We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
74
8
1
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
74
8
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his team kasar devi local food picnic basket small lane hidden beauty fresh fruits and vegetables warm fireplace beautiful experience the general manager local kumaoni special thanks splendid view comfortable journey kumaoni dishes luxurious stay small garden
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 86 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2019 via mobile

The resort is perfect holiday destination for couple.. everything was so good abouthis resort.. hospitality was really good, they make you feel special.. not to forget the special mention of the manager beena who was a lovely lady.. food was also awesome with their own menu for all meals .. everything in food was also freshh and delicious. God bless these people for providing us such a nice experience.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Resort799472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2019

It is a very very late review. But, finally! The Kumaon is one of the best properties we've been to. Be it in terms of location, scenic beauty, hospitality and sense of peace. We were dealing with Pushkar and Isha at that time and they were the best hosts to us. I cannot recall the name of the room we stayed in, but all the rooms have an exemplary view. You could literally sit in the room and feel within the mountains. The best thing is that there is no TV in the rooms. You get to connect with nature and with each other, for a change. The staff was amazingly hospitable and friendly. The food was great as well. There was an initial thought of being bored sitting at one place all through with nothing to do nearby but I can tell you I was so wrong. We stayed for 3 days and we hope to return there very soon, again.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bhavika0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2019

Our stay at The Kumaon was a disappointment.
While the staff was nice, the property is ill-maintained. For example, the wooden flooring in the bath-room was coming off - posing a safety hazard. The approach to the hotel can be improved too.
Overall, overpriced. Not likely to visit again.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank Charanjiv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2019

We booked this place, two rooms for the 3rd of June, over the phone and mail through a lady named Isa, who works for the property. Paid 50% advance, and reached on 3rd evening. While booking the place had discussed that my 80 year old mother is travelling with us. While we read in the tripadvisor reviews that there’s a walk to the hotel (cars don’t reach there), enquired whether it’s a deal breaker. Was assured that it’s not. On reaching on 3rd evening, the journey to the reception was uneventful. They have a very dedicated band of porters and one of them reached my mother in a mobike. However on reaching the reception we were told that the farthest room which is also the lowest in altitude has been booked for us, which meant a 50/60 feet journey (albeit thru a staired pathway) awaited my mother. (One of the guest rooms closer to the reception could have been exchanged but we wanted two rooms so this option didn’t work). This was very painful for her and she couldn’t come out of her room for the balance part of her stay. After such a painful entry, one may ask why should there be a deduction of one star only?

The reasons are that the employees thereafter did everything possible to mitigate the issue. (This is a process problem and I request the owners to suitably communicate with potential guests about this altitude issue). They reached her food to the room at night and arranged a "doli" to bring her back to the reception next day.

Overall, the wilderness aspect makes this place a wonderful retreat but one has to seriously think that (for this villa particularly) a 60 feet hike, and another 15 feet to the dining room every time you go for a meal, was a good idea on behalf of the architects or not.

Other points.....the staff is a relaxed lot. Didn’t bother us with credit card impressions while checking in. Took the balance payments at check out. The balconies, library and the reception area is tastefully done. Rooms mesh with the area with appropriate fittings, though the bed is a tad higher. The wilderness factor is still there although ongoing constructions next to the approaching pathway robs that atmosphere a little. Food is a bit average though, so don’t have any fancy expectations. Par for the course. Staff attitude is super, don’t remember the names of the guys except the front office gentleman called NEERAJ who has a naturally calming effect.

Recommended? Yes, certainly.

Room tip: If you have aged people ask for rooms at reception level
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DBose2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2019

The trip to Kumaon was one of the best trips for me. We were mesmerised the minute we stepped in. One of the few hotels that I’ve seen which had used the it’s location that well to its advantage. The hotel is beautifully built with the best views from each one of its rooms. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful from arranging things we needed ( eg – transportation etc) to our dietary requirements to arranging for guided trips, they did it all impeccably. The Kumaon is a must visit for anyone who is craving an escape from the city life.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank palakchoudhary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews