We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great place to stay if you're visiting mukteshwar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Trail Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Trail Resort
Ranked #4 of 23 Mukteshwar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
mumbai
1 review
“a great place to stay if you're visiting mukteshwar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

our stay at MT was a short one, as we were looking to check out mukteshwar for a more leisurly future trip.
its a beautiful place, lush with all kind of flowers and the great views across the property.
the staff, especially the manager was really helpful and good. My wife left behind her jewellery and on our way to corbett, the manager called us to ask if we'd left something behind. Later, they couriered it to us. Thank you very much.
Food is good, on the lavish side, but very delicious. I was wondering about the availability of local + plain food, especially if one were to stay there for a week or more...but since we had just one day, i didn't ask...my fault.
premises are well done, and beautifully manicured.
romms are well done, but they don't stand up to the great food or even greater premises.
all in all a great place to stay, and i would certainly recommend it to anybody and everybody.
I am adding couple of pictures that i clicked in a hurry while leaving the premises...they will give you an idea of just how beautiful the gardens are.
regards,
anurag

Stayed June 2009
Helpful?
Thank 2069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    74
    13
    3
    12
See reviews for
134
36
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2009

I was looking for a hotel which is decent and a off the tourist map and this gem fits in perfectly. Situated at Sargakhet about 5 km from Mukteshwar the property is worth every penny. The location is excellent, beds are comfy, staff always willing to go extra mile for your needs and with owner, Mr Gupta being around nothing can go wrong. Don't expect luxury but if you are looking for a mid range accommodation with decent acco and great homely food and away from 'hill station' crowd then this place is definitely for you. We stayed 4 days here and loved every minute of it. It's not a drawback but you have to be communicative about your needs sometims as the staff are not trained professional but locals who are willing to do virtually 'anything' you want. Last but not least, this place doesn't have TV (a bilss) so go with your loved ones to spend quality time amongst yourselves.

  • Liked — Location and Personalised Service
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abinashjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

The hotel has a great view of the snowpeaks (Nanda devi) and valleys around Mukteshwar. Of course in Himalayas the best time to see snowpeaks is Nov-March You also get a great view of the sunrise right from the hotel. Since the hotel is located on the ridge I could walk about 100 meters and see the sunset in the evening. There is a lot of terrace farming around Mukteswar and sunset view point is on a terraced fruit orchard. It is a small hotel (12 rooms) but beautifully landscaped with rose bushes and several fruit treees. The food in the hotel was quite good. It also has a small chocolate shop. The room and the bathroom were clean and spacious, though the hot water came for limited time.

  • Liked — Location and the view
  • Disliked — bugs that wandered in the room from time to time
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajivrunu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

This resort is located in the very heart of nature. Without much civilzation around, except for a couple of other hotels. What was most attractive to me about the hotel was that its environment-friendly, and at the same time didnt lack any necessities. Its quaint cottage structure didn't stick out like a sore thumb on the mountain side.
There were beautiful flower lined pathways, and fruit laden trees. since it is located on the ridge of the mountain, one can view the sunrise on the mountains right outside the rooms, and the sunset is only a short walk away.
The small size of the hotel and friendly staff made our stay very enjoyable. And to entertain those easily bored teenagers [like my borther] they have a game room and a well-stocked library. There is also a play area for younger children.
Over-all I had a very enjoyable stay, and I really appreciated the peace and quiet, which I didnt get in Nainital.

  • Liked — Beautiful location
  • Disliked — Insects!
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SA19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

i had a fantastic time at the resort...it was very refreshing...the quite scenic place is just what a wanted after a long stressed out time in delhi...the view is absolutely beautiful and the service is gr8...

  • Liked — Very comfortable
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank satindawar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

This rsort was an experience which we were not prepared for.... amidst pure jungle comes this resort with a fresh air of warmth and great set of staff members and one of the greatest chocolate house, yes, chocolate house...i have never ever tasted chocolate better than the one produced in this hotel by the hotel owner and his wife..... the chocolate fudge is ready to beat the best in the world.... the service with a smile was like a patent of this resort. The only drawback was the room facilities which were not particularly great but going by the rest of the aura of the place, we were happy to forget and forgive the little drawback of the place..., i recommend this place hugely to all....

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Promila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2009

Great place.
Neat and clean
Independent cottages.
Quite place.
Nice quaint library.
Is a bit of a distance from Mukteshwar so it makes sense to have your own vehicle.
Food isnt gourmet but is good enough.
MUST VISIT - Sunset point behind the hotel and have herbal tea and organic pakodas at Madhuban , and a long chat with the prop Mr. Bisht,
Muketshwar is a amazing place very peaceful . The view from the Govt guest house is spellbinding. There is a quaint temple with a Begali "baba" whos always smiling. The post office is a absolute delight , one of the prettiest ive ever come across.

  • Liked — Location and that its peacful
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sameerbarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mukteshwar
5.6 mi away
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
#1 of 1 in Dhanachuli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Robinsson Palace
Hotel Robinsson Palace
#7 of 8 in Mukteshwar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aamari Resorts
Aamari Resorts
#2 of 4 in Ramgarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Frozen Woods - Pura Stays
Frozen Woods - Pura Stays
#3 of 25 in Mukteshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mukteshwar Himalayan Resort
Mukteshwar Himalayan Resort
#6 of 23 in Mukteshwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
6.1 mi away
Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Trail Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Trail Resort

Property: Mountain Trail Resort
Address: Sargakhet | Distt. Nainital, Mukteshwar 263132, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Mukteshwar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mukteshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Trail Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valley View Rooms set amidst a thick, lush green fruit orchard & flower beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mountain Trail Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing