We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax & enjoy nature's bounty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Trail Resort
Ranked #4 of 25 Mukteshwar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relax & enjoy nature's bounty”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I along with my wife visited the resort and it was wow...
Special mention to Mr Bhat for managing the place so well, and the food was excellent. the rooms are basic, but neat and clean; that's what most important...Trekking down the winding roads was mesmerising....
Will definitely come back again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Animesh_952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    74
    13
    3
    12
See reviews for
139
36
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Firstly the negative. The resort location is not as "wow" as it has been projected and is the only reason for my giving 4 stars. You cannot see the mountain ranges because of a lot of trees obscuring the views from the rooms. The rooms are a bit small for a family of 4 but not bad at all. Besides that the resort is excellent in every way. Well maintained. The food is really delicious and 5 stars to the same. A very reasonable place. Friendly and helpful staff. Good places to see around and spend a relaxed holiday. Yummm chocolates made by the owner herself and a must try though a bit costly. The club and the children play area are pathetic and need an urgent revamp. Overall had a good time at the resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Its been four days now since i am back to my daily routine of things, but i am still not out of the serenity of Mukhteshwar. The view of the amazing snow peaks of the Wide Himalayan Range, thrilling rappelling and rock climbing from chauli ki jali, Trekking to the Mukhteshwar dham (Shiv Temple) which tests your stamina and the everlasting taste of herbal tea and Pakora watching the beautiful sunset from the Sunset Point were a few getaways from the trip, but what needs to be appreciated is our stay at Mountain Trail resort, a home away from home. A bouquet of beautiful Landscaping providing a feel as if you are sitting in a valley of flowers, Caring staff, superb Hospitality and amazing Food. A full access to the Fun Club with in the resort premises and Library to read in peace. For me it was one of the fabuluous trips i would never forget and a big thanks to mountain trail Resort for ending on a happier note. Thank you guys. Will see you again for sure. :)

Anubhav Ahuja

Room Tip: Rooms Opposite to the Himalayan Range gives you a beautiful view of the snow peaks if the weather is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anubhav A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Me and my wife prefer visiting less crowded destinations. We were very happy to choose Mukteshwar. We got to see so many birds at the Resort itself, thanks to the bird houses spread out throughout the orchard, tasted the most delicious chocolates made at the resort itself. Small but beautiful place. Great Food, very nice staff, great stay! Will surely visit again :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank umesh_kumarDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2012

It was very a different experience staying in a lush green place. The Manager and his team were very motivated to take care of our every need, something rare in most Nainital hotels, the Mountain Trail staff was always smiling and warm. Sad we could not view the Himalayas although we stayed for 6 nights but then the monsoon clouds which covered the horizon, created a beautiful atmosphere and visited us in the room every now and then. Although basic the rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms are very neat and well kept. A bit more attention towards housekeeping would be welcome. Food was wonderful, home like, again a big change from the typical restaurant like meals. The manager was very cooperative in serving us pure veg. food separately as we did not want to eat from the buffet which also had non veg dishes. One can specially order from the menu but will be charged extra and main meal are not served in the rooms. All in all.. a very memorable holiday.

Room Tip: Book the rooms which face the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunnysingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My stay at mountain trail was definitely disappointing . I definitely expected a lot more for the money we were paying .
In my three days stay the food tasted the same all the way - unappetizing and cold inspite of reaching the buffet on time.
The cleanliness and hygiene were absent all thru. Electricity was an issue .
I did not expect FRILLS but just a neat and clean comfortable stay with fresh good food and the availability of electricity to switch on a lamp whenever I want.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Guptamonica10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dilipgupta, Owner at Mountain Trail Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
This review 'guptamonica10' is a very obvious thread to 'rockbuddy10’s review as there was only one group booking for three nights( both reviews have mentioned 03 nights) with the surname (last name) “Gupta” during August 2012 and this review 'I did not expect FRILLS....' has been submitted immediately post our management response. “Our rooms are basic and do not offer luxuries........ "

Now we are also able to connect (thanks to the mention of the last name) the case with the only recent problematic report from the resort about a guest (Mr. Gupta) getting upset about not being served as desired for e.g breakfast at 12 o’clock and his non-acceptance to shift rooms even though the booking vouchers clearly mentioned so. The guest resultantly threatened the manager of dire consequences.
This is a clear act of sabotage to malign our reputation to get 'evens' with the management for not giving into his unreasonable demands.
Hard copies of Guest Comments who stayed during the same period can be sent to Tripadvisor if desired. Also if the guest has expressed himself once what is the need of expressing it again and again thru other family members.
I am quite sureTripadvisor will thoroughly investigate this matter and do needful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2012

If you surf their website, Mountain Trail says they are not luxury but promise comfort, cleanliness, good food and good service. That is exactly what the resort is. The rooms are reasonably sized and clean. The bathrooms are basic but clean. The view from the room is nice as well.

The food is homely and tasty.The terrace is wonderful place to eat your meals or just sit and gaze into the valley while downing cups of lovely adrak chai that they serve.

The standout element at the resort is the staff. Extremely helpful and courteous. They did everything to make our stay comfortable. Even the owner Mayank Gupta is warm and accommodating.

If you are driving down this is an ideal place to stay. If you are not, then you need to keep in mind that cabs are not exactly cheap around here. The hotel arranged a cab for us to the Mukteshwar temple which is only 5 kms away. The cab charged us Rs 550/- for the same.

In case we visit Mukteshwar again, we will look no further. Mountain Trail will be the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roopali_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mukteshwar
0.0 mi away
Hotel Robinsson Palace
Hotel Robinsson Palace
#8 of 8 in Mukteshwar
7 reviews
3.2 mi away
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
#1 of 1 in Dhanachuli
140 reviews
4.2 mi away
Frozen Woods - Pura Stays
Frozen Woods - Pura Stays
#3 of 29 in Mukteshwar
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mukteshwar Himalayan Resort
Mukteshwar Himalayan Resort
#7 of 25 in Mukteshwar
91 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cottage Nirvana
Cottage Nirvana
#2 of 29 in Mukteshwar
168 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Swiss Village Resort
The Swiss Village Resort
#16 of 29 in Mukteshwar
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Trail Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Trail Resort

Property: Mountain Trail Resort
Address: Sargakhet | Distt. Nainital, Mukteshwar 263132, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Mukteshwar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mukteshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Trail Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valley View Rooms set amidst a thick, lush green fruit orchard & flower beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Trail Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing