We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Colour of water changing from green to brown but tighten your money bags too !!”

Triveni Sangam Allahabad
Ranked #1 of 47 things to do in Allahabad
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Colour of water changing from green to brown but tighten your money bags too !!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Disclosure: The post/view below is my own experience of my frist visit to Prayag aka Sangam and is not meant to hurt sentiments/feelings of any person/group.

I happened to visit the sangam one day before "makar-sakranti" which is like mini maha-kumbh (dint knew about that) but happened to have a calm & relax view. The sangam is the place where the 3 rivers (Ganga, Yamuna & Saraswati) meet and the only proof you have is the water of river changing from green (representing Yamuna) to brown (Ganga starts) while Saraswati flowing below the other two rivers !!

The journey starts from ghat(bank of river) in boat and is a ride of hardly 20-25 minutes(one way) to the Sangam.This the time where you need to be EXTRA CAUTIOUS as the boat owners will charge hefty amount from you for the ride starting from Rs 300 per person but we actually did it for Rs 40 per person and a co-passenger with us paying Rs 100 for same ride ( we cannot help him as they told if we share our rates we will have to pay the loss). Pay only 50-75% of your total amount before beginning of journey rest to be paid once the boat comes back.

Post reaching sangam most people take a holy dip in the river & also carry back the water in plastic bottle/containers. Even if you don't have empty containers they sell that too at Rs10 per piece.

The entire place is like big marketplace where everyone from boat rower/owner to pandit all have one common motive HOW TO GET MONEY FROM YOU and they have such strong groupism that even cops are helpless in front of them and they will harass you verbally so much that you will pay to save yourself from such harassment.

My word of advice to travelers is keep calm, don't show them you are too excited for visit & negotiate BADLY !!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Praneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    147
    53
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Allahabad, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Holy dip at Sangam”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The name of Allahabad is synonymous with Sangam.It denotes the meeting point of River Ganga, River Jamuna and mythical Saraswati.One can appreciate the muddy coloured water of Ganga mixing with emerald-green water of Yamuna on a shallow river-bed where one can take a walk in knee-deep water.The confluence of rivers can be approached by a short boat-ride or walking to the point in winter on the dry river-bed.Migratory birds flock to the area in winter.To the Hindus this place has religious significance because of Amrit heavenly nectar which may have fallen over here and a dip in these waters gives one moksha or the way to heaven.A congregation of people assemble on an annual pligrimage in the month of Magh(Jan-Feb.)each year to live on the river-bank and take holy dips on the designated days.The earliest mention of these congregations can be found in chinese traveller Hiuen Tsang account in the rein Harshavardhan of Kanauj(630-647 A.D.)The fair in the present form is being organized from mid-nineteenth century by the British who designated a certain sum for the smooth conduction of the fair.A sprawling tent city comes up on the river bank,all the more after every twelve year when it is known as Kumbh.Tip - Take a local or a guide to save oneself from being fleeced by the boatmen or pandas.










9(

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank eyechatanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, NZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Easy to get pressured out of your money”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We had a good time but as other western reviewers say, they'll dupe you out of money at the confluence. We negotiated a boat ride out for 500 rupees (2ppl) during a Magh Mela bathing day.

When you get out to the confluence you jump on another boat and say a prayer (or 15) where they ask you for 100 rupees each. Then they ask at least one of you to jump in the river with some coconuts (offerings) and ask you to pay 100 rupees per coconut.

While it was interesting and fun, I felt pressured to pay what they demanded. It is different out there because if you offend them then you may well be swimming back to shore. Lessons learnt - always have small denominations available and don't be pressured to pay silly amounts in the name of religion.

Helpful?
3 Thank JaimieBarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varanasi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Maha Kumbh”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I visited here in March during Kumbh Mela it was great experience to witness such a huge Hindu festival. Security was good management of crowd is also very good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Soni_Ashish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
191 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Good Place - Be Cautious not to get cheated”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Yes, visiting Sangam has the religious feeling. But be cautious about the touts, whose intention is only to make money. Most of the tourists arrive here by hiring the vehicle. The vehicle driver is already networked with the boat operators. In our case, they started with INR 5000 for the trip from vehicle parked spot to the actual sangam spot. And we finally paid INR700 (Surprising ?! - the locals still pay much lower). If you have the time, ensure that the vehicle driver takes closer to the point or walk it down (its 15 minutes walk on the sand). If you happened to be a Hindu and has religious sentiments, the touts can psyche you and make money.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TAMILRAJAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Triveni Sangam Allahabad also viewed

Allahabad, Allahabad District
Allahabad, Allahabad District
 
Allahabad, Allahabad District
Allahabad, Allahabad District
 

Been to Triveni Sangam Allahabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing