We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Trail Resort
Ranked #4 of 24 Mukteshwar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Good staff,service,quite,neat and clean place, i think this place is not for kids.but this is one of the best place for couple or for honeymoon.Lovely weather.when i came back from mukteshwar definitely i recommend this resort to my friends.such a lovely place and comfortable environment.The view of sunrise from the rooms was awesome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarita1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    74
    13
    3
    12
See reviews for
138
36
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just came back from Mukteshwar and would definitely recommend this resort to anyone, the staff is simply awesome, they would go an extra mile for your comfort. Special recommendation to Bharat and Amit, Bharat the manager drove our vehicle for around 6-7 K.M. in heavy snow to get us on the highway also he traveled back on foot in that heavy snow back to the resort and checked on us via phone that are we safely on our way. The staff arranged for a medicine by traveling on foot 5 km in heavy snowfall for our kids. Amit too was a great help in arranging things. There is no TV in the rooms which is a great thing as because of this our group bonding was great. We enjoyed the weather and the environment fully. There is TT table, foosball, dart game and carom for time pass. The kids can enjoy in the small park they have which has a tri-cyle and a slide and a sea-saw and a swing. The only problem is electricity which is a bit difficult to arrange as a back up in extreme cold and snowing environment. Also some feet away there is a sun set and sunrise point which is a good spot. The only thing is as this is an offbeat location so things are difficult to arrange. Still staff arranged Gulabjamun for us as a special request.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vibhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel was very comfortable and cosy with easy access to everything. The measures taken to conserve the environment, which is the need of the hour, are appreciable and encourage everyone visiting the hotel to become eco friendly. The location was excellent. The view of sunrise from the rooms and the machan was magnificent. When the sky was clear, we could see the snow clad Himalayan mountains right from the hotel! The service was good and everybody took care of our special demands- be it the less masala food or the lukewarm milk. Our recreation was also taken care of by the library and the club. Being with nature in a nature friendly place was really relaxing. It was a well deserved vacation after a long time of hard work.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sakyasankarguha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Season: I traveled to this place in starting of feb for 2 nights stay. Overall it was a good stay but I guess best season to travel would be June/July when flowers & fruit orchards are there. In this season there was no greenery at all. We were hoping to get snow fall on our stay but bad luck :( that the day we left for delhi...it seems there was a snowfall in mukteshwar .
Resort/Property: The property is very huge and clean. Rooms are good in size and also the garden. There is a lot of place inside resort where you can just sit down have a cup of tea and relax and enjoy scenic beauty. In evening you can lit the bonfire and enjoy. But don't plan to take dinner in the fireplace area as that is open place and you may find lots of cats trying to have your piece of chicken :) But its a good place to enjoy your drinks/ starters/music etc.
Food:Food is very basic/homemade types but its yumm. I had one of the best chicken kali mirch there. Soups were not very great but rest of the food was good. And the best part is you can get tawa rotis there.
Things to Do: Like they say...there is absolutely nothing to do there. In mukteshwar you can go trekking till shiv mandir. Its some 6 km from resort. Or if you don't like to walk you can take a cab which will cost you around 500/-. You can plan a day trip to Nainital. Its around 1.5hrs drive from resort.
Overall I had a good experience. But next time I would prefer to visit in a full green season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShreyaSidharth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

It's a wonderful place with awesome view and beautiful surrounding but little maintenance.. The staff is strict and food not so good. The rooms are spacious but not so maintained. It's a pity that such a wonderful place is not so nicely devoted to tourism..!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guptaroli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dilipgupta, Owner at Mountain Trail Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your review,Sir. Sincere and honest comments help us do better. However we are a little inquisitive to know why this review has come so late. Stayed in May12 / Review in January13. Please mail us your name,dates of stay,room nos. to enable us investigate and respond. Also please appreciate, to safeguard our reputation it is imperative to check the genuineness of the comments.
Dilip Gupta, M.D.
dilip.mountaintrail@gmail.com
sales@mountaintrail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stole a weekend to go to Mukteshwar again this January, half expecting snowfall that greeted us last year around the same time. Although there was no snow this time around but it was pretty cold in the night. However, to our surprise there was a full fire burning in fireplace in the dinning area. I say "surprise" as we were the only guest in the resort but they took no half measures and everything was available as it is during peak season. This to me is mark of excellent organisation and quality.

While checking out, we forgot some stuff at the hotel that we realised after reaching Nainital, some one and a half hour drive from Mukteshwar. Not only did they found it for us, they ensured that we got it in Nanital the next day and Bharat who was on duty called to confirm if we got it all right. Hats off to you guys!

I started going to Mukteshwar many years ago and stayed with them by chance. However since last few occasions I go to Mukteshwar just to stay at Mountain Trail. If you are heading there for the first time let me tell you that rooms have no TV, food is like home cooked and room service has limited options but if your idea of holiday is to sit back, read a book, play monopoly for hours and go for long walks without seeing another person or vehical, thats the place to be. And not forget the morning tea in the closed balcony with warm sunlight on frigid cold mornings recharges all your dead cells :)

Room Tip: Pick the one with closed balcony as its usually cold to sit outside, however in peak of summer you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed at this place from december 11th to 14th, and cant get over it yet!! It was a very nice and pleasant stay. Everything was perfect , relaxing and laid back!! as we wanted!! except for the staff which was always ready to help you, for everything, and very courteous.The food was also very good with homely touch.Being `off season` the chocolate room was closed though, but the positive side of `off season` was that we were the only couple for the 3 days in the resort and got very personalised service from the staff!! Overall a `wow` experience!! Definitely recommended!!

Room Tip: all rooms are valley facing, except the family suite. all give enough privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prjotwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mukteshwar
3.2 mi away
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
#1 of 1 in Dhanachuli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Robinsson Palace
Hotel Robinsson Palace
#8 of 8 in Mukteshwar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
4.8 mi away
Himalayan Village Sonapani
Himalayan Village Sonapani
#2 of 8 in Mukteshwar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Frozen Woods - Pura Stays
Frozen Woods - Pura Stays
#3 of 28 in Mukteshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Oak Resort
Green Oak Resort
#9 of 24 in Mukteshwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cottage Nirvana
Cottage Nirvana
#2 of 28 in Mukteshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Trail Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Trail Resort

Property: Mountain Trail Resort
Address: Sargakhet | Distt. Nainital, Mukteshwar 263132, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Mukteshwar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Mukteshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Trail Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valley View Rooms set amidst a thick, lush green fruit orchard & flower beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Trail Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing