We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”
Review of Kanchan Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kanchan Villa
Ranked #1 of 24 Allahabad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Uttarkashi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have to say Kanchan Villa surpassed all expectations. Ivan and Purnima outdo anything I have ever experienced in 11 years living in India for hospitality and caring interest in overall comfort. One feels like one is visiting close friends....so different than any hotel experience. A home away from home sums it all up.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeIsBliss1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivanlamech, Owner at Kanchan Villa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time out to send in a review. It was wonderful to have you all with us and we must thank you for opening out a new world to us by way of TM. I am sure we will meet again and look forward to it.

Ivan and Purnima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
32
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Kanchan villa is an oasis of calm. Clean, comfortable and homely rooms are married with extraordinarily friendly and helpful hosts, a very relaxing garden and delicious home cooked food. We only stayed for one night during the Kumbh, and Ivan and Purnima did everything to make sure we enjoyed our stay to the maximum. Carefully ensuring that we would be met at the station (there were issues with the trains), as well as arranging for my girlfriend and i to have a motorbike tour of the kumbh mela first thing in the morning. An unforgettable experience.

You must have dinner at Kanchan villa, perhaps the best food i have had in india (i have spent c. 6 months in total), and Ican and Purnima are extremely interesting to talk with. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hughandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
2 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Absolutely superb B&B: Large Rooms (Larger than they appear on the photos) with nostalgic decor, and modern amenities. Very clean, and well looked after. A super large, and classy lounge area for, extraordinary home-cooked food. Flawless booking. But the best "part" are the owners that are so much of a joy to have as hosts. This is what I call a real place to stay. If only I passed by Allahabad more frequently... Best regards to Purnima and Ivan from Till!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TillBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivanlamech, Owner at Kanchan Villa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much Till for all your kind words. May I take this opportunity to mention that you are the first ethnic German that I have met whose Hindi is to say the least, exemplary - particularly your perfect pronunciation - amazing.

Ivan & Pixie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you need a sign to make a decision to stay in Kanchan Villa - this is the sign!

You will love it if you: 1. love delicious indian food - 2. are looking for clean and large rooms with excellent bathrooms - 3. enjoy the company of loving and caring people.

Room Tip: Just trust Purnima and Ivan and you will get the right room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivanlamech, Owner at Kanchan Villa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you! It was a pleasure hosting such a wonderful human being like you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

we cannot speak highly enough of kanchan villa!
Pixie and Ivan are the hosts from heaven!
intelligent, kind, entertaining, warm and soooo helpful
the b and b is quiet clean and the food available gorgeous
and the staff are all lovely
just a wonderful place to stay for as short or as long as you can
this is also my first review as i cannot recommend this place enough
if you are in allahabad
even worth going there just to stay at kanchan villa

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivanlamech, Owner at Kanchan Villa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you so much. It was such a pleasure having you both with us.

Pixie and Ivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have just spent 3 wonderful days with Ivan and Purnima, the most hospitable, friendly hosts you could ever wish to meet, who went out of there way to make our stay a most memorable one. The rooms are very comfortable, spacious and extremely clean, also being in a quiet area of town makes it very relaxing. Conveniently located close to the station and they will provide transport upon request to and from the station and anywhere within the town at a reasonable rate which makes life and getting around a lot easier. The food is good served by friendly staff. All in all made our visit to Allahabad all the more enjoyable.

Room Tip: We found the Green room delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynneclayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivanlamech, Owner at Kanchan Villa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you! We loved having you both with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level Contributor
173 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Kanchan Villa is a delightful homestay. Pixie and Ivan Lamech are the warmest, friendliest and most caring hosts one could wish for. They are full of fascinating stories, so do make time to hang out with them. They will help you figure out travel, laundry, shopping, and any other concerns you may have. And they speak English (this is an issue with most places in Allahabad)! The rooms are comfortable and pretty, and a treat for antique lovers. The food is delicious, wholesome, home cooked fare. There's plenty of greenery all around, some lovely sit-outs, squirrels running up trees and playful dogs. The guests are an interesting, cosmopolitan mix - we bumped into people from Nepal and Australia. I stayed here with my husband during the Kumbh and loved it! We had the self contained apartment to ourselves. It is totally private and has it's own terrace. I don't think I'll ever want to stay anywhere else when I'm in Allahabad.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ananya_Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivanlamech, Owner at Kanchan Villa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you Ananya. We are glad that you and Jedi enjoyed your stay here. It was lovely having you with us and thanks Jedi for helping Pixie with her phone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Allahabad hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Kanha Shyam
Hotel Kanha Shyam
#2 of 23 in Allahabad
256 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel U.R
Hotel U.R
#3 of 23 in Allahabad
91 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Harsh Ananda
Hotel Harsh Ananda
#9 of 23 in Allahabad
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Legend Hotel
The Legend Hotel
#1 of 23 in Allahabad
81 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Continental Hotel
Grand Continental Hotel
#6 of 23 in Allahabad
72 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kunjpur Guest House
Kunjpur Guest House
#2 of 24 in Allahabad
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanchan Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanchan Villa

Property: Kanchan Villa
Address: 64 Kanchan Villa Lukergunj, Allahabad 211001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Allahabad District > Allahabad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Allahabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kanchan Villa 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is an 85 year old bungalow, beautifully restored with all modern amenities. Certified as a gold category Bed and Breakfast establishment by the tourism department, it has 6 distinctly furnished bedrooms, one family room and one suite. All rooms are fully air conditioned with modern attached bathrooms and running cold and hot water. This B & B is personally managed by the owners who live on the property and ensure that every need of the guests are meticulously looked after. It has a lounge with a fireplace and a well stocked library. The facilities include 24 hr silent power back up, in house laundry service, car parking, pick up and drop service and free wifi. Centrally located it is just 2 km from the railway station and 25 minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kanchan Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing