We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable clean rooms and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MGM Vailankanni Residency
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Velankanni
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable clean rooms and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in January 2012. I always dread staying in interior Tamil Nadu because hygiene is despicable, but this hotel was clean and comfortable. The food was good. The restaurant can be very noisy and crowded when the tour buses arrive. This is not a place for rest and relaxation, but more a place to stay on a religious trip. The hotel is close to Nagapattinam railway station and a short drive away from Vailankanni church. Hotel car pickup/drop to Vailankanni church costs about Rs 300 to 400 for a round trip.

We found deep holes in the sofa which looked really ugly. They need to put more effort into maintaining the interiors. The hotel is quite expensive for a place like Nagapattinam.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Vailankanni Residency, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor on your recent stay at our hotel. I will convey the positive aspects of your stay to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    93
    37
    0
    7
See reviews for
153
14
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were 12 people and were thinking that accommodation would be a problem but to our surprise even though the cottages were full we were comfortably accomodated in 2 suite rooms with extra beds which were as good as the main beds. The resort I would say is on the main Nagapattinam Ramanad ECR Road and is situated right in the junction were one enters the smaller road leading to the Valankanni shrine.The rooms were tidy with new linen.The bath and toilet clean and well kept and had 24 hrs hot and cold running water.The restaurant was spacious clean and the cutlery had a gleaming twinkle. The kitchen and wait had proffesional staff so did the front office. The food was good with an economically priced menu.Centrally air conditioned rooms were functional in spite of power cuts. The resort has a nice swimming pool. We were totally at peace and enjoyed stay just relaxing in cool comfort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Vailankanni Residency, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Mr. Martin,

Vanakkam!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at MGM Vailankanni Residency.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

nice place to stay if you are visiting the vellankani shrine, need your own transportation to reach the shrine as it is not within walking distance, you can use a auto, available at the hotel gate at all times costs INR 50 one way.The cottages are good if around 5 adults want to stay as it has 2 bedrooms but on first floor of the cottage, not good for elderly. Has a swimming pool that kids can have fun in. Food is decent.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOEGUNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Vailankanni Residency, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Mr. Joe,

Vanakkam!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at MGM Vailankanni Residency.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
220 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Have now returned to MGM, this time with family for our Vailankanni visit. The one thing which pinches is the 600 rupees plus taxes for the pickup or drop from/to Nagapattinam rail station-all of about 10-12 km distance. The rooms were good enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlprasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Vailankanni Residency, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Mr. Prasad,

Vanakkam!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at MGM.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed for one night for visiting Annai Velanganni Shrine. Neat and decent hotel, Rooms are small but compact, expensive menu, more attention needed in parking and surroundings area. All together It is a good place for pilgrims and value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 728Ravi1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Vailankanni Residency, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Mr. Ravi,

Vanakkam!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at MGM Vailankanni Residency.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Great value. Good experience staying always in Deleuxe Grandeur Room which has separate lounge area. Away from the crowded main drive to church complex-serves as a great comfortable base for pilgrimage, providing sanctuary from the heat and humidity. Restaurant serves made to order breakfast and a la carte meals. New addition of a bar with snacks provides access to a cold beer in an otherwise dry area. Staff are very helpful.

Room Tip: Choose deluxe grandeur room(suite) for comfortable stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AA123Perth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Vailankanni Residency, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at MGM Vailankanni Residency.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

there are cottages as well as individual rooms. Nice swimming pool overlooked by the restaurant (thats a bit uncomfortable). The cottages stand away from the main building. Each has two bedrooms upstairs and a living room, kitchen and another bathroom downstairs

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Vailankanni Residency, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at MGM Vailankanni Residency.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Velankanni
0.8 mi away
Clinton Park Inn
Clinton Park Inn
#5 of 8 in Velankanni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.0 mi away
GS Resorts
GS Resorts
#1 of 3 in Nagapattinam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
23.6 mi away
Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Poppys SET Residency
Poppys SET Residency
#11 of 24 in Kumbakonam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel VPN Residency
Hotel VPN Residency
#2 of 13 in Velankanni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.3 mi away
Velankanni Lake Resort
Velankanni Lake Resort
#1 of 16 in Velankanni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Vailankanni Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Vailankanni Residency

Property: MGM Vailankanni Residency
Address: 64/F2, Nagapattinam Main Road | Velankanni Arch, Velankanni 611111, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Velankanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Velankanni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MGM Vailankanni Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located close to the world famous "Vailankanni Basilica" (1 km). Renowned Nagore Dharga is 15 kms away from the resort and the cluster of Navagraha Temples are located around and easily accessible by road for a day trip. Nagapattinam port, Cauvery Basin and Karaikal industries are just a short drive. Point Calimere (wildlife sanctuary) or Tranquebar, the Danish Fort, is worth a day visit. Nearest airport is Trichy, 155 kilometers from the resort and well connected to the adjoining states by rail, road and flight. The resort has 31 rooms includes 13 Grandeur, 14 Deluxe Rooms and 4 Cottages, Swimming pool, Conference Hall, 24 Hour Room service, Restaurant, Banquet Lawns, Indoor/outdoor games, private car parking and laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your MGM Vailankanni Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Vailankanni Residency Hotel Nagapattinam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing