We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise Package”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mountain Trail Resort
Ranked #4 of 25 Mukteshwar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Mukteshwar is definitely one of the pretiest spots of all the hill stations we visited and it has the best climate. Imagine us Delhiites had to wear woolens in peak summers..crazy. Some showers disturbed our outings but we still enjoyed the Resort and extended our stay..It was well worth it. Full marks to the Chef. The service was a little slow but then one cannot expect magic from these locally trained hilly billye who never fail to shower their smiles on you..very pleasant. You can miss everything but the Chocolates made in-house by the Resort....Must haves and definite take homes.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naksain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for Mountain Trail Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 264 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

I had been contemplating travelling to the North Indian Hills and finally got a chance to visit the Nainital area during the 15th August weekend. I am so glad that we selected the Mountain Trail Resort - Mukteshwar which is a comfortable driving distance from the Nainital Lake and if I had known of it's beauty I would have not stayed in the crowd and relaxed at this very homely place where the Manager and his team made sure me and my wife took back fond memories. The food was to die for and the rooms were well kept. The sitting area outside our rom was a romantic little enclosure where we spent most part of our mornings. Highly recommended for the off-beat seekers.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rakesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I went to stay in this hotel with my family for the independence day weekend. I have already come to mukteshwar with my friends a year ago and always wanted to come again as this hill station is simply incredible.
It took 12 hours journey from delhi to reach because of the huge rush on roads.

I never expected that I would be in for such a huge disappointment at this hotel. I was in the family room which doesn't have any hill view, but that wasn't the deal breaker for me. The floor of room was not clean, bedsheets were dirty, blankets were stinking. There was dampness in the room. There were few dead spiders and insects under the bed and corners. The toilet was very average and not that clean. They only put the sanitized tag on the commode but the bathroom overall was not clean. Simply ruined my holiday!

But fortunately the food was good and comparable to good Delhi restaurants. It was the only high point in the hotel. I couldn't stay in this hotel for more than 1 night and shifted to Krishna Orchard, which was a wise decision on my part.

Finally, I would definitely not recommend anyone to stay in the family room at this hotel but as there are so many positive reviews, on whose basis even I went to this hotel, one can try other rooms. There are 2 family rooms and 10 deluxe rooms.
While checking out in the morning , I asked for discount but the manager rudely rejected it so I lost my temper and gave him what he asked for, 7000 for single night.

Room Tip: Never think about staying in the family room. You can try other rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel_freaklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dilipgupta, Owner at Mountain Trail Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

All this because a DISCOUNT was not offered. This family was a WALK-IN guest who settled for the room after duly seeing and inspecting it, If there was no view,room was dirty, damp with dead spiders, why did they take it? All this could not have happened after they checked in just for one night. They had not paid any ADVANCE, hence there was no compulsion to take the room. In our brochures,information leafs,website we have clearly submitted in writing that these 02 FAMILY ROOMS are away from the main cluster and does not have CLEAR VIEWS.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

12 Hours of tiring journey to Mukteshwar, I questioned if this is what we wanted of a holiday to this remote hill station. Meeting the Gupta family gave me the answer...Mountain Trail was indeed home away from home. Warm family hospitality, cosy cottages combined with delicious cuisine - it had all the indredients for a great hoilday stay!! Adventure seekers will not be disappointed as the resort can arrange for an array of activities for all age groups. The in-house Choco House can sweeten your stay even more. If lucky, the great Himalayas will reveal its majectic self to mesmerise you to stay on... and thats exactly what we did!!!! SAHANA SHARMA, Gurgaon

Room Tip: overlooking the himalyan range
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAHANASHARMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

The place is affluent in scenic splendor, commands a breathtaking view of the Himalayas with magnificent views. The place is in the scenic city are really attractive to those looking for enchanting retreat from large chaotic cities. Its a place to visit.....

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jogyNagpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I had been contemplating travelling to the North Indian Hills and finally got a chance to visit the Nainital area. I am so glad that we selected the Mountain Trail Resort - Mukteshwar which is a comfortable driving distance from the Nainital Lake and if I had known of it's beauty I would have not stayed in the crowd and relaxed at this very homely place where the Manager and his team made sure me and my wife took back fond memories. The food was to die for and the rooms were well kept. The sitting area outside our room was a romantic little enclosure where we spent most part of our mornings. Highly recommended for the off-beat seakers.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sagarsunil_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

the first thing tat comes to mind wen i recall our stay in mountain trail is its natural beauty....the resort is full of greenery which we normally miss...our rooms were in between d trees of apples, plums and almonds....and ofcourse FOOD HERE IS SIMPLY AWESOME....its yummy along with being healthy...u dont feel stuffed aftr havng d food..great variety of breakfast, lunch nd dinner buffet...soups, starters nd desserts...pakoras with the evening tea..u cant choose which one was best amongst them..the staff was so helpful nd polite...rooms were good...ohh i luvd jus each nd everything of mountain trail..luking forwrd to the next visit..

Room Tip: rooms nearer to the reception help you in quick access to the restaurant....bt the rooms far away ha...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meenakshi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mukteshwar
2.0 mi away
Casa Dream - The Resort
Casa Dream - The Resort
#4 of 8 in Mukteshwar
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Robinsson Palace
Hotel Robinsson Palace
#8 of 8 in Mukteshwar
7 reviews
3.2 mi away
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
#1 of 1 in Dhanachuli
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Frozen Woods - Pura Stays
Frozen Woods - Pura Stays
#5 of 32 in Mukteshwar
123 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mukteshwar Himalayan Resort
Mukteshwar Himalayan Resort
#8 of 25 in Mukteshwar
93 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Swiss Village Resort
The Swiss Village Resort
#20 of 32 in Mukteshwar
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Trail Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Trail Resort

Address: Sargakhet | Distt. Nainital, Mukteshwar 263132, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Mukteshwar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mukteshwar
Price Range: $35 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Trail Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valley View Rooms set amidst a thick, lush green fruit orchard & flower beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mountain Trail Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing