We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but clean”

OYO 8178 Hotel Saket
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
OYO 8178 Hotel Saket
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Allahabad
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is a very average hotel but surprisingly quite clean-- from a room, bathroom, and sheets perspective. Of course, visiting this place during the Kumbh made it a rip off. All hotels in Prayag were phenomenally overpriced and way above what any reasonable person would pay.

The best thing about this place is that the staff are very courteous and helpful. They try their best to please guests. Like in many non-urban locations in India, they are vey attentive to what you want and go out of their way to help.

When ordering food, remember to tell them to add less oil and spicy if you are worried about your waistline or general health. UP cuisine is very delicate and is well made in the vegetarian restaurant called Govinda's.

Room Tip: Does not matter. The traffic on the road is surprisingly not heard in the room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaataan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
There are newer reviews for OYO 8178 Hotel Saket
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

We Stayed in Hotel Saket During Our Visit for Kumbh Mela in Feb 2013, We Found it Very Comfortable & Nice Hotel.
Rooms Was very Clean & Room Service was Excellent, Quality of Food is Very Good.
People Can Bargain For a good Discount on Room Tariff.

Room Tip: Rooms are very Good.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Payalsharma26886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

There were only 3 reviews about this hotel in Trip advisor and we had to decide quickly, hence we booked an AC delux room and went there in Dec 2012. One of our requirements was a good vegetarian restaurant. Unfortunately the much touted 'Govindas' restaurant they have is very pathetic both in choice of food and taste. Their menu lists dozens of food items and curries but hardly two or three items are available restricting choice of food.The cost of food is very high compared to the Quality. They strictly follow 12 noon checkout policy and if you expect a grace time of one or two hours you are rudely told to get lost even if you had checkd in late the previous day. If you are planning to take a car rental service from them,, be prepared to shell down at least 40% more than the going rate. Better book cars directly after reaching that place.
You would surely be shocked and concerned about the lift they have. It stops at any floor it likes and sometimes the doors won’t open scaring you away. We only used stairs after our experience with the scary lift.
I would never visit this place again. We were told that Yatrik hotel is much better for a little more payment. And Singh Tourist service car rentals are reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TruReviewerChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Hotel Saket is comparatively is a new property . However because of poor service standards and poor upkeep , hotel is loosing its credibility.
Hotel also boasts of its inhouse restaurant by the name of Govinda restaurant . Just like its poor lodging , restaurants is also not so chick and clean.

Hotel is also flexible enough to bargain with customers on tariff ie. one can get huge bargain on instance.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aquarian77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

With rooms (A.C) starting with a reasonable price, Hotel Saket provides just the essential necessities to complement your business trip. A small but clean & comfortable room (double bed) provides the minimum requisites for the stay.
The better part of the stay is however the exotic restaurant attached to the main compound that provides a variety of cuisines with Indian Cuisine topping the list.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Date: 12 June 2010
I booked this hotel for my business trip to allahabad for meeting my clients.
i find it through tha local guide and it is exceptionally nice to stay.

I have stayed in many hotels over past 2 years in allahabad only.but among them i will rate this hotel above normal as it is cheap,nice hospitality etc.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gargsajal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Allahabad hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel DPS Inn
Hotel DPS Inn
#22 of 24 in Allahabad
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Harsh Ananda
Hotel Harsh Ananda
#10 of 24 in Allahabad
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel U.R
Hotel U.R
#3 of 24 in Allahabad
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Legend Hotel
The Legend Hotel
#1 of 24 in Allahabad
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ajay International
Hotel Ajay International
#11 of 24 in Allahabad
19 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Prayag Inn
Hotel Prayag Inn
#13 of 24 in Allahabad
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OYO 8178 Hotel Saket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OYO 8178 Hotel Saket

Address: Plot No. 124-A | MG Road, Civil Lines, Allahabad 211001, India (Formerly Hotel Saket)
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Allahabad District > Allahabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Allahabad
Price Range: $43 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing