We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place in velankanni”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Velankanni Lake Resort
Madurai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice place in velankanni”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Pros: 1. Hospitality - Something equivalent to genie lamp. 2. Atmosphere - Awesome. You HAVE to experience it. The view and the breeze are extraordinary. 3. Privacy - to the core. 4. Rooms - decent for the price. 5. Food - homely,veryyyyyyyyyy tasty,and hygiene food. 6. all staff are good&friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank viswasugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeresort v, Owner at Velankanni Lake Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest vanakkam,

thanks for your valuable complimentsto us post in a internaitional standard travels website in trip-advice. we will convey to our staff once again thank you sir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    10
    7
    0
    4
See reviews for
28
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Room is OK. It is actually shirm farm converted into lake hotel. Lot of insects are coming inside. But they have not informed about the break fast cut-off time when we check-in. It was over everything when we went to hotel for complementary breakfastaround 10 am.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
4 Thank Abs A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeresort v, Front Office Manager at Velankanni Lake Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our
Resort. I am certainly disappointed that about the Complimentary Break- Fast was finished around 10 Am.

Since you are a Cleartrip member you should aware already it is reflected in the site itself

1).we are not providing the complimentary break fast for Non-A/C Rooms.

2).Only we are providing complimentary break- fast for those who are staying in water villa
A/C COTTAGES in our resort.

3) Those who are staying in Non-A/C they will order in early we will provide for them & it is chargeable.

Any how,
I would like to apologize on behalf of the Resort and its team for your stay.

The interaction with our staff member with regards to your comments about the break-fast
we assured in future it will not happen, we will inform to the guest at the time of Check-in.
once again sorry sir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I went along with my family and sister's family to VLR. We took three cottages. The ambiance was good. I was amazed at the cleaniness and hygiene maintained by them. It was no lesser than a 3 star. The food was traditional and good. The best part was the way the cottages are designed, it gives you complete privacy and on top of it made us feel as we are in kerala (cottages on backwaters).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arunccie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeresort v, Front Office Manager at Velankanni Lake Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thanks for you valuable reviews posted against our property. all the guest those who are stayed our resort they had appreciate our service but they are unable to put their compliments in trip adviser such a busiest businessman you have spent your valuable time for us it is great.
once again thanks on behalf of VLR we will be improve our service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Pros:
1. Hospitality - Something equivalent to genie lamp.
2. Atmosphere - Awwwwwwwwwesome. You HAVE to experience it. The view and the breeze are extraordinary.
3. Privacy - to the core.
4. Rooms - decent for the price.
5. Food - can be customised.
6. Exciting stuff - Our kids enjoyed the flock of ducks, tiger prawn, crabs, joola, jumping fishes.
7. Maintenance - damnnnnn clean that You can just sit anywhere in the resort.

Cons:
I couldnt find such thing, honestly..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aishu_arun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeresort v, Owner at Velankanni Lake Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear mam vanakkam,

Thanks for your compliments about our resort it will boost our staff to give better service to all the guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coonoor, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We used to stay nearer to the church on our previous visits to velankanni. Wanted to try out VLR this time and it was an awesome experience. The resort has good ambiance. Good hospitality. The traditional food from the GRANDMA'S MULTI CUISINE RESTAURANT was delicious especially the chutneys made traditionally reminded my grand-mom. Overall a very peaceful place to stay though it is situated right on the highway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IshwaryaJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeresort v, Owner at Velankanni Lake Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Aiswarya mam vanakkam,

You are the first guest put many photos of our resort thanks for that. and your compliments to the Grandma restaurant was really boost our Lady cooks to improve their style of work
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Two weeks ago i had visited the shrine of our lady of good health with my wife and 2 daughters. Before our departure we had reserved a cottage in Velankanni Lake Resort online, the owner himself called us up to enquire our travel plans,and on reaching velankanni we drove to the resort and were given a warm welcome by the resort employees and were wonderstruck by the by the setting of the place. It is the only resort there which lies in the back waters of velankanni. All the staff were very prompt in their service,the cottages were beautiful and very clean the home cooked food was delicious and very hygienic, especially the vegetarian meals is a must try there.The pricing is very reasonable and to top it all the owner is a very fantastic person who personally takes care of his guests. If you are planning a trip to the holy shrine in Velankanni, we strongly recommend you to stay at the Velankanni Lake Resort, we give it a 10 on 10 score.

Francis Smith,Chandrakala Smith and their daughters, from Bangalore Date of visit was 2/5/2013 to 4/5/2013

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous, the view and feel is the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fsmith1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeresort v, Owner at Velankanni Lake Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear silva sir you had realize our problem thanks for that even though we are still try to do the better service to the valuable guest thanks for your reviews put in the trip advicer.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The property is Bang on the ECR Road and thus easy to locate. We stayed in a three bedded room. The room was fairly large. The ambiance was good. The resort is still a work in progress with construction material around though not obstructing the guests in any way. Service need to be upped. I can understand that it's difficult to find proper staff in such a remote area. Food at Grandma's was very good. Overall pretty satisfied with my stay there. Mr. Sethupathy, the owner, was most accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SDSMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeresort v, Front Office Manager at Velankanni Lake Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear francis sir most welcome your compliments about our Grandma restaurant on-behalf our employees thank you very much for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Velankanni
1.4 mi away
GS Resorts
GS Resorts
#1 of 3 in Nagapattinam
25 reviews
21.2 mi away
Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach
21.2 mi away
Neemrana's Gate House
Neemrana's Gate House
#1 of 1 in Tharangambadi
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel PAMS
Hotel PAMS
#1 of 8 in Mayiladuthurai
96 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Nanda
Hotel Nanda
#3 of 15 in Karaikal
5 reviews
2.3 mi away
MGM Vailankanni Residency
MGM Vailankanni Residency
#3 of 9 in Velankanni
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velankanni Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velankanni Lake Resort

Property: Velankanni Lake Resort
Address: No 7,East Coast Main Road | Karuvelankadai, Velankanni 611106, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Nagapattinam District > Velankanni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Velankanni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only back water resort in Tamilnadu All the villas ,Restaurant,lobby&Ayurvedic- SPA constucted in top of the back water so always guest can feel whole property(12 acere land )will be cool breese.villas Room size-22'x13' ftvarandah & Balcony- 9'x9'Pavilion-15x15non a/c room -19'x13'varandah-13x6The famous velankanni Church is 4Km from our Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Velankanni Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing