We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"KEDARNATH-my best adventurer journey"”
Review of Kedarnath Mandir

Kedarnath Mandir
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Kedarnath
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"KEDARNATH-my best adventurer journey"”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

picturesque scenic beauty spellbound me . That experience left me mesmerised because I did not experience something like this before. This temple is something differentiated.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ujjwal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    16
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Kedarnath - What a phenomenal experience!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We took the helicopter to Kedarnath and I think it was a smart decision because we were not worn out and did not have aching body parts when we went for the evening Aarti. That experience left me mesmerized because I did not experience something like this before.....it was like looking and listening to a musical play/opera dedicated to Kedarnath Ji !
Participating in the Maha Abhishekam at 4 am is very much recommended if one can afford the cost of 6,600 IRS.It was tough waking up at 3 am in a room with no heat, and no hot water but, I forgot it all as soon as I got to the temple. We were allowed in the inner sanctum of the temple and actively participated in the Abhishekam...I did not travel thousands of miles to only get a second glance of the Shiv Ling but, was able to touch and prostrate many times! ( I would have been okay with even a glance for a second because there is other place like this on earth....except Mount Kailash and Badrinath!!

We spent the night in Kedarnath and I would recommend staying at the temple Guest Houses because the place is very well maintained and also there are electric heaters.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Kedarnath - Toughest Destination in Chardham Yatra”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Kedarnath is the last one and the hardest destination to reach in Chardhm Yatra. Here high altitude and atmospheric pressure creates lots of problems for pilgrims. So its advisable book helicopter for Kedarnath Yatra to make it possible for your family.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Priyanka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“close to God and nature”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The kedarnath temple is something different. Austere and steeped in history, it is like no other temple in India. It's an effort to get there (the helicopter is the easier option) but one you get there, you will for sure think it was worthwhile.
There are six helicipter companies flying from Phata, so you can take your pick... we didn't book in advance and got tickets quite easily.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank partha2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice spiritual experience”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The temple closes at 3pm for darshan... so reach early. In the morning you may be even allowed to touch the linga of Kedarnath. It is huge. Evening Arthi should not be missed either. The temple is lit up and the linga is decorated with the golden cobra on top of it. No one inside the temple pushes you for money. Outside you may get pressured by several sadhus. Off season is possibly the best time to avoid crowds and lines.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GhumnaPhirna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kedarnath Mandir also viewed

Kedarnath, Rudraprayag District
Kedarnath, Rudraprayag District
 
Kedarnath, Rudraprayag District
Kedarnath, Rudraprayag District
 

Been to Kedarnath Mandir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing