests and Vikram on the large main terrace under the stars and just talk, maybe play dumb charades or a board game. An outstanding feature of Sitla that I have loved is the interaction with fellow visitors who have often come from the far side of the world , somehow it is just that kind of place. Sitla revives the dying art of conversation in a world where we mostly press keypads to communicate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OmerGurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I like to think that I was one of the very early people to have discovered Sitla Estate over 10 years ago. From our first visit, when there was no hot water on tap and no electricity back up, to now when the new rooms are as swanky as can be, I have always loved Sitla. Something magical exists in these acres of land..something more than the famed cuisine or the 180 degree views of the Himalayas or even the ancient tree which so many travellers write about. I can't put my finger on it but I know I invariably come back to my very stressful city life ready for another few months of toil.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miraNewDelhi_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had a fabulous holiday for 4 days over New years. The host Vikram Maira, and the staff were very friendly and extremely hospitable. The estate is so well located that we could trek everyday , one day to Mukhteshwar and also an organised jungle work. The rooms were new, very clean and offer an interrupted view of the Himalayas. Enjoyed the moon rise over 3 days, an experience we have never had before. It was truly spectacular. The highlight for me was definitely the food- excellent home cooked scrumptious food which we totally enjoyed! Thank you for a lovely few days . Will def try and go back . Also very kids friendly ;-)

Room Tip: All the new rooms have a fabulous mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sholeen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mukteshwar
6.7 mi away
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
#1 of 1 in Dhanachuli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
7.1 mi away
Soulitude in the Himalayas
1.6 mi away
Cottage Nirvana
Cottage Nirvana
#2 of 25 in Mukteshwar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mountain Trail Resort
Mountain Trail Resort
#4 of 23 in Mukteshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
5.9 mi away
Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows
0.9 mi away
Frozen Woods - Pura Stays
Frozen Woods - Pura Stays
#3 of 25 in Mukteshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sitla Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sitla Estate

Property: Sitla Estate
Address: Vikram malra, Mukteshwar 263138, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Mukteshwar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Mukteshwar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing