We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mysticism”

All Saints Cathedral
Ranked #5 of 47 things to do in Allahabad
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mysticism”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is a must visit spot if you are at Allahabad. Beautify structure towers over the landscape of the city almost redefining your expectations from the city. It is the first major monument after one steps out of the railway station and almost immediately the city adorns a veil of classic mysticism usually enjoyed by cities that are known for their heritage architecture

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank piyali30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    34
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
159 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Visually stunning cathedral”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This cathedral is also called the Pathar Girija and is visually stunning. Built in 1887, it is an Anglican Cathedral and is well maintained to the day

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sachin_kamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
218 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“A great place to visit in Allahabad”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My hotel was just down the block from the cathedral so I walked over in the morning. I circumnavigated the grounds which lay behind a fence. When I got to the gate at the north side of the circle the Reverend Daud, Presbyter in Charge was arriving. He invited me in and showed me around. This is the largest cathedral in India. Reverend Daud works hard to preserve it with a limited budget. The cathedral is no longer Anglican but Church of North India. It was fascinating to hear about building and maintaing a Christian congregation in a place where Christianity is quite the minority. The city is called Allahabad and I actually visited during the great Hindu festival Maha Koumbe when millions of Hindus descend on Allahabad to bathe in the Ganges River. Reverend Daud showed me where he builds the manger scene at Christmas (the animals are a big hit with Hindus who visit the cathedral at Christmas to see it) And in the spirit of ecumenism (let's get some paganism in here too) there was a big Santa Claus banner still hanging. The architecture is of the finest quality and that alone is worth a visit but to hear the story of pastoring way beyond the realm of Christendom was the most fascinating. I don't know Reverend Daud's schedule but I ran into him about 9:30 AM at the North Gate. Ask the guard. Maybe he can find the Reverend for you.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JamesNYC212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Reminder of the Raj”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Architecturally this cathedral is typical of its type but it is impressive for India as it was built during the British Raj era and is a surprising find in a town like Allahabad. It is a peaceful place and has some historically interesting memorial plaques on the walls inside.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank opgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stunning building, and I never imagined there could be anything as large as this in what appears to be a smallish town. Must visit... if you can find someone who opens the doors for you then that's great, otherwise just stroll around the grounds and try to peek in!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Li0f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed All Saints Cathedral also viewed

Allahabad, Allahabad District
Allahabad, Allahabad District
 
Allahabad, Allahabad District
Allahabad, Allahabad District
 

Been to All Saints Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing