We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, neat & clean hotel with bit of character attached to it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mukteshwar Himalayan Resort
Ranked #7 of 25 Mukteshwar B&B and Inns
New Delhi, india
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent, neat & clean hotel with bit of character attached to it”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Decent, neat and clean, value for money hotel, off beat location, approx 6 -8 kms ahead of Mukteshwar hub where other hotels are located adjacent to each other. If you are looking for peace and solitude in the middle of nature then this is not a bad choice. Staff is friendly & food is average. Go for half board meal plan (breakfast & dinner) as there are no other restaurants available in near proximity of this hotel. if you want to enjoy some no veg cuisine for lunch / dinner, please check and place your order in advance at reception. Small beautiful garden in front of hotel main building, family sit out area and children play area with swings also adds to the character of the hotel MHR. Overall nice family run hotel & value for money :)

Room Tip: At the time of booking preferably ask for room on the higher floor and valley facing room to have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mohitexploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    30
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
49
18
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We were two families with small kids out for a vacation in June,2012. Our objective was peace for adults & entertainment for kids. The stay in this resort fulfilled our both objectives. the stay was really wonderful including the location & services. The food was also good. The best place to stay in this resort are the newly built cottages below the main resort. The view from those rooms are just scintillating. Vast green with trees of plums & khumani's welcome you. Picking them from tress itself was as enjoying as their taste. I strongly recommend stay in this resort. The only bad point was that the food service was a bit slow. But, looking at other plus points one can manage it. All together a peacefull & enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms which are down road, that are newly built & seperate from the main resort are the best. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidharthsid2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

As the title of my review suggests, the location is very nice although the quality of accommodation can be improved. Our interest is always to find relatively unexplored places and Mukteshwar really gives the required rustic village feel with no telephones or newspapers and a nice sun bath. Owner is very humble. We were offered the local fruit's juice which refreshed us after a long 8-9 hour journey and the Cook also delighted us by cooking custom-made food like kadhi-chawal, etc.

Basic issues such as lots of unwanted flies prevail and it gets difficult to get rid of them. That's it. Nice place to relax for a couple of days at least away from the city.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room which gets the sun shine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAnkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukteshwar, Owner at Mukteshwar Himalayan Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Sir, the flies were due to the orchard in the property, as the cleanliness at the resort is maintained all the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed here during the last day of May 2011 and it was a pleasant experience overall. The location as others have also mentioned is a little outside Mukteshwar (approx. 6 km away) and thus good for people looking for peace and solitude. The staff and the people were nice and booked us a taxi on request and I also had some decent chit-chat with a few locals while going for an evening walk towards the main Mukteshwar road (there is a junction approx. 2-2.5 km away from the hotel). The rooms were OK though with many flies (which were not removed even on requesting) and slightly unclean though the garden is nice (particularly the hammock which I liked to roll in and the swings etc.). The weather at the time was v. good and they also had nice bonfires at night. The food was good and the cook promised to prepare whatever we wanted (possibly due to fewer guests at the time)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBagchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukteshwar, Owner at Mukteshwar Himalayan Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Sir the flies are all over Mukteshwar as it is a orchard area.The location is not so far as in the main Mukteshwar there are no private hotels leaving the Govt. rest house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Decent place, but dingy. Some of the rooms have nice views, but ours did not (request a room with the window facing the hills).

The walls are paper thin so from our room we could hear everything that was going on in the rooms next to us, and in the restaurant.

The staff was very nice, but fairly incompetent. (They were unable to help us book a taxi, etc.).

Given the choice, I would not stay here again... I booked here because it was the only place with vacancy. I think you can find a quieter place with a slightly more competent staff for the same price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank india2099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukteshwar, Owner at Mukteshwar Himalayan Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Sir the noise is not due to the thickness of the walls. The walls are of normally the same thickness as compared to anywhere else. As it is a quiet place with a traffic of about 2/3 cars a hour and the village surrounding provides a quiet place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwalior
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

During Kumaon trip we thought we would stay at Naukuchital only but decided to try out Mukteshwar as well. It took us about 2.5 hrs to travel via padampuri and the route was awesome. Scenic and lovely with flowering season adding the icing on the cake. We thought we would either stay at Mountain Trail Resort or at KMVN rest house which has the best location. But unfortunately both were booked and so we decided to stay at MHR as it was on the road and we thought Mukteshwar was close by. The property is pretty small but well maintained and neat. The staff comprises of all young boys and that was somewhat unnerving with the family around. The property itself was good but Mukteshwar is still about 5-6 km away. At evenings it is bit scary with all the political movements (we saw few ministers making a night sojourn) and nothing worthwhile to do with the kids around. Instead Mukteshwar, we later found out, is rather vibrant with some movements and activities and places and trails to visit. The room had a good view of the mountains but unfortunately we couldn't see the golden sunrise or sunset as spoken so often by others due to clouds. The resort has a small well maintained garden and few apple, peach and other fruit trees. There is even a small temple tucked in this garden. All in all, place is good but somehow we didn't find it to be cozy and secure.

Room Tip: Stay at Mukteshwar instead of at MHR
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgupta_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukteshwar, Owner at Mukteshwar Himalayan Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
All over Mukteshwar is a big place with forest all over. There are confined markets and the population density is also less. Still we have indoor games for entertainment.Coming to Mukteshwar you don't find people roaming all around till night as there are many animals like tigers,wild pigs,bears etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

# Room was average however it was clean.

# it's little far from main mukteshwar temple or "chowli ki jaali" but the hotel itself has ample amenities like garden, indoor sports, internet, free parking.

# the best is the hotel itself including the hotel staff and the mountain view but the least is that there is nothing around for leisure.

# food quality is average.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jyotindra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mukteshwar
0.0 mi away
Hotel Robinsson Palace
Hotel Robinsson Palace
#8 of 8 in Mukteshwar
7 reviews
2.3 mi away
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
#1 of 1 in Dhanachuli
140 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mountain Trail Resort
Mountain Trail Resort
#4 of 25 in Mukteshwar
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Frozen Woods - Pura Stays
Frozen Woods - Pura Stays
#3 of 29 in Mukteshwar
121 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Swiss Village Resort
The Swiss Village Resort
#16 of 29 in Mukteshwar
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Club Taurus Adventure Camp
Club Taurus Adventure Camp
#5 of 29 in Mukteshwar
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mukteshwar Himalayan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mukteshwar Himalayan Resort

Property: Mukteshwar Himalayan Resort
Address: Leti-Bunga,P.O. Bhatelia | Bhatalia-Dhanachuli Road, Mukteshwar 263138, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Mukteshwar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mukteshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a property with about 15-20 rooms located in the magnificent locality of leti-bunga with a excellent view of the Himalayas.The surrounding have water-fall,temple and chi-chi place. The resort is next to forest where one can trek and can indulge in his or her hobby of bird-watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mukteshwar Himalayan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing