We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best part of our kumaon trip”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Binsar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
KMVN (Kumaon Mandal Vikas Nigam) Tourist Rest House
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Binsar
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“the best part of our kumaon trip”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

its on the top of the hill forest.
very much well behaved staffs.
too cold area.
no electricity so use generator for only 3-4 hrs, have to charge your mobile and cameras by that time.
wonderful view of the himalayan range.
food too good, they have only buffet for lunch,dinner and breakfast with huge options.

Room Tip: please carry multicord as u have to charge too many things at the same time
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prajnapguharakshit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    88
    41
    5
    6
See reviews for
109
50
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The Pros
Nice rooms, friendly staff, decent service, an awesome setting, views to die for, lovely walks around the property with frequent wildlife sightings

The Cons
No electricity apart from the couple of hours of generator supplied power, you don't get 24 hours running hot water, typical KMVN property with modest service

Dont go there looking for five star comfort, there is no spa or room service .... rather it is a unique kind of experience in the midst of nature and the staff does its best to make sure that you have a comfortable stay within the constraints of a property that is run sans electricity

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radhika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

KMVNs have an affinity to be located in the best locations in all the hubs in the kumaon. Some of them are pretty good, but the binsar kmvn is downright ordinary, if not bad.

7x7 rooms with attached washrooms serving only frigid water, the only place where one can eat is the inhouse restaurant which serves fixed menu breakfast, lunch and dinner- totally Bengali style....this place is not for the one seeking a luxury vacation.

The only saving grace is the drive through the binsar reserve and the view of the Himalayas( January to March and October till December). Do not venture here with your sedans or hatchbacks....the forest road is non existent in patches and can dent your car's underbelly seriously.

Message.....only for hardcore nature lovers or people trying to escape the maddening crowd.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anshuman1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

KMVN, Binsar gave us the best views of the mighty Himalayan Range from it's terrace. Inspite of all the drawback, in terms of lack of good maintenance and no electricity(a stipulation in view of the location of the rest house inside the sanctuary), the breathtaking view more than made up for all the things which were lacking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Urmibasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Well for the view it provides the stay here is worth it for even worse infrastructure and service. However for travellers who are on a vacation and the weightage associated with view of peaks is not very high this is not your hotel. I have visited hotel thrice in last 6 years and will be able to let people know what is in it for them. A) The Birding Enthusiast- Take the view it provides and then deenapani 15 km below is a better destination. The forest is becoming more and more dense so birds here are very far from even a 500mm lens. Deenapani may have 30% lesser birds but will provide 200% more opportunities. Mohan's Binsar retreat/ KMVN Deenapani are two good option
B) For Nature-Landscape Lover- For genuine lovers this and Binsar retreat are the two places< Binsar retreat will cost 8000 Rs /night with only breakfast.......depends on your pocket
C) Bengali Traveller- Only place to stay......kausani gives similar view with much better hotel.
The hotel becoz of some peculiar reason feels colder esp the wooden rooms. There are some new rooms below the terrace they are warmer. Also in may be another 3-4 years they will lose their USP of views due to tree growth. Many bong travellers enter thru tanakpur for Mayawati ashram visit......check out Jhaltola......lesser known heaven in Himalayas. Food is really average.

Room Tip: Wooden rooms have better view but are very cold. New rooms have poorer view but warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wanderlust_birds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Binsar was our night halt during our visit to Munsiyari. We reached Binsar at night at 8, got past the entry post after paying 250/- person. From the entry point, the rest house is 10 km ahead in the jungle. Roads not in very good condition, need to have an experienced person behind the wheels. Since it was winters time in dec, it was extremely chilly. We paid 1700 room rent including breakfast. The room was extremely cold and in basement. There was no heater and we were given hot water bags which were of very little use. Buffet diner, and b'fast was served. Food was fine. But at 1700/- per room we expected a better room with heater.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NehaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noida
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

There is not much information related to accommodation in binsar , kmvn is around 12 km from the forest post and the road is in bad condition and you need to drive carefully as it is forest area in hills. There is no electricity in KMVN provided for 2 hours in evening, no Mobile signals inside hotel , food is provided in the hall area, The only best thing about KMVN is its location and the staff services.
the staff is very helpful and food is good.
Binsar is expensive to stay due to wild life sanctuary so i suggest a stay in almora or in bageshwar provided you are not in binsar for wild life specially leapord

Room Tip: Take the first floor rooms as the basement rooms are very cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nitin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Binsar
0.8 mi away
Grand Oak Manor
Grand Oak Manor
#3 of 5 in Binsar
100 reviews
14.3 mi away
Heritage Resort Kausani
0.0 mi away
The Kumaon
The Kumaon
#5 of 5 in Binsar
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Himalayan Woods
The Himalayan Woods
#5 of 16 in Almora
9 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Shikhar
Hotel Shikhar
#4 of 16 in Almora
74 reviews
7.5 mi away
Imperial Heights
Imperial Heights
#1 of 16 in Almora
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KMVN (Kumaon Mandal Vikas Nigam) Tourist Rest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KMVN (Kumaon Mandal Vikas Nigam) Tourist Rest House

Property: KMVN (Kumaon Mandal Vikas Nigam) Tourist Rest House
Address: Nanda Devi, Binsar, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Almora District > Binsar
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Binsar
Also Known As:
Kmvn (Kumaon Mandal Vikas Nigam) Tourist Rest House Hotel Binsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing