We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Bungalow One

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Allahabad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bungalow One
Ranked #3 of 29 Allahabad B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 22, 2013

It was an out of the ordinary experience. One of the best places I have ever stayed in. The property is top class, gives a feeling of staying in and with nature, location central, the treatement royal, the food super, the people so courteous and humble .... You have no choice but to fall in love with Bungalow One. We felt very much like it was our own home, all our requests were attended to...... Mrs Sethi, you and your daughters Devika and Kanika made all the difference by not only looking into all the minute details but also giving your invaluable company and insights. God bless Bungalow One and you all. Hope we come again one more time.
The icing on the cake - the Kumbh mood and some great weather.
Bungalow One is a Jewel in the Crown of Allahabad!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MoodIndigo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Bungalow-One, Owner at Bungalow One, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Your positive feedback is very rewarding for us. Many thanks for your kind words. Anytime you would like a relaxed vacation, Bungalow One will be waiting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 35 of 35 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

In a mad city where every hotel or guest house was overcharging tourists as they piled in for the Kumbh Mela 2013 (27 Jan - 25 Feb), I had almost given up hope of finding a reasonable accommodation until one of the forums recommended Bungalow One. It seemed too good to be true and I didn't think that there would any availability at an affordable price. So I emailed them without much hope and was thrilled to get a reply saying that there were rooms available for the dates we were looking for. This was the beginning of the many pleasant surprises we experienced during our three night stay at Bungalow One. The Sethi family redefine hospitality to a new level going out of their way to make their guests feel special and comfortable. They did this in a nice matter-of-fact way and other hotels or guest houses could learn a lesson or two from them. I am lost for choices in terms of what to pick as the highlight of our experience: be it the cozy rooms that are comfortably furnished, the blissful one acre site which provides a tranquil setting in an otherwise chaotic city, the wonderful daschunds (Leo and Samy) who were as eager to invite us in as the family members, the delicious meals or their ready at hand service when things went wrong (eg: our train was almost cancelled and we were lost for options). We have travelled widely through India and other parts of the world, and I must say that what they offer is unparalleled. It will be very difficult to match this memorable experience anytime soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank parabindoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Bungalow-One, Owner at Bungalow One, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us. The pleasure in hosting all of you was all ours! We learnt so much from our conversations with all of you, and hope you will consider making another trip to Allahabad in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This place is amazing. The Sethi family are extremely welcoming and they spoke better English than us Aussies! The staff are a delightful bunch and the food was to die for, having a background as a chef I could not fault anything. It sits on one acre of beautiful gardens and the 100 year plus British colonial building has been exquisitely maintained and has all the facilities one would need. Snacks and toiletries were complimentary which is a nice touch. They pay exceptional attention to detail. We were sad to leave and we will consider the Sethi family friends for life.
Jay & Martine from Australia

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jay_martine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Bungalow-One, Owner at Bungalow One, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your feedback is very encouraging and we do hope to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

If you want an experience of quaint comfort, genuine hospitality and family-style warmth, Bungalow-One is the place to head to in Allahabad. It is an old-style colonial bungalow (think fireplace, tall ceilings, ancient wood-furniture, comfortable sofas, recliners and loungers), whose well-maintained interiors and surroundings are rarely on display these days, anywhere in the subcontinent. Placed in Civil Lines, all the closest attractions are walking distance or a few minutes by road (a mall, the old university, Nehru’s Anand Bhavan, the Sangam or confluence of the rivers Ganga/Yamuna, the excellent bakeries and the must-visit Wheeler’s bookstore, the Mughal-era Khusro-bagh garden, and the surprisingly nice city museum with a great collection of ancient and medieval sculptures, paintings and mughal-miniature artworks). I travelled there, towards the end of last year, to beat the hectic routine of big-city life. I am a wheelchair-user, and faced no hassles living in this excellent property.

Located amidst lawns, wooded trees, carefully tended blossoming flowers, and fragrant fruits and shrubs (Oranges, amla, lemons, basil, aloe-vera, etc.), this 19th century home offers unmatched and, perhaps, unmatchable, memories and experiences. The proprietors open their home to any visitor, and take the best possible care whilst one is with them. They are very helpful with suggestions for visits in the city and recommend things to do while one is with them. Breakfast is excellent and a high-point. For those mindful of the girth, an exercise-cycle and yoga mat is available! I was initially uncomfortable with the three dogs on the property, but the owners took good care to keep them away from me. The internet was slow while I was there.

The room that I stayed in is as old as the house, and offers teak-wood four-poster beds, desks, revolving book-shelves, and the choicest collection of fiction/non-fiction and travel books. There is a fire-place in the drawing room which makes for an excellent retreat in the winter evenings; days offer a chance to lounge in the sun, under a shamiana (tent) which the proprietors put up, or one can make use of the quaint little chairs, loungers, swings, etc. The choice on offer, as far as lazing is concerned, is remarkable! But the expected wares of modern life—television, wireless internet, coffee-maker—are still available, should one pine for them. There is an old, still-functioning 1962 Fiat that one can observe and request a ride in. There is a large back-area to walk in, under shaded trees and planted vegetable beds. And yet, privacy is guaranteed, given the proprietors' concern with comfort coupled with professional, hospitable conduct. If for nothing else, a night-long train journey from Delhi is highly recommended to sample the delights of Bungalow-One.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Boozo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Bungalow-One, Owner at Bungalow One, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Many thanks for your encouraging feedback. We are working on increasing internet access speed, and look forward to having you stay with us in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jacques B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Eddieitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Bungalow-One, Owner at Bungalow One, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Allahabad hotels
1.4 mi away
Kunjpur Guest House
Kunjpur Guest House
#2 of 29 in Allahabad
35 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kanchan Villa
Kanchan Villa
#1 of 29 in Allahabad
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Arjun
#6 of 29 in Allahabad
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Polo Max
Hotel Polo Max
#3 of 24 in Allahabad
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kanha Shyam
Hotel Kanha Shyam
#2 of 24 in Allahabad
280 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Legend Hotel
The Legend Hotel
#1 of 24 in Allahabad
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalow One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalow One

Address: Civil Lines, Allahabad 211001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Allahabad District > Allahabad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Allahabad
Price Range: $75 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bungalow One is a heritage home(built in 1869) in the heart of Allahabad. Enjoy the family home, and make it a tranquil base from which to explore the city! These are the amenities offered COMPLIMENTARY at Bungalow One: Breakfast, WIFI, Fruit and Cookies Basket, Tea & Coffee Maker in Room, Hot/Cold Water in Shower, Daily Newspapers and Magazines, Satellite TV and DVD Player in Room, Towels and Toiletries in En-suite Toilet, Transfers to/from Train Station/ Airport/ Bus Station, Air Conditioning/ Room Heater/ Power Back-up.Bungalow One is 100% wheelchair accessible. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing